We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent remote Roman fort”

Hardknott Roman Fort
Book In Advance
More Info
US$64.81*
and up
High Adventure Day Tour from Keswick
More Info
US$58.20*
and up
The High Adventure: High Mountain Passes Spectacular from Windermere
Ranked #4 of 11 things to do in Eskdale
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
450 reviews
202 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Excellent remote Roman fort”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Well preserved Roman fort with excellent and extensive views. Don't approach from the Ambleside road if you are a nervous driver or passenger as it is very challenging. However, the fort itself is well worth the effort. Very atmospheric and remote. The Romans probably hated being posted here so far from anywhere.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hemmo1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    47
    8
    0
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WARNING”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My clutch decided to go on hardknotts pass. the most scariest road I have ever driven on. I would advise against it. if you get stuck or brake down the recovery vehicle can NOT get up to tow u down. plus its a long walk to the nearest pub for a phone as you can not get a signal anywhere up there. on a plus note the views are fantastic. At the garage we eventually got took to, he spends 99% of his life up there recovering veichles. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I'm more local to this place and have visited a few times now, it's well sign posted and has plenty of information on the boards about all the different rooms etc, if I went up there and was disappointed by the fort then the views and surrounding area definitely make up for it, stunning vista across the valley, on a clear day it's fantastic to see. As well as that to get to the fort you have to go up Hardknott, the steepest road in England...that in it'self is a fun challenge with a car full of people! I would recommend a trip to this place it's so peaceful and beautiful.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sedabum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fascinating and very extensive”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

A wild wonderful place - very atmospheric and remarkably well preserved. Definitely worth a journey but watch out for the potholes on the top of Hardknott! The pass is not for the faint hearted or underpowered cars.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank LoungerLizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Warning!”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I'm only talking about the Hardknott Pass, as I was so shattered by the experience of driving that we couldn't think of sightseeing. I'd been over Hardknott thirty years ago and can only conclude that either I have a completely 'false memory' of the experience or that the condition of the road has worsened. After we were recovering in the hotel, I read in a guidebook that the gradients on Harknott are the steepest in England: 1 in 2.5 and 1 in 3.0 in places. Virtually perpendicular. I remembered those but not the multiple potholes and the narrowness of some of the inclines. It would be better described as a 'track' rather than a road. It was 'first gear' for an awful lot of the climb and simply impossible to get into second. You need a good car with plenty of acceleration. And if your passengers are nervous types and/or the weather conditions are not 100%, please think again. Or, better still, walk don't drive.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hardknott Roman Fort also viewed

Eskdale, Lake District
Eskdale, Lake District
 

Been to Hardknott Roman Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing