We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The place has soul!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gosforth
Certificate of Excellence
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The place has soul!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2008

Just returned from a one-night stay at The Westlakes Hotel and what a lovely stay it was! A large-ish country house type of place, we were greeted at the door by the owner and shown to our room on the third (top) floor. It was contemporary and inviting with the most fantastic view of the mountains. A double bed with a range of ikea furniture, and modern shower room - it was obviously newly refurbished.
We had a drink in the bar with the owners prior to our evening meal in the restaurant which was very good, served by a very jolly waitress!
The breakfast was a choice of cereals, toast, and a country breakfast, or selection according to preference. We had poached eggs on toast - with fantastic eggs from a local farm (we went & bought some on the way home they were that good!)
The situation of the hotel was on a fairly busy crossroads but no traffic noise could be heard with the windows closed.
The public areas did look a bit tired but the friendliness of all the staff, the fine room, good food and view to appreciate more than made up for it.
As my husband described the hotel - "the place has got soul!"

  • Liked — Friendly service
  • Disliked — Only a double bed!!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEVSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    23
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
65
3
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2008

From emailing a query re accommodation to checking out after our stay, Debra, Geoff and staff were both very professional and friendly. The accommodation was first class and the food was delicious

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LinSouthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
84 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2008

Room was excellent. Hosts very welcoming. Food was very good. Would recommend hotel.

  • Liked — standard of accommodation
  • Disliked — weak coffe at breakfast on second morning
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank holidaysforus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2007

We have just returned from a weekend stay at Westlakes. Although we tend to read reviews on TripAdvisor, rather than write, we thought that this time our stay more than merited some positive feedback.

To put the reivew into context, we paid £185 for two people for two nights, including breakfast and one nights dinner of 4 courses & wine. Their website shows deals currently available.

The hotel is well located, providing easy access to the many highlights of the Lake District. Personally for us, it provided an excellent base to be able to climb Scafell Pike, as Wasdale Head is only about 20 mins drive away.

The hotel is also impressive from the outside and includes a wonderful, well kept large garden. It's peaceful and secluded.

Our room was excellent. Spacious, light and recently redecorated to a high standard. The bathroom was also very good and included a roll top bath as well as a separate shower cubicle. The best point however, had to be the views of the western hills and mountains of the Lake District.

We had dinner at the hotel on our second night and this is also to be much recommended. This is good news, since there are very few other restaurants in Gosforth itself.

Finally, we'd like to thank the owners themselves for making us so welcome. Enthusiastic and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble and this made our stay all the better.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lukem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gosforth
0.4 mi away
Gosforth Hall Inn
Gosforth Hall Inn
#2 of 2 in Gosforth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
21.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Pennington
The Pennington
#1 of 1 in Ravenglass
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holmrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant
Address: A595 & B5344 | Seascale, Gosforth CA20 1HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Gosforth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gosforth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westlakes Hotel is a beautiful late Georgian Country House set in three acres of tranquil mature gardens, situated in an area of outstanding natural beauty. We have a choice of ten en-suite bedrooms and each room is individually designed to give a comfortable space to work or relax in, with complimentary wireless internet connection. You can be sure of the warmest welcome and friendly service from Geoff and Debra, and our experienced friendly staff. Our 28 cover restaurant is open Monday to Thursday and Saturday from 6.30pm until 8.30pm. Please book to avoid disappointment. Special Offers available - please call or follow us on Facebook for more information. To the east is the spectacular scenery of the Lake District, while to the west , the Cumbrian coast offers long, uncrowded beaches. Indeed the area offers the best of both worlds; it is attractive but remains unknown by the majority of the Lake District tourists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westlakes Hotel Gosforth
Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant Gosforth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing