We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pies”
Review of Gosforth Hall Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gosforth Hall Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gosforth
Certificate of Excellence
Cromer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Pies”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Visited Gosforth Hall Inn for an evening meal. Had heard rumour that the pies were all home made. So we gave them a try. I had a Venison and Haggis my wife had Steak and Mushroom. I must congratulate the Chef, Your Pies are fabulous.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    38
    13
    8
    4
See reviews for
17
58
5
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Fantastic place to visit ! After a hard days trekking what more do you need than friendly locals and absolutely brilliant pies (Pulled pork....amazing)!!
The rooms are great and the new building is fantastic, you'd struggle to find a better place in the Lakes for the money. For me though it's the atmosphere that makes the place, friendly staff, chatty locals and owners who actually care about you having a great time (even a live band in the lovely beer garden when we were there), nothing was too much trouble. Could not fault the place and ill be booking again asap.....I miss the pies and ales already! Oh and the breakfast was great too....

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Room was very comfortable although the bathroom had no heating and there was a water tank in the room which trickled water most of the time which was very annoying. Tea and coffee facilities were good but TV was a little small. breakfast on the second morning was a lot better than the first day, no apparent reason why! Evening food was gorgeous and highly recommended.
Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Excellent staff, rooms, food and location. I have stayed in a few hotels in the area and they are not a patch on this place. Very clean. One recommendation, book early to avoid disappointment. Friendly atmosphere, well done!

Room Tip: Book Early
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neil a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We have eaten here a few times, recently last month, its not bad , its not brilliant, the Pies are pretty good but my wife had Scampi (may have been on specials?) and was ok but given it was around £10 mark for what was basically frozen scampi and chips was rather a let down, she ended up eating half my pie! Given number of diners in the food took some while to arrive. Cheese and biscuits were good, they amended cheese selection to our liking but why on 3 or 4 biscuits? Not really a criticism of the place as all restaurants do this and given relative price of biscuits always seems a bit ridiculous. The service on the whole was good and the staff very friendly. We will go back no doubt.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pstates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twoollard
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We've stayed at Gosforth Inn three times now and have always had a great stay. It's not a 5 star hotel, nor does it pretend to be; most people visiting the Lake District tend to be more interested in the outdoors rather than the in anyway! It is however, a great place to come back to at the end of the day, the restaurant serves up hunger busting pies and has a nice little pub area to sit in if you have eaten elsewhere. The rooms are comfortable and clean. Furthermore, it is located a short drive away from Wastwater and the start of the ascent to Scafell Pike. Being on the coast, not far away there is also a horse riding school where you can go on a beach ride for the day. It is not located centrally so you have to drive a little further than say if you were staying in Windermere or Ambleside, but it's well worth a visit!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twoollard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I was prompted to write by the previous comment 'Fallen from grace' which I felt was unfair, certainly based on our own experience.

We are tall people, so we have to hunt out hotels that have king size beds. This is one of very few establishments in the area that have bothered to upgrade and meet what we now consider to be a standard requirement.

Everyone likes room 11, for it's original features, four poster bed and vast bath, so we had a night in there and our second night in the relatively new annexe, which is conversely modern but finished to a very high standard. The rooms in here are ideal for families, as a comfortable lounge area is shared by three self contained en suite bedrooms.

Breakfast and dinner were pretty standard affairs, but I mean that in a way that it was difficult to complain about anything. It's certainly not 'fine dining' but we enjoyed all our meals. We sampled the pies on our last visit and can vouch for their tastiness. However, this time we were on a carb free diet (apart from the beer of course) but we still found enough on the menu to keep us going.
The bar is well stocked and the range of real ales kept very well, as we 'sampled' them all between us!

The staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful too. My one criticism of housekeeping, which I find relatively common in hotels up and down the country, is that they should check all the light bulbs work in a room when changing over, as we had a bulb out in each. A small point, but it's those sort of things that get noticed.

This was our second stay here and we will be going back again - I think that's the best recommendation anyone can make. There has been a lot of change since our first visit and it's all about improvement, which shows the owners do care about us and want to make our stay as pleasant as possible.

Room Tip: Room 11 if you want 'old worlde', but the annexe if you prefer 'modern'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigjezzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gosforth
0.4 mi away
Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant
21.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.3 mi away
The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Pennington
The Pennington
#1 of 1 in Ravenglass
347 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
490 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holmrook
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gosforth Hall Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gosforth Hall Inn

Property: Gosforth Hall Inn
Address: Wasdale Road | Seascale, Gosforth CA20 1AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Gosforth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gosforth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gosforth Hall is a rare find of a 350 year old Grade II* listed building operating as a warm and inviting Inn - offering 24 en-suite bedrooms, a pub with very well kept real ales and a menu offering a choice of dishes including Rod's homemade and well respected pies. Located in the centre of Gosforth and on the gateway to the Wasdale Valley, the Hall is well positioned for Walkers, Climbers and divers. Workington, Eskdale, St Bees and Seascale golf courses are located on the West Coast of Cumbria and with 13 twin en-suite bedrooms, the Hall offers an ideal base for large golfing groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Gosforth Hall Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gosforth Hall Hotel Gosforth
Gosforth Hall Inn Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing