We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brook House Inn and Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 7 Eskdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm and welcoming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed for one night in May. Lovely inn with a cosy, welcoming bar. The food and local ales were excellent. Room was clean and well fitted out. Perfect place to stay after a long walk in the rain. Would stay here again next time in Eskdale.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stawberryjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    45
    14
    6
    3
See reviews for
45
92
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We visited Eskdale two years ago and spent many evenings at the Brook House Inn after long walks in the fells. When we returned this year, we were happy to find it still with the friendly atmosphere and amazing food. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyKrmadjian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

A group of ten of us stayed for an annual reunion in honour of a good man. We had used the Brook House previously and can't imagine ever having to change the venue.

Everything about the place is exceptionally good, the position amongst some beautiful countryside, good local walks, friendly helpful smiling staff, comfortable clean rooms, plenty of bar space, good selection of whiskey and real ale and lovely dining areas.

We were very impressed with the selection of evening meals both on the a la carte menu and the updated specials on the blackboard.

There was a varied menu for breakfast including full English, kippers and porridge. Fruit juices, fresh fruit salad,yoghurt and cereals were also available and copious amounts of hot toast and homemade preserves.

The lamb dishes were superb, served with fresh colourful vegetables and creamy mashed potato. My favourite desert was the homemade rhubarb crumble and custard. On the second night I had the creamy garlic mushroom starter which meant I couldn't possibly find any room for a delicious dessert.

Room for improvement in the rooms i.e. hand rail needed on the large bath and better quality pillows.

Tea/coffee/hot chocolate making equipment accompanied by lovely crispy biscuits each morning.

We have already made our reservation for next year.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Scousegrannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

10 of us visited for the weekend 9/11 May for the annual "Rollinson Ramble". Still as god as our last visit, We had the same room - Room 7 at the front - overlooking the fields with sheep and lambs and fells in the distance. Room and en suite v clean, twin beds and duvets good quality and comfortable, wall mounted tv with freeserve v good. Food as ever excellent - a good choice of menu inc excellent fish/vegetarian selection. Serving staff v efficient and friendly - well done esp on Saturday evening when the dining room was v busy. Will be back again next May - if not before !

Room Tip: Go for a front room for best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetlyjetson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billinge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We left Ravenglass on the steam train and heard there was a good pub at the end of the line. Very welcoming good selection on menu and special board too. Hubby had crab cakes which he said was delicious. I had scallops which were also fresh and very tasty. The only thing we were disappointed with was the fact we had a sandwich at Ravenglass station before hand. We would have liked to have more. We will defo return with family in the summer.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

It's been two years since I was last here and I'm glad to report that the standards are still very high. A traditional inn/hotel with large and comfortable bedrooms, excellent food at reasonable prices and (so close to my heart) absolutely beautiful local real ale. Added to that you have first class friendly service a pleasant atmosphere and a first class location for walking the mountains or touring the west side of the Lake District park. What more do you want?

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terrypoole1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

This inn is brilliant, perfectly situated for walkers and holiday makers alike we go there quite often because we know there will always be the perfect ale, friendly staff & delicious food. It's open for food all day which is great because you know that even if you get a little lost on a walk and take longer than planned you can always come back and get a hot meal and a pint at the Brook. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sedabum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eskdale
3.7 mi away
The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
9.8 mi away
Bridge Hotel
Bridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Buttermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
9.6 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Boot Inn
The Boot Inn
#1 of 3 in Boot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
4.4 mi away
Irton Hall B&B
Irton Hall B&B
#1 of 7 in Eskdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
2.6 mi away
Forest How Guest House
Forest How Guest House
#2 of 7 in Eskdale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brook House Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook House Inn and Restaurant

Property: Brook House Inn and Restaurant
Address: Boot, Eskdale CA19 1TG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eskdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Eskdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Brook House Inn and Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brook House Inn offers an ideal base from which to explore the many contrasts of the Lake District. Family owned country Inn and restaurant serving imaginative food, real ales and over 170 malt whiskies. AA 4* Inn Award winning food and beer, West Cumbria Camra pub of the year 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Brook House Inn and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brook House Inn And Restaurant Hotel Eskdale
Brook House Inn And Restaurant Eskdale, Lake District, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing