We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family reunion”
Review of King George IV Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eskdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
King George IV Inn
Ranked #4 of 7 Eskdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Family reunion”
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

Today I visited my third great grand uncles public house, (The King of Prussia) know today by it current name, King George IV. Sat outside in a most idyllic setting, fells and crags galore. We had the steak and ale pie, lovely, including coffee. The staff were excellent including service per meal preperation, forks condiments and such like. All in all a most delightfully meal. A must to be noted, the premises were immaculate, inc the washrooms and corridors. Outside was of equal standing, void of the illustrious garbage bins, all well hidden from view. To be honest it deserves a five in the ratings but I suppose there is always room to improve. Anyway many thanks and good luck.


Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ffdalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    37
    14
    9
    23
See reviews for
62
93
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ripley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We had a great mid week break in The Cabin situated at the rear of this excellent pub.
There was a very warm welcome from the landlord Jonty, who was a real character and couldn't have been more helpful and friendly..as was all the staff.
The Cabin was well priced, and though it could have been cleaner, it was spacious and comfortable. Even though it was at the rear of the beer garden, it was private. The view from the verander was beautiful. We sat out side in the evenings with a glass of wine, just absorbing the scenery.
We ate most nights in the pub and found the food very good value. Huge portions, and tasty home cooked dishes. The beer could not be bettered!! The landlord and staff were frantically preparing for a beer festival, but we diid not lack any attention. Infact we had the advantage of trying numerous ales, all at extraordinary low prices!!
We toured Eskdale, Visiting Muncaster Castle which was good fun. We travelled on the light railway...Old Ratty which was an experience not to be missed!, We also had a trip to the seaside at St. Bee's a sweet old fashioned town, all icecream and pots of tea!
We would return and certainly recommend this lovely spot.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeirdreDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Friendly atmosphere, husband and dad very impressed with the well kept local ales. Lovely fresh food, well presented with a full varied menu. Definitely worth a visit, can't wait to go again
Kids enjoyed playing with the giant connect four game, a nice touch
Stunning views whatever the weather

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank mandy67_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
co durham
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Thank you Jonnty for a fabulous welcome and the most relaxing break we have had in a long time at staying with you at the King George in Eskdale.

The food was delicious and prepared freshly using local produce and you could taste the difference, the portions so big that both Steve and I put on 5lbs in our 3 night stay, the breakfasts were real belly busters and not for the faint hearted. Sticky toffee pudding is highly recommended if you have any room left ! Our room was at the front and the sun blazed through the window early in the Morning and we had great weather all weekend although the forecast had been poor.
We are already planning a return and we will be booking the flat and taking our 2 Labradors next time we stay.We walked for miles after those breakfasts and on the way around the area we saw red squirrels, red deer and buzzards. We would advise you to visit the King George if you like real ales you will be spoilt for choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melody t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

On route home and was looking for this pub after travelling on a scenic railway. Ended up stopping somewhere else but got no service and a huge queue to order so left. Thank god we did as five minutes down the road was this place. I wanted to eat most of the menu but settled on the pie as did my wife.
Huge portion and loads of good quality meat in the pie. Really good food and ales. Friendly service.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Seabass814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Just back from a week staying in the flat and had a fantasic time. The pub is traditional and friendly with a landlord who exudes energy and has a passion for providing great ales and good friendly service. All the other staff were friendly too and made us and our little dog feel very welcome. The beer was fantastic, with new ones to try each day. The food was so good that despite intending to self cater some of the time we were enticed by the lovely smells coming from the kitchen and ate there every evening! The pasta dishes and pies were particularly excellent. Lunches were also delicious.. The area is beautiful and as well as exploring lovely places nearby we spent many a content moment outside the pub enjoying the lovely views. To sum it up we cant wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kittenadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eskdale
3.0 mi away
The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
4.5 mi away
The Pennington
The Pennington
#1 of 1 in Ravenglass
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
4.3 mi away
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holmrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bower House Inn
Bower House Inn
#3 of 7 in Eskdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Santon Bridge Inn
The Santon Bridge Inn
#2 of 5 in Holmrook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.7 mi away
Forest How Guest House
Forest How Guest House
#1 of 7 in Eskdale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King George IV Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King George IV Inn

Property: King George IV Inn
Address: Eskdale Green, Eskdale CA19 1TS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eskdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Eskdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King George IV Inn, Eskdale Green, is a centuries old traditional Cumbrian Inn offering good local food, lots of local real ales, malt whiskies and a choice of self-catering accommodation and B&B en-suite rooms. Here at the King George, we extend a warm welcome to all visitors to the Eskdale Valley, whether you're staying with us, having a meal or simply stopping for refreshments on your journey. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
King George Iv Hotel Eskdale
King George IV Inn Eskdale, Lake District, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing