We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brook House Inn and Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 10 Eskdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed at a local campsite & ate here several times. Excellent range of drinks, real ale etc & fabulous food! Staff very welcoming & great atmosphere. We have 2 young children & the kids menu was really good, as were the facilities - clean high chairs etc. Thanks!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Rjdarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
There are newer reviews for Brook House Inn and Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

We spent 2 nights here exploring the region. The inn was perfect for us, it is not fancy but that is not why you come here. The rooms are on the small side, but functional. The bathroom is fine with good water pressure.
The restaurant serves good local fare.
The staff tried their best to answer our questions about where to go hiking etc.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed in Boot and booked in here for a meal after looking it up on TripAdvisor. We weren't disappointed. The staff were friendly and attentive and the food was great and served quickly. They also have a great range of well kept ales and a very large selection of malt whisky.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Rosemary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

A Lovely busy place and the food will explain why :) really top quality freshly made in house food, great chef deliciouse menu. The serving staff share plenty of smiles and with a little patience you are in for the best service in Eskdale by a long shot .

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alix W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I stayed here for 5 nights at the start of July and wish I was due to return in the near future as I had a wonderful stay. My room was a good size with a nice bathroom, everything was very clean and the location is superb and only a short walk from the Dalegarth stop on the Ravenglass & Eskdale railway line.

During my stay I worked my way through the main meal and dessert menu and didn't have one disappointing meal. Breakfasts were excellent and all the staff I met were very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank L_Braybrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is a fabulous Lakeland Inn set in lovely Eskdale, 150 yards from Dalegarth station on the Ravenglass and Eskdale Railway. The bedrooms are nicely furnished with bright and clean bathrooms. The breakfasts are traditional lake district style, fruit and cereal off a buffet and then cooked options freshly prepared for each order. The kitchen is open from 12 noon all day through to dinner service, which is really convenient for walkers arriving mid afternoon. The food is quite inventive, very tasty and extremely generous on the portions. All the staff are lovely and there isn't really anything wrong with the place!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We came here last year to eat with friends for a birthday celebration and really enjoyed it, so decided to return to stay here this time for our LDW around the lakes.

We arrived to a friendly welcome before being showed to our room. The rooms here are large and comfortable and have everything you need; maybe starting to look a little tired and would benefit from a refresh - not really a problem when stopping for a night.

Boot is located in a stunning remote area of the lakes with a great selection of walks nearby. This time we were passing through from Coniston on to Wasdale Head.

The bar downstairs has a good selection of real ales to choose from which are well kept and have a very large collection of Malt Whisky. Wi-fi is available, but a little patchy and better in the room at the side of the bar; we managed to pickup our emails and check the weather without any problems.

The food here is good; there is a broad range of meals on the menu and there are always specials on the board to choose from - I had the steak and kidney pie, and my wife the crab dish - both were delicious.

We enjoyed stopping here - it's a great location, with good food and a friendly service. Would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJandJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eskdale
3.7 mi away
The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
6.9 mi away
Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Boot Inn
The Boot Inn
#1 of 3 in Boot
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Woolpack Inn
Woolpack Inn
#2 of 3 in Boot
276 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bower House Inn
Bower House Inn
#4 of 10 in Eskdale
384 reviews
4.4 mi away
Irton Hall B&B
Irton Hall B&B
#3 of 10 in Eskdale
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brook House Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook House Inn and Restaurant

Address: Boot, Eskdale CA19 1TG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eskdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Eskdale
Price Range: £83 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brook House Inn and Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brook House Inn offers an ideal base from which to explore the many contrasts of the Lake District. Family owned country Inn and restaurant serving imaginative food, real ales and over 170 malt whiskies. AA 4* Inn Award winning food and beer, West Cumbria Camra pub of the year 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Brook House Inn and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brook House Inn And Restaurant Hotel Eskdale
Brook House Inn And Restaurant Eskdale, Lake District, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing