We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flooded Out!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fisherground Campsite
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We planned to stay at the site for a 4 night break (2 as a family, then 2 as me & kids). When we arrived it was chaotic with us having to wait for at least 20 minutes to being shown a pitch. There was an issue with car parking. The site was quite expensive when you consider the lack of facilities, although we were expecting that. The shower block was inadequate for the number of people and 50p per shower was a bit cheeky considering how much it was to stay. The kids enjoyed the pond and adventure playground although it was a bit rough and ready, which was fine with us but may not be for other parents. The campfires were great. However 2 nights in after a very wet night we woke up to the sound of running water and came out of the tent to a fast flowing river running past our tent that wasn't there when we went to bed, making us stranded on an island we had to wade through, thank goodness for wellies. It was mother nature at her best. As this was the start of my 2 nights with the kids and it was quite dangerous & everything was soaked I decided to go home early. Other campers were helped to move to safer pitches by the wardens. No ones fault but a bit of a disaster!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abbi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 390 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

Making the extra effort to get to the Western Lakes is well worth it for this beauty of a campsite. A beautiful with simple yet brilliant things ( pond, tyres, zip wire)to occupy kids are the highlight. A struck 10:30pm curfew is adhered to making this perfect for families with young children. The perfect campsite as far as I'm concerned.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swan1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

we were a group of 4 adults & 3 kids ,on arrival we were told we could not use our kettle with another electrical item as it would blow the whole camps hook-ups. next complaint was kids playing with the water ,which I agreed with as they have to pay for it but then mick moaned about my friend putting some paper on the fire , then the kids were playing with water balloons with a sling so they only went so far but still mick complained even after I told him that I told the kids to pick up the burst balloons and put them in the bin when they were finished , we went out for the day & when we came back we were accused of throwing bread on the grass which we did not do , The last straw for me was when we were all in the tent having a drink & listening to music when Alison knocked at twenty five past ten to complain about the music which was not loud coz the kids were sleeping , I told her we already said we would turn it off at half past but no ,,,, they make their own rules up and she demanded we turn it off immediately next morning I packed up & went home 2 days early ,,& like 1 other reviewer said its like the military are watching your every move , I have been camping for yrs and have never been treated like that

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
5  Thank jojinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights in a small 2 man tent at a cost of £31.. The site was in a lovely location and very clean. We didn't encounter any probs with staff and the fella from Herts. was very helpful. Was a bit dissapointed we couldn't have the car near the pitch this proved to be a pain. Thought the site lacked a shop and could have had more showers. Overall was a nice getaway

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Palacesteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

If you like being opressed and military style commands then you'll be going to the right place ......... I know this seems a little extreme but honestly it was like being watched by the miltary. Every move, trip to the toilet, journey to and from the site, going in and out with your car, we are sure were recorded. The site is very family orientated, we went there around 8 years ago with our children, as a large group and had a ball, but we're sure the owners have changed.

We were told off on the first night for being too loud, it was around 10.40pm, there were 9 of us, we were being no louder than another 2 groups of campers who we could hear from the other side of the campsite and in our opinion, as we tested how loud we were talking, by walking a few meters away etc, we were not as loud as others. One of the staff came over and started talking to us in tones that we believe only animals could hear, seriously expecting us to hear him, we wanted to laugh out loud like children at school, it was ridiculous.

There are far too few showers (6) and toilets (5), always having to queue for them, and pay 2 x 50p, the showers last 4 mins for 50p, and you need an exact 50p ! Whilst getting dried, in the main toilet/shower area, trying to put on our underwear, as there is no shelf, or stool to put your things on in the showers, just a hook on the back of the door, 2 male members of staff came in to clean the sinks, without even checking with the ladies in the shower/toilet area if it was okay !! We were virtually naked - it's just not on.

The second day we had a visit mid afternoon to say that we were being warned that tonight we had to be quiet from 10.30pm, by quiet they actually mean silent, even though they stress that you can 'still talk', the woman spoke to us by pausing between each word and then looking at each of us indivually, again making us feel we were before the Headteacher at school.

Whilst the setting is without question beautiful, the site is obviously not keen on an all adult group, even though we are all over 40, sensible, considerate and have been camping for 20 years, they shouldn't have taken the booking really.

We can laugh about it now, but I would strongly not recommend that you go here if you want to chat and ..... god forbid....... have fun ........ we had a silent firework display, made up a silent movie and talked in chinese whispers so we could communicate, and I'm not kidding, we then gave up and went to bed.

The roads to the site are a bit precarious but the site does say this, there's nothing but a pub within walking distance so you have to venture out in your car to visit anywhere.

The site ideally should have a small shop selling everyday essentials, an ice cream van visits, but a chippy van would have been great, all these things would make a difference.

Biggest complaint was having to pay £2.50 per vehicle, per night, we'd gone in 5 cars, we were asked, well told to be honest, to move our cars, mid setting up camp, which at the time were parked across from our hook up pitches, to a field at the front of the site, UNBELIEVABLE, charge you for your cars but then make you walk to them across the whole site. The fact there were around 40 other cars parked near pitches was making us feel totally picked upon and really not somewhere where we were obviously welcome, desite paying for the privalege of feeling paranoid.

Needless to say .... we won't be going back !

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BeandipUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Came here on the 22nd July for a nights stay, currently writing this as I'm still here, as soon as we arrived we knew it was perfect for our 8 and 4 year old, we were placed on front of a fire pit if we needed it and situated but meters from the adventure playground and little pond/lake where the kids can play, toilets are cleaned twice a day, and the train line for the raven glass train is just behind the campsite, magnificent views lovely girls who booked us in also, 29.50 for 2 adults 2 children car and a 6 berth tent. Made more beautiful by the magificent weather (though there is thunderstorms due tonight/morning!!!!!) will come back and we are only 3 hours into the stay!!! Looking forward to tea at the king George iv pub!! Titteringtons

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Gill89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We arrived on Wednesday afternoon and it was peaceful and thought we'd picked a good site. The area was beatiful we went to Boot and walked up Scafel from there and then went to the excellent Boot inn. Friday we went to Wast water and visited some of local tarns too indulge in some wild swimning, when we arrived home at about 8pm the place was so full it reminded of Glastonbury. Nearly every pitch was families which is fine as its a family campsite. The main issue we had was with the family next to us who made so much noise well past the curfew and had music blaring away. I'm pretty easy going but thought they 'd packed far too many people in and then not enforcing the noise curfew ruined the campsite completely and we won't be back which is a shame as its a brilliant location and in the week was really nice

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuart27ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eskdale hotels
3 mi away
Irton Hall B&B
Irton Hall B&B
#3 of 10 in Eskdale
591 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Boot Inn
The Boot Inn
#1 of 3 in Boot
389 reviews
2.3 mi away
Woolpack Inn
Woolpack Inn
#2 of 3 in Boot
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
YHA Eskdale
YHA Eskdale
#2 of 2 in Boot
67 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bower House Inn
Bower House Inn
#4 of 10 in Eskdale
396 reviews
1.1 mi away
Forest How Guest House
Forest How Guest House
#2 of 10 in Eskdale
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fisherground Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fisherground Campsite

Address: Fellside Cottage, Eskdale CA19 1TF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eskdale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Eskdale
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Fisherground Campsite Hotel Eskdale
Fisherground Campsite Eskdale, Lake District, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing