We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive, clean, well managed, amazing setting, family oriented”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fisherground Campsite
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Impressive, clean, well managed, amazing setting, family oriented”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Just spent two nights camping, very impressed. Would recommend to anyone. Looking forward to going again. Great for kids, walking, cycling, narrow gauge railway, pubs, beautiful scenery, loved it and looking forward to going again with friends. Site provides BBQ and campfire spot and a man even drives around selling wood to burn. There was even an ice cream van in the evening, though it was very busy.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chetan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    86
    22
    29
    69
See reviews for
233
43
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We were recommended this campsite by friends and booked immediately. I then visited this review site and was a bit down about the negative reviews. We even considered cancelling altogether. I'm glad we didn't.

The site is medium/large and set in a beautiful valley. Our pitch was just right, with a bumbling stream behind the tent and the hills over to our right. Our daughter loved the park and the play pond.

The facilities for washing etc are basic but sufficient. We never had to wait to use them but I can see how there may be particularly busy times when you may have to. No big problem, I'd have booked a hotel had I wanted an en suite toilet and shower. With camping you arrive knowing you're sharing with others. Again, no big problems. I thought the facilities clean, and they were tended to by the staff quite frequently.

The fire pits are a nice touch and we had no problems with noise at night. We spent a day on the 15' gauge train, which was lovely, and took walks and trecks to pubs etc. The boot Inn and the Brook House Inn are very good. The King George IV not so much.

The staff were nothing but helpful. We received nothing in the way of nastiness or rudeness, and certainly nothing that warrants a comparison of the staff to Nazism. We were shown to our pitch, which was helpful, we were then left alone to get on with our break. Were we lucky? Maybe, but it had a nice atmosphere for four whole days and that, for us, speaks for itself.

There is an ice cream van that comes along at night, and a man who sells wood from a trailer. £4.80 for a sack of wood, a bag of kindling and some fuel blocks. I think that's more than reasonable, but we all earn differing amounts so I suppose it's a subjective decision on your own part.

All in all, a great trip. We were a little sad to leave. We will return; later this summer, most likely.

Take the negative reviews with a pinch of salt. If you're decent people wanting a good family holiday, you'll be just right.

Oh, there are plenty of birds about for those inclined. I saw (late spring/early summer) Pied Wagtails, Swallows, Buzzards, plenty of finches, and there is a Cuckoo on the hillside who calls in the morning. Great stuff!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Well located camp sight with very friendly and helpful staff. Good clean shower block and washing facilities for your pots and pans etc. Washing machines, tumble dries, freezer for ice blocks and even a boot drying cupboard after long wet walks!
Great areas for children to play and be children in the fresh air!
Large pitches even for our Outwell Montana 6, fire pits already there for use and if you didn't have a camp fire you were the odd ones out.
Gentleman would arrive on site in the evening selling logs and kindling so there was no excuse not to have one.
If you want a camp sight to camp and set up as a base and explore the Lakes with out a rowdy on sight club and risk of being invaded by the "White Lightning Brigade" then this is the place.
Simple, friendly yet effective for getting away from it all for a few days.

Room Tip: The staff informed us of what the best direction to pitch our tent was to get a great view when the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gavin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed 4 nights from 22 May - 26 May over the Bank Holiday weekend and a small party of 2. This is a lovely campsite in stunning surroundings and I had no issues with the shower/toilet facilities also very clean and water hot.

Like previously stated a few rules which is reason why we booked there. Quiet from 10.30pm if wanting to party this is not the site for you. Sadly this did not apply on our visit, well for our second night! We were down by the bottom field near the access to the steam train. Lovely pitch beautiful views. By friday fellow campers started to arrive on mass and a group started to pitch near to us but over the day more arrived must of been several + tents lost count of the no: in the group. Now these selfish narrow minded morons had no respect for the few rules especially the no noise after 10.30pm and having retired to our tent we were kept awake till after 2am.with them laughing singing drinking. They new this rule as they kepted joking 10.30pm bedtime! But they still decided to come to this site and ruin it for others. Eventually we got woken up at 5am to there dog Harry barking. Then they were awake morning everyone at 7am.

Now my disgruntledness is having spoken to the Owners/wardens having had enough and wanted to pack up and leave said they did patrol and heard nothing. This I strongly disagree with as myself and others around us had complaints about this group. I also dont understand why they let such a large group amass around lots of smaller tents especially people with small children. There website states intending drunks or those of a loud nature should look elsewhere & they have a zero tolerance policy if any of the rules are broken.

Now the owner and his wife Alison and the wardens especially Mike & Mikey all very lovely, they were very understanding and couldnt do enough for us and we were shown another pitch. They helped us move all our things and we re pitched up by the facilities in the small field. We then had a much quiter experience and were able to sleep!. We met some lovely people and we enjoyed the last two days of our holiday which those morons all most ruined for us.

Would I stay here again? Absolutely! It really is a lovely site I personally will avoid Bank Holidays in the future. Children will love the freeedom of fun this site can offer having them run all over and playing laughing was never an issue it was lovely to hear and see.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreasL0velys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We were a small party of 2, yet most of the persons there were in bigger parties. We were immediately impressed by the beautiful scenery, and how well the field was kept. We found the staff to be friendly, and most were very approachable. This seems like a good site for young uns, and the adventure playground was a constant hive of activity. There was nice spacing between the tents, with good access to portaloos. This would of been 5 stars had it not been for one shower block per 170 tents and the fact that they sold damp wood. However, I would recommend this campsite and I would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NateChariot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is a lovely site, brilliant for kids, great base for walks and trips including the steam train with a stop at the site. The rules were fair and not pushed at us, the curfew was kept which was great.
The only couple of gripes was firstly after confusion with the booking which was the sites fault, an apology would have been appreciated. Other than that the wardens were very friendly and helpful. The other gripe is not a fault of the site, the amount of people that drove to the toilet block was ridiculous and irritating, It is a bit of a walk but the vehicular traffic around children is too much and if they drive at 5mph through the one way system they might as well have walked.
The food at the nearest pub was very poor, however the Woolpacks food was great and we got a free lift back to the site which was much appreciated after a long walk to Hardknott fort and 3 pints.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarkyparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Beautiful location, great facilities and well looked after.

Pitches were beautiful and we were happy to keep to a couple of rules! Nothing like the previous reviews on here! The owners just wanted us to respect their site, I guess some people just don't want to!

However, unfortunately, the campsite can't mitigate for idiots who choose to camp! Some people are just inconsiderate of others, not just staying up until 2am, but talking loudly all day too! Obviously their opinions are worth hearing!

The only gripe we have is that at 10.30pm we were tucked up in bed but talking quietly when a light was shone at our tent to tell us to settle down!!! However, the group of 6 tents were still up next to us and making much more noise! By 11pm we were all asleep, normal noise from a normal family!!!!

Lastly, the pub nearest the site is awful for food, travel further, beautiful pubs elsewhere to eat !

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hopingtotravellots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eskdale
3.0 mi away
The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
4.7 mi away
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holmrook
146 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Boot Inn
The Boot Inn
#1 of 3 in Boot
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Brook House Inn and Restaurant
2.6 mi away
YHA Eskdale
YHA Eskdale
#2 of 2 in Boot
57 reviews
1.1 mi away
Forest How Guest House
Forest How Guest House
#1 of 10 in Eskdale
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fisherground Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fisherground Campsite

Property: Fisherground Campsite
Address: Fellside Cottage, Eskdale CA19 1TF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eskdale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Eskdale
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Fisherground Campsite Hotel Eskdale
Fisherground Campsite Eskdale, Lake District, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing