We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“easter getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gosforth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Had a great weekend fabulous room and breakfast, the room was so comfortable and had very refreshing furnishings looked as though it had just been decorated. Geoff and Debbie are the perfect hosts, have stayed in a few places in the area every easter and this was the best !! great price too at £120 for 2 nights will certainly be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms look lovely we had a peek into some of the others while cleaning going on, all had the...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maundmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
There are newer reviews for Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2012

From the moment you arrive, nothing is too much trouble. My colleagues and I were warmly welcomed, and the rooms were clean and nicely decorated. Most importantly the beds are good too. I have a dodgey back, and nothing is worse than a saggy bed. Good breakfast and the restaurant has an excellent choice.

Room Tip: Back rooms are probably quieter, but the ones at the front are bigger!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivienne03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

From the outset this hotel is really welcoming. A warm reception from the owners, who will attend to your every need. Ample car parking, extensive lawned gardens and very family friendly. The lounge area is lovely with large comfy sofas, an open fire, and of course a well stocked bar. The hotel is placed conveniently on the perimeter of Gosforth and near to the fabulous beaches of Seascale and St. Bees.
The restaurant serves excellent quality food and you won't be disappointed, also it has the option of a quality Bistro selection. Well priced quality wines.
I like this hotel because the food is great, the location is perfect for enjoying all West Cumbria has to offer and also because it provides the perfect venue to snuggle down on a comfy sofa with a good book (recommend 'The Odd Women' Gissing - and follow literally a Victorian author through thier travels).
Great place, great location, great customer experience, love the food!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julo063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Though we live close to the Lakes we often choose to stay over for a night or two, especially if walking in the northern lakes. We were lucky enough to espy this little gem when driving through Gosforth a few months ago. I booked two rooms on the top floor for ourselves and our friends. We had a few queries prior to staying and could tell by the way our questions were handled that we were going to have a pleasant stay. On arrival we were warmly welcomed and shown to our beautiful rooms. Ours had views over the Scafell range which was amazing. The owners and indeed the whole staff, were extremely friendly yet professional. They couldn't do enough for you and you felt they genuinely meant it when they said 'make yourselves at home!' I had a little trouble with the firmness of my bed but this was addressed immediately with the offer to try two other rooms to see if the bed was more comfortable and whilst we were out walking our luggage was transferred over to the room I had selected. The rooms were clean, nicely furnished and very comfortable and the hotel is brilliantly situated for walkers, 3 peakers and those wishing to visit the coast. Having eaten in the restaurant on both nights of our stay we can also recommend the food and the bonus of not having to go out to eat elsewhere when you've tramped the fells all day is fantastic! We shall definitely make a return visit!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarrieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We stayed here over the May bank holiday, and found the place to be a little piece of heaven on earth. Very relaxing, clean and comfortable accomodation. The owners and their staff are very friendly and will do everything they can to make your stay wonderful. We had to change our original dates booked due to my hubby having an operation, this was sorted quickly and in a very understanding manner. The views are super from the rooms. Breakfast here sets you up for the day, we also ate here one night, superb food. We will return

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsadc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

A lovely stay at a lovely hotel. Close to the mountains and the seaside. The owners were very nice even though we arrived in the early hours of the morning. Food was really good and room were clean and smart.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Slatersteven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Lovely place and only a short drive from the start of the climb up Scafell Pike, reasonably priced as well. Owners very friendly and helpful, rooms clean and smart. All the food was also very good. Very nice location that is also very near the coast. Muncaster Castle nearby was recommended and is well worth a visit - great views of the area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisM22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gosforth
0.3 mi away
Gosforth Hall Inn
Gosforth Hall Inn
#2 of 2 in Gosforth
154 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
508 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Pennington
The Pennington
#1 of 1 in Ravenglass
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
542 reviews
21.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.6 mi away
The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant

Address: A595 & B5344, Gosforth CA20 1HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Gosforth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gosforth
Price Range: £89 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westlakes Hotel is a beautiful late Georgian Country House set in three acres of tranquil mature gardens, situated in an area of outstanding natural beauty. We have a choice of ten en-suite bedrooms and each room is individually designed to give a comfortable space to work or relax in, with complimentary wireless internet connection. You can be sure of the warmest welcome and friendly service from Geoff and Debra, and our experienced friendly staff. Our 28 cover restaurant is open Monday to Thursday and Saturday from 6.30pm until 8.30pm. Please book to avoid disappointment. Special Offers available - please call or follow us on Facebook for more information. To the east is the spectacular scenery of the Lake District, while to the west , the Cumbrian coast offers long, uncrowded beaches. Indeed the area offers the best of both worlds; it is attractive but remains unknown by the majority of the Lake District tourists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westlakes Hotel Gosforth
Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant Gosforth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing