We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A home from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Woodlands Country House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Woodlands Country House
Ranked #1 of 1 Ireby B&B and Inns
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

A lovely place to stay. The bedrooms are very traditional with every home comfort. You feel as if you are staying with family. Loved the breakfasts.... wanted to work our way through the Menu! We were new to this part of the Lakes and Judith gave us much advice on where to go.... a fount of knowlegde.

Room Tip: Wifi usually available in the bar/lounge area but can be difficult. Not the fault of the hotel.... i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
23
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We had a truly lovely, relaxing & memorable stay at Woodlands Country House. Our only complaint.... it wasn't long enough! Woodlands House is one of the best B & B's we have ever stayed in! The owner Judith is warm & welcoming and made us feel right at home. The house is a charming Victorian residence situated in a" picture perfect setting" Stunning views from the upstairs bedrooms & the garden is delightful.

We were treated to coffee, tea & homemade cake on our arrival & Judith answered all our questions about what to see & do, she has great local knowledge. The bedrooms & ensuite bathrooms were immaculately clean and well appointed.Lovely comfortable beds & pillows & we loved all the luxurious little touches in our rooms like homemade shortbread, tea ,coffee & fresh milk, chocolates, bottled water & fresh flowers; all replenished daily!

The breakfasts were hearty, generous & delicious and served with smiles & friendly chatter from Judith's dedicated staff. Nothing was too much bother for them. Our party of seven all enjoyed the beautiful home cooked 3 course dinner Judith offers and and she caters for vegetarians & coeliacs too.

If you are looking for something special that is still close to Keswick and Cockermouth then look no further.....Woodlands Country House is the place to stay.

Thank you Judith for a most memorable stay.You made seven Australians very happy & we have no hesitation in recommending your beautiful B & B to others.
Debbie & co. July 2014

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zacmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katesue85
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Judith, the proprietor, is very welcoming and friendly. You can tell Judith and her team put their heart and soul into running Woodlands Country House. We stayed in a family room with our young toddler. The room was lovely with special touches such as fresh flowers, chocolates, bottled water (sparking and still) and fresh shortbread. The room had a TV with Freeview, bath, shower, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer and plenty of storage. The beds were very comfortable. The bedding was immaculate. Our room backed into the woodland/garden which made for a pretty (and private) view. The guesthouse itself is in a beautiful, rural location. So peaceful and quiet, next to a church in a little village. There are plenty of local pubs a short drive away and the Lake District has plenty to offer. We visited Lacy's Caves, Long Meg & her daughters (a stone circle), did some rambling in the countryside and visited Penrith for a bit of shopping. We also had a meal at The Pheasant pub, about a twenty minute drive away. Our first evening, we had a meal at Woodlands Country House which was fresh and delicious, and reasonably priced for three courses. Breakfast is delicious - there is a wide selection on offer. I would have no hesitation in recommending this guesthouse to others. It is definitely worth a visit. The only downside is that breakfast is between 8am and 9am, a later breakfast would be better, possibly 10am, as it can be difficult trying to get a toddler up, washed, dressed and down to breakfast that early or it might just be our toddler! Although I appreciate that an early breakfast would suit most guests and Judith does offer a continental breakfast in your room. We'll be sure to come again soon!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katesue85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

A beautiful 19th century house stylishly furnished and packed with period features. Add to this the stunning view and the warm welcome of your host Judith and you have the perfect place to stay for your visit to the Lake District. Woodlands is set in a peaceful village location. Our room was light, airy and very comfortable with good ameneties. Evenings in the little bar and snug were a relaxing delight. Thank you Judith :)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

From the first pull of the doorbell you are in for a treat. Judith gave us a warm welcome and showed us to our room. Looks even better than in the publicity and the beds were heavenly. Personal touches were everywhere and nothing was too much trouble. Woodlands has a fascinating history, resonates with antiques and the food is excellent. The village is friendly and so close to the northern lakes - Bassenthwaite Lake with it's rare ospreys is only a short drive away. Keswick isn't far with its charming shops, cafes & pubs and sits on Derwent Water. The birdsong is almost deafening on approaching Woodlands and if you're lucky, you'll see red squirrels frolicking nearby. We'll certainly be back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heathdweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Have been staying here once or twice a year for the last 8 or 9 years and have never been disappointed. Jude always makes you so welcome and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are extremely comfortable with great views over the surrounding countryside. Jude is an amazing cook - the breakfasts and dinners are wonderful. Usually just the two of us stay but our most recent visit was for a family celebration so we came for the weekend with our three sons and their partners. (We have a 6 hour drive to get here which shows how much we like it!). Again nothing was too much trouble for Jude who helped to make our special weekend everything we hoped for.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Out in the countryside with plenty of walks and local wildlife to see
Great
The only interruptions are the bird song!!
The lady of the house is a VERY good cook!!
The sat nav' doesn't like this area much but we convinced it we were right!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graemechorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ireby
0.0 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel
0.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Highside Farm
Highside Farm
#1 of 9 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Country House

Property: Woodlands Country House
Address: Ireby CA7 1EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ireby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ireby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodlands Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Woodlands Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Country House Ireby, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing