We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great base for exploring the hills!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eskdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wasdale National Trust Campsite
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A great base for exploring the hills!”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I spent a few days here and had a great time walking up the Scafells, Pillar circuit, etc. Although it was late July, the site was not too crowded - possibly due to its more remote location. The site has great views, and clean facilities with free hot showers. The small shop is well-stocked with food items, stuff you might have forgotten at home, and cold drinks and ice-creams. All in all, I found it very pleasant and well-organised. Will be back!

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruthless B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    31
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
34
68
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
453 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in a group with 3 tents and a camper van for a long weekend and gad a glorious time. Mainly spent time remembering the good old days before kids when this would have been an ideal place to head off into the hills. As it was it was a great safe place for the kids to roam around in with gentler walks on the lower slopes for the more reluctant children. Do your shopping before you arrive as it's quite a way from anywhere if you've forgotten anything important!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank neddyb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I love this campsite but unfortunately felt that is has been poorly managed by the NT. I do not understand the need for all the trees in the far field? Is it campsite for humans or for midges? The trees do nothing than provide a haven for midges AND worse block the wonderful views of the mountains. Please cut down the trees and reinstate the site to how it was 25 years ago! Maybe the NT prefers the glampers in the pods where they can shut the door to the midges?

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

When I go camping I hope for certain things, clean showers and toilets, tidy location, great views. This site had all three. Great location if you love walking and staying in a rural location. On the web site it stated that the showers cost 20p, however they are free.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank Conrad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Not long back from our second pod experience. Have previously stayed at a pod on the Langdale NT campsite and really enjoyed it, decided to try the Wasdale site. We were not disappointed. Beautiful location and lucky enough to have one of the four pods in the top field with amazing views of the mountains. Even though the pods were quite close together, positioned
so felt private when sitting out on decking in front of pod. Pod with heat and light provides just enough "luxury" that makes a stay in lakes in unpredictable weather very comfortable. Shop on site is well stocked (although bread availability not consistent) would agree with other reviewers that evening opening a little short when days are getting longer and arriving back at site in need of a cup of tea with fresh milk! But staff very welcoming and helpful
Shower and toilet facilities are clean and plentiful, no need for a 20p in shower anymore however, push button a little irritating as only gives 30 seconds of shower before having to push again! Also quite chilly.
Amazing choice of walks in a fabulous location away from the crowds, felt like we had the mountains to ourselves most of the time!
Highlight of stay watching full moon rise over Scafell Pike from pod!

Room Tip: pods on top field
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We recently stayed in a Pod on the NT Wasdale Campsite. Being photographers we were very excited about staying in the mountains practically at the foot of Skafell Pike. Unfortunately when we were shown our pod it overlooked the facilities block, what a disappointment. If the pod entrance had been located at the back it would have had an amazing view. This is a large site, but sadly 4 pods are quite closely located which is a shame.

The site itself is nice and quiet with great walks all around the area.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank lovegrooves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
workington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

What can I say the experience was fantastic! The Pod was spacious and warm with heating and lighting. The Pods were located in area which was private and the staff were really helpful. The surrounding area was dramatic and beautiful! Well worth a visit as the campsite is quiet and facilities clean.

Room Tip: All the pods are set back in trees and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gillan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eskdale
4.3 mi away
The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
6.5 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
796 reviews
23.6 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
5.8 mi away
Bridge Hotel
Bridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Buttermere
442 reviews
3.1 mi away
YHA Wasdale Hall
YHA Wasdale Hall
#2 of 2 in Nether Wasdale
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wasdale National Trust Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wasdale National Trust Campsite

Property: Wasdale National Trust Campsite
Address: Wasdale Head | Seascale CA20 1EX‎, Eskdale, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eskdale
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Eskdale
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful campsite set in the spectacular Wasdale valley - home to England's deepest lake, highest mountain and smallest church. An ideal base for walkers, climbers, and others who enjoy the great outdoors. Tents and campervans welcome or stay in one of our camping pods or Nordic tentipis. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
National Trust Campsite- Wasdale Campsite Hotel Eskdale
Wasdale National Trust Campsite Eskdale, Lake District, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing