We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended by four generations!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rainors Farm B&B and Wasdale Yurt Holiday
Ranked #3 of 6 Gosforth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 June 2013

My elderly father's favourite lake has always been Wastwater, so we decided to treat him and mum to B&B at Raynors Farm. Debbie and John were marvellous hosts displaying a genuine warmth and interest, finding time to chat and listen after providing a delicious full-English breakfast. Mum and dad had a wonderful time - emotional and memorable - enjoying their visit to St Olaf's (the smallest church in England) at Wasdale Head. We stayed in the delightful cottage with our daughter, son in law and 2 year old grandson. The views are spectacular and the cottage so comfortable, clean and spacious. Wasdale is a beautiful, unspoilt part of the Lake District and well worth the journey up the west coast - away from the hustle and bustle. Guaranteed to relax and refresh!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

my friend has just had her wedding reception in the barn at rainors farm! it really was such a fantastic venue! johnny and debbie (the owners) really were amazing helping with everying making everyone feel so welcome we stayed in the b+b on the friday and sat and in the yurt on the Sunday both were lovely and clean warm and had everything you could want! The breakfast was lovely and if there was anything we needed throughout our stay we felt like we could ask and they went out of out way to do it for us. Overall it really was an amazing friendly place to stay and would recommend it! thankyou very much for everything!

Hannah and all the other bridesmaids
xxx

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HLL88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three days for my mothers 50th and had such a nice time. The family is lovely and the service was brilliant. My parents stayed in the Yurt and it looked awesome!! Would highly recommend it to anyone who visits the Lake District.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrKru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Just home from a long weekend in the "Yurt by the paddock".
Its a long drive for us up from Surrey (apx 6hrs from Guildford) but the view and the welcome were worth it.
Despite no doubt being asked the same question hundreds of times by the many guests over and again, John & Debbie always made you feel like it was a pleasure to help you.
The yurt itself is warm and cosy (great log burner) and very comfortable. Basic cutlery/bbq equipment is available as well as drinks glasses. If you plan to self cater, and cook, you should manage fine without having to bring too much with you, although bare in mind the fridge is a 5minute round trip.
There is little to no mobile signal in the area. Personally this was great for us - enforced relaxation.
There are some lovely pubs and restaurants nearby. As well as great ale and fresh local home cooked food in the pubs you'd expect from the area, John's sisters place "Wild Olive" in Gosforth is a modern Italian with some great fresh pizza's should you fancy a change.
You can book a taxi when you arrive at the pub/restaurant (despite the area's remoteness, dont be tempted to drive after one or two drinks - police patrol the pub routes regularly) and if you ask nicely John will run you back to your car in the morning.
Breakfasts at the farm were splendid, and set you up for a good days hiking. Going up Scarfell is a must do, but this is also a great base for vists to Seascale beach, and we highly recommend the outstanding Hard Knott pass to Coniston.
We went late September and we had one dry day (and did Scarfell on that day), but doing the Hard Knott pass when the rain is falling, the wind whistling, the waterfalls gushing and the rivers high was arguably more beatuful than any sunny dry day.
We popped to the South Lakes wild animal park late on which was empty due to the weather and made for a great afternoon out depsite the rain.
If you're looking for something different, long for the fresh outdoor air, quiet and fantastic views which sometimes make you question whether you really are still in England... then check out a Yurt at Rainors farm.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrMrsMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We stayed here in July. Very nice staff. A great location if you intend to walk in the Wasdale valley Scafell Pike etc. The chickens are very entertaining, you'll know what I mean when you get there!

We stayed in the suite (not the main B&B) which was very private and felt like you were not attached to anybody. We are a couple with a 14 Year old son and had a couple join us for an evening, more than enough room. We will be staying here on our next walking holiday in the area.

The Yurts look great for a couples weekend retreat.

The suit

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RickPaintball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

A wonderful first getaway with our 10 month old Joshua....my parents joined us too! Debbie made us feel welcome immediately and did everything she could to make us feel at home. The b&b rooms are a good size and the views just priceless. Breakfast was delicious and again service with a smile......(best service I've had in a long time and I've done some traveling) x Ideal location for walks and close to Gosforth Village where we enjoyed meals and had a look around the gift shops etc

We will definitely return to Rainors Farm and hope to take my grandparents and brother's family x Between us we'd like to experience the cottage which we were shown around and one of the Yurts! x

Thank you for making our stay so special!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We enjoyed two comfortable nights in the B&B rooms with lovely big beds and showers and good wholesome breakfasts! The rooms have all the mod con's you need whilst the character of the house has been retained. The flooding prevented us climbing Scafell Pike so a return visit is definitely on the cards!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Polo245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gosforth hotels
0.5 mi away
Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
The Kellbank
The Kellbank
#1 of 6 in Gosforth
54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gosforth Hall Inn
Gosforth Hall Inn
#2 of 2 in Gosforth
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Lion and The Lamb
The Lion and The Lamb
#2 of 6 in Gosforth
18 reviews
0.8 mi away
Red Admiral Inn
Red Admiral Inn
#6 of 6 in Gosforth
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainors Farm B&B and Wasdale Yurt Holiday? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainors Farm B&B and Wasdale Yurt Holiday

Address: Rainors Farm Wasdale Rd, Gosforth CA20 1ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Gosforth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Gosforth
Price Range: £30 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Rainors Farm Bed And Breakfast And Wasdale Yurt Holiday
Rainors Farm b&b And Wasdale Yurt Holiday Hotel Gosforth
Rainors Farm B&B And Wasdale Yurt Holiday Gosforth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing