We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woodlands Country House
Ranked #1 of 1 Ireby B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 July 2013

my wife and i stayed recently and found this an absolutely wondeful place to stay excellent service fantastic rooms beautiful location really could not ask for anything better should be a 5 star.
Judith and brenda were lovely hosts food was great.
Thank you so much
JASON & JO

Room Tip: room 4 beautiful veiw small double great
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
There are newer reviews for Woodlands Country House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

We have never had better service or food or such a delightful room as we had at Woodlands. My wife has Coeliac disease and Judith provide for all her gluten free needs. Although this small hotel is on the northern edge of the National park it is surrounded by beautiful countryside and not too far from many places of interest.We would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Room 2 had a lovely view onto the countryside.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gandl18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Absolutely lovely three day break. We arrived after what had been a frantic weekend for this small hotel as a local music festival had just finished in the village. However, despite this nothing was too much trouble for the excellent proprietor Judith and her small team. Great breakfasts, our room (2) was fine and well stocked, evening meals and wine choices were great, and the cosy bar has a selection of well looked after bottled local ales at proper prices. It's a great location for exploring the north Lakes and very peaceful indeed with ample parking and lots of other places to eat in nearby towns and villages as well. Basically it's a lovely and largish country house cum hotel and was totally a home from home, with a lovely lounge, lots of books to read, and a garden to sit in and enjoy the views. You won't be disappointed and we'll be returning.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank BernardBurnard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed 5 nights at Woodlands and were well looked after. The warmth of the welcome and the care taken over the little things made our stay a delight. A wonderfully comfortable bed, lovely breakfasts and dinners.
We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to get away from it all. Nothing is too much trouble for Judith the proprietor who looks after everyone really well.
Thank you

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bradwell286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We've just returned from a very enjoyable long weekend at Woodlands. We were met by the proprietor, Judith, and we're soon sitting in the very comfortable lounge drinking coffee and eating cake. Our room was very comfortable and we really enjoyed our breakfasts and the evening meals. We will certainly be back!
Sandra and Gordon
East Lothian

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We stayed here for the August Bank Holiday weekend and on arrival we received a very warm welcome from Judith with tea and scrumptious cake,which was very welcomed after our long and wet journey. Our room was cosy and spacious, with three single beds as we were a group of three women. The room had everything we could require for our stay and more, the  little touches such as bathrobes, fresh milk daily, delicious homemade short bread, chocolates, a plentiful selection of hot drinks, fresh ground coffee  and fresh flowers was wonderful and very much  appreciated. We had dinner in the dining room twice during our stay and the home cooked food was delicious, Judith's friends that helped out with the service were charming and our entire weekend was relaxing, enjoyable and very pleasant.  Judith and Brenda are lovely ladies and their friendliness made us feel very welcome and at home. We will definitely  be visiting Woodlands Country House again. Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The-cheerful-trio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We had two nights in August and really enjoyed our stay. This is a small hotel with a really welcoming atmosphere in a beautiful part of Cumbria, just away from the busy tourist trail. Rooms are clean and comfortable and breakfast is great. We didn't have dinner, but there is a a good selection of local beers in the bar. Judith is a friendly host who could not do enough for us, a gem of a place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaCX99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Woodlands Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Country House

Address: Ireby CA7 1EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ireby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ireby
Price Range: £83 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodlands Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Woodlands Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Country House Ireby, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing