We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastique Encore”
Review of Overwater Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Overwater Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ireby
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level Contributor
163 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fantastique Encore”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Room 6 the best.
All the service wonderful. Great attention from Angela and Stephen. Adrian and his team provided excellent food.
Go there and enjoy

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodAndArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    481
    25
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
68
361
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We had a wonderful 3 nights in a lovley room over looking the rear garden and Cumbria hills.
The dogs were genuinely welcome.
The staff very attentive and friendly.
Adrian is the best chef around and must never stop cooking everthing is wonderfully prepared and presented.
Overwater is a place to vist on a regular basis no excuse needed.
5 stars in my book.
B. Evans. N yorks.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We visited as part of a family group of 6 adults and one (large) dog. The hotel is genuinely dog friendly, with lovely, large grounds where dogs can roam off the lead, plus a large hallway and bar in which dogs are allowed. The food is excellent, particularly the generous breakfasts. Our room, while small, was comfortably furnished with a huge bath and powerful shower. A book of local walks is available for a charge and there are lots of helpful brochures about local activities.

My only gripe would be the cost: the room rate was £105 per person, per night, which, once dinner is included, comes to £320 for a couple for one night for dinner, bed and breakfast. If you can afford these prices, then you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrandMrsinManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Overwater Hall, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
Dear Mr & Mrs
Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you - and your dog - enjoyed your stay with us in May, but I must confess we are a little confused about the rate you say you were charged. Our price for a Junior Room in May was £105 per person per including dinner and breakfast, giving a total spend of £210 per couple per night plus drinks, which is a long way off the £320 you mention! It is possible that you did not book direct with us, as this can work out more expensive, but even then I doubt if you would have paid £105 per person room and breakfast only. Take another look at your bill - I am sure you will find we offer far better value than you think!
Thank you again for taking the trouble to write, and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Overwater Hall in the future.
With kind regards
Angela Hyde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

It has been some time since we last posted a review on TripAdvisor for Overwater Hall and all we can say it that it just gets better and better!

We’ve just completed our 21st stay at Overwater, on each occasion staying an average of 2 nights. Since our very first visit back in 2004 we have seen some changes over the years, all for the better but the one thing that remains the same is fabulous hospitality, a warm welcome and wonderful food.

Whenever we decide to go out for a nice meal, living not far out of Manchester, you’d think there would be a good choice of good quality restaurants, but none compare or even come close to the standards at Overwater Hall. Having also had the luxury of visiting a number of Michelin starred restaurants in London, Adrian and his team beats them hands down. Subsequently, our plans for a weekend night out, always results in a quick email to Angela or Stephen to see if they can squeeze us in for another stay in one of their beautifully appointed rooms and the three of us set off on the 2-hour door to door journey – the three being me, my husband and George our Westie.

This is another one of the many reasons why we return to Overwater so often, the fact that we can take our ‘little boy’. Dogs are genuinely welcomed and there are very few places to holiday in the UK where dogs truly are. Because Overwater is such an immaculately well-run place, if you didn’t have / didn’t like dogs there would be no issue as unless you see a happy doggy heading out for a mooch around the beautiful grounds, you would never ever know that a dog has set foot in the place.

Above-all else, Overwater would not be as perfect as it is if it wasn’t for the staff, many of which we are now good friends with and are a credit to owners Angela, Adrian and Stephen.

We are already planning our 22nd visit, especially after seeing the recent image of some fantastic looking food posted on their Facebook page – and can’t wait to welcome in 2012 with them this New Year!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MildredMopton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2011

This was our first stay at Overwater hall,we enjoyed our two night stay,the hotel and room was very pleasant,the staff and service was first class,very welcoming.The evening menu was an absolute culinary delight,beutifully prepared and served to perfection,would definitely stay again

Room Tip: Room 6 the turrent room would be our first choice but all the rooms looked good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffpaulmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We choose Overwater Hall for our wedding as we absolutely loved the character of the place and the friendliness of Angela, Stephen, Adrian and the rest of the staff. If you are looking for a perfect venue for a smaller wedding (we had 30 guests) Overwater is highly recommended. We looked around north Cumbria but couldn’t find anything as unique as Overwater. There are plenty of hotels that do weddings but we wanted something that didn’t feel like a hotel (a lot of the other venues shove you into a back conference room). Overwater is different as it offers you exclusive use of the venue for 24 hours so you don’t have the intrusion of strangers on your special day. For a fixed price you get so much – the venue for 24 hours, including the 11 bedrooms, a five course wedding breakfast, the wedding flowers, a free bar and the excellent attention of the Overwater staff.

Having exclusive use of Overwater provided real intimacy for our wedding. It really felt as though we were guests in a country home. We had photo’s taken down by Bassenthwaite lake and the whole venue provides fabulous photo opportunities both inside and out.

All of our guests were impressed with the venue and the rooms – each room is immaculately presented and feels much more homely than a standard room. Each bedroom is unique with huge bathrooms, each with separate bath and shower. Planning our wedding couldn’t have been easier – Angela and Stephen will be as involved as you want them to be and Adrian sat down with us to create our own special wedding breakfast. The food at Overwater is stunning. Overall a perfect place for a small family wedding.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gayle001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We live only 30 minutes from Overwater Hall so it is easy to say, "Lets have a night away." Overwater is not the only hotel we use but it is by far the best.

The people who run the place care about their guests. They are welcoming but not overpowering.

The rooms are all different and the bathrooms are superb.

BUT above all the food is to die for. We always ask for an early evening view of the menu because an hour is spent pouring over it and imagining what is to come.

We are never disappointed. The very best of ingredients, great atmosphere and wonderful culinary skills combine for an unforgettable experience.

I love to cook and wish I could get even near to those standards. I was give some woodcock recently and asked at Overwater what I might do with them. I was immediately given three recipes to try and some verbal instruction. What more do you want?

John & Lee Cox

Room Tip: They are all superb but try the turret
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jcjohncox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ireby
24.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
24.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
23.0 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,605 reviews
5.2 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
599 reviews
5.0 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overwater Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overwater Hall

Property: Overwater Hall
Address: Overwater, Ireby CA7 1HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ireby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ireby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Overwater Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Genuine Georgian English country house hotel, family owned and cared for. Set in 18 acres of formal gardens and woodland, and within a short drive of Keswick and the central lakes. Recently refurbished throughout, with modern en-suite bathrooms, free high speed wireless internet and sumptuous three star, two-rosette AA restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Overwater Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overwater Hall Hotel Bassenthwaite
Overwater Hall Ireby, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing