We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional service and excellent food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woodlands Country House
Ranked #1 of 1 Ireby B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 August 2009

This hotel goes the extra mile to ensure guests have a comfortable and relaxing stay, the breakfasts were wonderful (you didn't need lunch) and the evening meal would not have been out of place in the best restaurant. But it was the little things which made the most difference, the room was very clean with quality furnishings and very comfortable beds. Home made shortbread biscuits, chocolates and a range of tea and coffee (replenished each day) added those extra touches to make a memorable and enjoyable stay and very reasonable stay..

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ravenshore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 52 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2009

We stayed with our 2 dogs in the cottage at woodlands house and we had an excellent time. The area is very quit and peaceful but you dont have to travel far to find some lovely walks and beutiful towns. We would definitly return the cottage has an open fire and was very cosy. The last review suggested the House was dated however we found while the fixtures and fittings in the cottage may not be brand new the suited the style of the cottage. We had everything we needed including a dish washer. It was a home from home! An Excellent Holiday!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GilliganNorthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2008

Our feeling about Woodlands was mixed. It was friendly and breakfast was excellent - a good, varied menu, although when we asked for porridge ("on request") we felt a little as if we were being unreasonable, somehow. We did not take the evening meal but the menu looked good. On arrival we were provided with tea and some superb cake.

The room was "superior" but I am at a complete loss to see why. It had the feel of somewhere which would have warranted the price 20 or 30 years ago but needs some attention now. The en-suite facilities were tired. I'd stay again, but only at two thirds of the price, as, sadly, this doesn't deliver what other establishments in the area do for the same money. It needs a bit of attention.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AChir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2004

This hotel is in a very peaceful and picturesque location but within easy reach of the north Lake District and Keswick. The enthusiastic new owners have just taken over a well established business and are in the process of adopting there own style. The breakfasts were first class as were the optional and reasonably priced evening meals. There is a good and moderately priced wine list and a small but comfortable bar. The room was adequate although the furnishings and bathroom needed some updating. The fact that dogs are allowed in some of the rooms must be a plus in an area renowned for its spectacular walks. Overall this hotel offers the friendliness and character so often promised but found to be lacking in many other hotels.

5  Thank JRW120548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Woodlands Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Country House

Address: Ireby CA7 1EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ireby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ireby
Price Range: £86 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodlands Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Woodlands Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Country House Ireby, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing