We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Lakeland Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rainors Farm B&B and Wasdale Yurt Holiday
Ranked #1 of 5 Gosforth B&B and Inns
Sissinghurst
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A Lakeland Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

When trolling through the internet for a B&B for my annual walking weekend with my old primary school buddy I discovered Rainors Farm.
I booked immediately on the basis that they made a point of catering for vegetarians!
John dealt with my booking and sounded very friendly and helpful. On the morning of the day of our arrival John rang me to check on our ETA and advised us where to find the key if they were not back from a School parents evening.
We aŕrived an hour later than expected and were greeted by John as long lost friends.
We were shown to our room and given the brief formalities ( ie free wi fi what time would we like breakfast and would we like a packed lunch etc) We settled into the room and went back downstairs and found John to ask where best to eat. His knowledge of the local area both for eating and walking is fantastic.
After a very comfortable warm night we went down for breakfast. A non rushed friendly atmosphere with an amazing spread of food and the best veggie breakfast I have evrer had.
We met Debbie on the second morning of our stay who is just as friendly and helpful as John. A truly brilliant team.
After 3 nights here it is time to go home
and we would like to thank John and Debbie for creating this Gem of the Lake District.
Alitair and I will be back and will also return with our other halves to give them a very special treat!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MSSavory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
30
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed as a family of four. A two year old and 5 year old plus mum and dad. Brilliant time had by all. Aside from the amazing scenery and activities that come along with it (walking, canoeing etc!) Rainors farm was a great place to end and start the day. Debbie and Johnny wonderfully welcoming and the farm is great fun for kids. Nothing too much trouble for owners. We would recommend it to all.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tdseth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Just had a wonderful family weekend break at Rainors Farm. We hired the cottage and one B and B room. A perfect location to explore a less touristy part of the Lakes. A well equipped yet uncluttered cottage. Thank you

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miriam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We had a wonderful few days to kick off our honeymoon here. Jonny and Debs are lovely and made us feel very special, and could not have been more helpful in lenging us maps, guidebooks and directing us to the best spots. We were in the incredibly comfortable yurt in the paddock, with truly stunning views. Wasdale is tranquil and offers great hiking and cycling. Will definitely come back soon for an anniversary!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Thank you so much to Jonny and Debs for once again the most wonderful stay at your lovely oasis in beautiful Wasdale. We stayed here for my sister's wedding in May and could not have been happier with the hospitality provided by Jonny and Debs, nothing is too much for these guys. The accommodation is just beautiful and if you want the real lake district countryside experience this is it, with THE most spectacular views! The breakfast is fantastic and I wish Jonny and Debs all the very best for the future.

P.S We live in Oz and I am originally from the area and when we return home to visit family we stay here rather than stay with friends and family as it is just so beautiful :-)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Words cannot describe how perfect our stay has been. We are blessed to have been able to have our wedding celebration at this amazing place.
Johnny and Debs are beautiful people & we will be eternally grateful that we could have our special day here.
Go and see for yourself this beautiful accommodation in one of the most beautiful places in Cumbria x

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophs200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Outstanding offering, service, location. Even the other guests were great and we had a lovely stay. After 8 hours in the rain on a bicycle this couldn't have been a better place to lay our heads. Great facilities and all offered in the kindest manner, The room was lovely and the bathroom excellent. Shower to die for when you have had a long day in the hills! Breakfast was plentiful, tasty and very relaxed. No one hovering around or making you feel like its time to leave. I have to regrets about staying at Rainors farm. 1 - We didnt get to stay in the yurt it looked fantastic. 2 - We only staed one night. If you want to get away and have some proper peace and quiet this is the place to go, much more tranquil than the busy towns of the Lakes.

Room Tip: Choose one they all seemed nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gosforth
0.1 mi away
Gosforth Hall Inn
Gosforth Hall Inn
#2 of 2 in Gosforth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant
3.2 mi away
The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holmrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
4.4 mi away
YHA Wasdale Hall
YHA Wasdale Hall
#2 of 2 in Nether Wasdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Santon Bridge Inn
The Santon Bridge Inn
#2 of 5 in Holmrook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainors Farm B&B and Wasdale Yurt Holiday? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainors Farm B&B and Wasdale Yurt Holiday

Property: Rainors Farm B&B and Wasdale Yurt Holiday
Address: Rainors Farm Wasdale Rd, Gosforth CA20 1ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Gosforth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gosforth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rainors Farm B&B and Wasdale Yurt Holiday reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainors Farm Bed And Breakfast And Wasdale Yurt Holiday
Rainors Farm b&b And Wasdale Yurt Holiday Hotel Gosforth
Rainors Farm B&B And Wasdale Yurt Holiday Gosforth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing