We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Brook House Inn and Restaurant
Nearby Hotels
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pennington(Ravenglass)
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$421
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Yewdale Inn(Coniston)
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveller rating
135
51
16
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
135
51
16
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslocal real alesmalt whiskyberry piemusselsthe pubexcellent foodravenglass and eskdale railwaymashlake districtwarm welcomegood sizequiet locationplenty of hot watergreat beerate heredown the roadboot inn
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
174 - 179 of 213 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Stayed two nights. Whilst Brook House is efficiently run it lacks atmosphere. The staff were professional, polite, attentive but totally disinterested in the customer which is the opposite to the recently refurbished Woolpack up the road. Sadly the attitude seems to stem from the owners themselves who were recently back from their own holidays, I hope they received better customer service whilst they were away! The nearby Boot Inn was very welcoming too. We loved the area but will be staying elsewhere when we return, hopefully very soon.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mads R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Having stayed all over the Lake District, this has to be one of my favourite place's.
I have stayed here on four occasions now with a group of old School friends, and also on a separate trip with two of my children, in a family room

The setting, and location is great for walking, the accommodation is good, and looking forward to the evening meal every time I stay.

I will continue to visit, and cannot recommend enough

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LIMEHOUSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Stayed for three nights dinner b&b and we loved it. The room was clean and comfortable, the ensuite recently refurbished and very modern. Free wifi access was handy as mobile signal in Eskdale is hit and miss. The service was personal and friendly and all the meals were great - great choice, great value, superbly presented. The inn is great for walks from the doorstep, visiting the Eskdale railway and much more. We would love to return.

Room Tip: Phone the Inn for a personal service
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisMinWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We stayed one night in this beautiful area and only wished it could have been longer. The room was spacious and well furnished which I enjoy. We got a good deal but without that it would be a little expensive. The restaurant for dinner and breakfast was excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IntrepidPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Have visited several times as a family over the past 11 years. Very child friendly. Ideal location for walking, and riding on the Ravenglas and Eskdale Railway. Drying room available for any wet, muddy walking gear. Comfortable bedrooms.
Now living in New Zealand, travelled back on my own to visit family and friends in the East Midlands and couldn`t resist a trip north. Still the same warm welcome, good food - nothing was too much trouble. The perfect place to de stress.Feels like home, always have trouble leaving!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews