We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Woodlands Country House
Nearby Hotels
US$242
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hipping Hall(Kirkby Lonsdale)
US$307
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$298
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Whoop Hall(Kirkby Lonsdale)
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Snooty Fox(Kirkby Lonsdale)
US$148
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
New Inn Hotel(Clapham)
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Redwell Inn(Arkholme)
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$57
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
48
5
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
48
5
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnorth lakesbeautiful victoriancomfortable bedsen suite facilitiescomfortable place to stayon arrivalhomemade soupnothing is too much troublejudithshortbreadvicaragebassenthwaitekeswickbreakalescottagepub
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 54 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We stayed here for the August Bank Holiday weekend and on arrival we received a very warm welcome from Judith with tea and scrumptious cake,which was very welcomed after our long and wet journey. Our room was cosy and spacious, with three single beds as we were a group of three women. The room had everything we could require for our stay and more, the  little touches such as bathrobes, fresh milk daily, delicious homemade short bread, chocolates, a plentiful selection of hot drinks, fresh ground coffee  and fresh flowers was wonderful and very much  appreciated. We had dinner in the dining room twice during our stay and the home cooked food was delicious, Judith's friends that helped out with the service were charming and our entire weekend was relaxing, enjoyable and very pleasant.  Judith and Brenda are lovely ladies and their friendliness made us feel very welcome and at home. We will definitely  be visiting Woodlands Country House again. Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The-cheerful-trio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We had two nights in August and really enjoyed our stay. This is a small hotel with a really welcoming atmosphere in a beautiful part of Cumbria, just away from the busy tourist trail. Rooms are clean and comfortable and breakfast is great. We didn't have dinner, but there is a a good selection of local beers in the bar. Judith is a friendly host who could not do enough for us, a gem of a place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaCX99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Stayed here for a two night break August 2012, was greeted by Judith with coffee and cake in the lovely country lounge. Bedroom very cosy great comfy bed and plenty of books to read from various rooms in the house. Evening dinner excellent, good wine choice at very reasonable prices. Cumbrian breakfast superb and sets you up for the day. The location is excellent, it's great to come back to a peaceful retreat after a day in the lakeland's busy towns. There is a cosy bar with a really good selection of beers,spirits and mixers which was just the ticket after evening dinner. We're not sure how Judith manages to provide such an excellent stay with just help from Brenda but excellent it is. We'll be back in the Autumn when the roaring log fire will be on and the whisky flowing, many thanks Judith.

Room Tip: Room 3 has a great view
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Not the easiest place in the world to get to, but the rest of the stay made it worth it! It's not easily located by sat.nav. You can disappear down narrow winding country lanes never to be seen again. Judith's directions are spot on. The building itself is rather tired on the outside, but a lot of money has been spent on the fittings. A wet room on the ground floor has been installed. A boon to all disabled travellers.
The service and food was excellent! Nothing was too much trouble. Judith's cooking was more than we expected. Home made soups, cakes, pastries. Not good for the waist line, but cares if you're on holiday!
We paid £270 for the 3 nights in July. For the comfort and food it was worthit!!

Room Tip: Room 6 has a walk -in shower. Good for disabled
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyStafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Woodlands Country House is a period house set in a beautiful village just outside the tourist epicentre. Everything is beautiful: the setting; the garden, the decoration; the atmosphere; and especially the award-winning cuisine. All done with love, and extremely family-friendly.
Never had such a great stay, anywhere.

Room Tip: Wonderful views at the front.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomC624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews