We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“INTERESTING AND WELL PRESERVED”

Hardknott Roman Fort
Book In Advance
More Info
US$63.88*
and up
High Adventure Day Tour from Keswick
Ranked #3 of 7 things to do in Eskdale
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“INTERESTING AND WELL PRESERVED”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

If you are still in control of your nerves after driving over the pass take time out to have a stroll through this ancient fort. Some fascinating insights into the lives of Roman soldiers as well as a fabulous view down Eskdale.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank terrypoole1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    44
    8
    0
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
430 reviews
203 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“Interesting place easy to miss”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

This fort is on the way up to the Hardknott Pass. Keep your eyes peeled as we drove past before we realised we had missed it. Glad we went back as the place was outstanding with amazing views of the valley. Detailed explanations about the fort from the Roman baths outside the fort to the palatial commanders residence. It was free, well looked after and empty.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank fareastjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raunds
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“lovely views”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

the drive up is a bit scary, very steep roads and hairpin bends. views are wonderful even on a wet day

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank susan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, Somerset, UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views (and drive)”
Reviewed 30 June 2012

First be warned .. the road is an exceptionally steep climb and descent. When I say exceptional, I mean exceptional. The steepest I've ever driven on and we have a 4x4.

So if you're not a confident driver or have a car with brakes and a clutch that can cope .. then very sorry this isn't for you!

But if you do go, then the views are spectacular, totally sensational and not to be missed.

The scale of the Roman fort suggests some 200 soldiers could have been needed to defend the route (plus all the camp followers, both male and female!). Must have taken even more to have built it in the first place. Illustrates how crucial for the Romans was the link from the port of Ravenglass to the mines near Ambleside.

Views are truly amazing. We just stood in awe and imagined how it was and why ....

Despite my warning, do try and experience it for yourself.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jensenfrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Hidden roman fort worth seeing”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

To access these ruins one must go via the HardKnot pass, which is careful strenuous driving. The ruins are worth a visit, to view the grannaries, headquarters etc.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BLRvisit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hardknott Roman Fort also viewed

 
Eskdale, Lake District
 

Been to Hardknott Roman Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing