We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, exceptionally good food, friendly service, good value.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brook House Inn and Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 10 Eskdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2011

The food and the friendliness were special. I travelled with my partner, her daughter and friend, and another friend on her own. We had two doubles and a single room. The single we were first allocated wasn't quite up to the standard of the others but was changed without demur. We booked dinner, bed and breakfast, which gave us free rein of the menu including the specials. At least one person perhaps more in the kitchen certainly knew how to cook. The wine was cheap and cheerful. The beer and the whiskies were really fine. There was a very good drying room, which unfortunately we needed. The tvs were old tech. But who wants to watch tv when you have Eskdale outside your window and a friendly bar downstairs. Hard to beat as a place to stay.

Room Tip: Go for the specials menu, and try the local beers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denniswworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2011

Stayed / eaten here for 15 years and never been disappointed by the friendliness of the owners and staff, excellent food, well kept beer and now, brilliant new bathrooms.
Don't really know why I am posting this as we would prefer to keep this little gem to ourselves!
Quiet, beautiful surroundings and a perfect peaceful bolt-hole to escape to and re-charge your batteries.
Home-made ginger biscuits in the room, best - possibly - steak and ale pie anywhere!
And this time there was a beer festival on too!

Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank jimjamjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

This is a well run establishment that offers good food and service and boy it can get busy. I would possibly go as far as to say this is more of an eating establishment but its a good one at that. We stayed for a night and had a comfortable room with everything we needed so I have no complaints but the decor, fixture and fittings are not luxurious so dont expect this. From the time of booking, to checking in - every one was very nice and friendly. We had dinner in the restaurant and I really couldnt fault the food or service. It was very good although I noted that by around 5pm most of the tables were either full with early diners or already reserved so it does get busy and therefore booking for dinner is essential. Its also clear the locals (if there any many) use this place which is always a good sign. Its a well run establishment and they are clearly good at what they do.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Littlemurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2010

I stayed here for a weekend and the location is lovely, in the centre of the Eskdale valley. It is a perfect location for walking . We did not move the car all weekend. The staff are friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable with a nice view of the fells as well.
The food in the restaurant was very good, with a nice choice at a reasonable price. The bar stocks a good range of local real ales and they have a whisky list which the staff are happy to advise you on.
On the Saturday night we went to the Boot inn just up the road for dinner which was also very good, but a much simpler pub food menu. The Boot inn was a more down to earth place while the Brook House Inn is a little more refined which was what we wanted as we were celebrating an aniversary.

We also had a pack lunch which was good. they certainly cater for walkers.

i would definity return and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rowbn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

Excellent food, extremely helpful staff (Diane especially), and wonderful location. We had our two year old with us and had no problems at all - they even kept our milk for us and ensued we had a table reserved on our return. However, they must get the skip removed across the road that compromises the stunning views. But will return- especially for the ales and steam railway which were the highlights of our visit!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Withnai1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Good family atmosphere. Excellent food. Lots of whisky!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LyndaCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

Obviously a very popular eating place as the place got very full with eaters in the mid evening. Food was good so we could see why.
Bedroom (6) was at front of hotel and comfortable enough. It should have had lovely views but the double glazing was full of condensation and condensation deposits so you couldn't see out clearly which rather defeated the object of having a (potential) view! This really should be sorted.
Breakfast was also good. Location is good, on the road to Hard Knot Pass ((very quiet road at night and early) and very close to the Ravenglass and Eskdale Railway Station.
Room was £95 so not cheap, and we have had better for this price, but there is limited choice in that area and the convenience of eating in house was welcome.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ActiveTraveller63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdt10, Owner at Brook House Inn and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2010

Thank you for the response, we have now replaced the glazing in room 6 windows along with many of the other rooms which were suffering from the same condensation problem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eskdale
3.7 mi away
The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
6.9 mi away
Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Boot Inn
The Boot Inn
#1 of 3 in Boot
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Woolpack Inn
Woolpack Inn
#2 of 3 in Boot
282 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bower House Inn
Bower House Inn
#4 of 10 in Eskdale
391 reviews
2.5 mi away
Forest How Guest House
Forest How Guest House
#1 of 10 in Eskdale
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brook House Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook House Inn and Restaurant

Address: Boot, Eskdale CA19 1TG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eskdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Eskdale
Price Range: £84 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brook House Inn and Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brook House Inn offers an ideal base from which to explore the many contrasts of the Lake District. Family owned country Inn and restaurant serving imaginative food, real ales and over 170 malt whiskies. AA 4* Inn Award winning food and beer, West Cumbria Camra pub of the year 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Brook House Inn and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brook House Inn And Restaurant Hotel Eskdale
Brook House Inn And Restaurant Eskdale, Lake District, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing