We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fisherground Campsite
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good but expensive”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I was apprehensive on arrival as i had read very poor reviews of the site but i found the wardens very helpful and accommodating when we arrived. The site was set in beautiful scenery and the 'ratty' train which stops at the site was fab and my children really enjoyed it. The playground was ok but i felt there wasnt much for younger children and it very much catered for age 7 and above. My problems with the site would be that the shower/toilet block was far too small for the site and could sometimes be very busy and packed with kids, the floor of the showers was also awash with water alot but too the sites credit the toilets/showers were cleaned regularly. The 50p for the showers to me was a rip off, i dont think ive ever had to pay for showers at a campsite except maybe in the early 1990's in France! plus they didnt last long at all! i also thought for the price of the site per night it was abit of a cheek! We were put on a pitch near the toilets by the road(which is not busy) and rocks which was fab as it was away from everyone else, if i had been put on the main field i wouldnt have been so happy as it was packed with tents close together. Overall i wouldnt return as i did feel a little uneasy at times which is a shame, also on our 4th day both mine and my husbands phones had run out of battery and we really needed to ring friends who were joining us, when we asked if we could plug it in at the office for 10mins we were given a firm no! ive never had this on a site before, bit mean really but what do you expect from a site charging 50p a shower!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Raspberrydragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    86
    22
    29
    69
See reviews for
233
43
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devizes
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We picked this site from one of our 'cool camping' books. Lured by the sound of a place that had a rafting pool, an adventure playground, open fires, beautiful scenery and most of all ... a request stop on a steam railway ... we couldn't wait to get to Fisherground. We booked for 7 nights, arrived to a friendly welcome and we were shown to a pitch (informal pitches) where the warden told us about the local area, the pubs, a couple of easy walks, the times for the firewood man and the ice-cream van, then he checked that we were happy before leaving us to it - all good! Because we have a camper and awning, we prefer not to move the van much and from this spot, we could easily hop on and off the steam train and walk in between stops back to the site. We found that the local shop in Eskdale Green (about 25 minutes walk or one train stop and a short walk uphill) was extremely well stocked and had a fantastic area upstairs dedicated to outdoor gear and camping kit. We felt that if the campsite had had a small shop it would have taken trade away from the local shop which would be a shame as they were extremely accommodating. Back on site, the shower and toilet facilities were constantly being cleaned and the 50p showers are long enough to wash and get your hair washed (and meant that people had to be quicker than normal which meant less waiting), in fact I managed to take my son in with me each time and we were both in an out for 50p! It is a good idea to take a stash of 50ps with you, otherwise you have to be quite organised in getting them in change where-ever you go. Site staff came to chat every day and after our walks, the boot drying cupboard was very useful. We took our 2 kids (13 and 7) and Grandma and ended up staying 9 nights instead of 7, we enjoyed paddle boarding on a nearby lake which we booked through West Lakes Adventure (only 2 miles from the site, also hire bikes etc), and a local Ranger led walk (booked through the railway company), lots of walks and river paddling and plenty of the local pubs - all of which offer great food). All in all, Fisherground was just what our book promised ... friendly and great for kids with stunning views and a train!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank clare1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

on arrival we were met by 1 of the wardens who was polite and helpful, we were then taken (we followed behind) by another warden to our pitch..

The site itself is nice the rules are no different from any other site.

The woodman appears at 1730 for your campfire wood, then the ice cream van appears and stays for a while.

The pond is a super way of letting the kids meet friends and entertain thereselves.

The only negative about the site is some of the people weren't polite enough to control there children properly and they were running around all the tents, we had to repeg the guy lines 4 times and because everyone was up till 2230 atleast that ment sorting it out in the dark and wet.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank greatservicelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothwell, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I've read some reviews stating that the owners were nasty.
Contrary to that I found them to be very polite and efficient and loved the fact that yes they do have a word with anyone making too much noise after 10:30pm. This was great and meant my children and I could get a decent nights sleep.
The site is spotless, and the wheel rims that are used for each pitch to have a campfire are great with everyone around making full use of them. Each pitch getting there own, and again contrary to other reviews, these are not too crammed in.
The toilet block is worth mentioning too. The cleanest I've seen on a campsite for a while.
A full 5 stars, well deserved.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank AdrianColes76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree Essex UK
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My first comment is that I can't understand the negative reviews. The rules here are no different to the other 2 completely unconnected other sites we stayed at. I found the wardens pleasant and helpful. True, we were assigned a specific pitch - but this was sensible in my mind, and only part of managing the numbers of people on/off site. My 7 year old loved this place, she spent hours in the pond and play ground. The place is perfect for kids. The site was peaceful after 10:30. There are a number of pubs within easy walk/cycle distance. Nice to be able to have a real fire too.
The only thing that stops me giving 5/5 is the charge for the showers, the other sites we visited were free. I would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katanaismybike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Our 3rd yr at Fisherground the whole family loved it, the kids were in the play pond most of the time and one night till 10pm :)) and the sun was out for the whole five days of our stay couldn't have asked for better :) see u nxt yr.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Stopped here last night. Problems with the tent soon dissapeared with a few beers, nice weather. Action area for the kids and camp fire later on. A really nice place to go. King george pub up the road, carling at £3 so thats fine. not sure about a glass of tap water for 50p tho.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank baz135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eskdale
3.0 mi away
The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
4.7 mi away
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holmrook
146 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Boot Inn
The Boot Inn
#1 of 3 in Boot
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Brook House Inn and Restaurant
2.6 mi away
YHA Eskdale
YHA Eskdale
#2 of 2 in Boot
57 reviews
1.1 mi away
Forest How Guest House
Forest How Guest House
#1 of 10 in Eskdale
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fisherground Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fisherground Campsite

Property: Fisherground Campsite
Address: Fellside Cottage, Eskdale CA19 1TF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eskdale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Eskdale
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Fisherground Campsite Hotel Eskdale
Fisherground Campsite Eskdale, Lake District, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing