We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Wonderful Break!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Overwater Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Overwater Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ireby
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A Wonderful Break!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

Just returned from a two night break and our first stay at this wonderful hotel. The lovely surroundings, friendly family atmosphere, attention to detail and the best food - ever! make this hotel a fabulous place to visit. We also had Room 6 which was a beautiful room with large windows overlooking the gorgeous Lakeland countryside. My husband and I chatted to other couples who were returning to Overwater and who had visited numerous times before, they also felt it was such a lovely hotel and we also plan to visit again in the New Year.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidayfun330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    474
    24
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
68
354
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
cumbria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

Much has been written on this site about the “Overwater” experience. The beautiful surroundings, the lovely rooms, the excellent service, and the fabulous food. But one thing that has never been mentioned is the consistency. We’ve been going to Overwater for many years now, and we’ve always been impressed by the constant high standards and superb customer service every time we visit. The food is fantastic every time, and the menu constantly evolving. On our last visit, Adrian had made a very unusual Spanish trifle with mint custard and a taste to die for! All the ingredients are sourced locally from the beautiful lake district and turned into the most creative and imaginative meals by this extremely talented chef. The thing about Overwater is that whatever time of the year you go, whether it is in the spring with the daffodils, the autumn, with the golden leaves, or the winter with the snow and roaring log fires, you are always guaranteed an unforgettable experience and magical few days of peace and calm.

Room Tip: The 4 poster room is fantastic, and room 3 has it's own resident ghost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cumberland-lad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

We were looking for a dog friendly hotel in the Lake District. Top the pile came Overwater Hall. We were not disappointed. I shall be sorry if we can't make time to visit again.
The 2 of us and the dog were made very welcome, The food was unbelievable. Service impeccable. Location - a hidden gem as previous reviews say.
Lovely, lovely, lovely. Nothing more to add apart from our thanks to the owners and team, (not staff!!), who made the short stay wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheOrganiser2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

Having read numerous reviews of Overwater Hall before making our booking - they sounded almost to good to be true. However, two nights later, I can confirm that all you read is correct.
The place is an oasis of tranquility, with service to match , attentive, but not in your face, just how it should be.
The room we had ( turret room 3) was excellent, great view, super bathroom, but the real highlight at Overwater is the food. Truly outstanding dinner , and unbelievable value, to get anything approaching this good would usually be at least twice the price. Breakfast too was superb, and set in a fabulous location, with red squirrels at play . I am normally laothe to recommend places - but I would definately say Overwater Hall worth a visit ( or two!)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank View_from_QF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

I have been going to this hotel for almost 18 years and every time I go there is something new. This time we spent the evening in the luxurious four poster superior room which was fantastic in every way. Adrian and Angela were great company in the bar for Coffee whilst we
tried to solve the problems of the world. Anything goes here, it is the most relaxing and accommodating place I have ever stayed in. During the autumn in particular the grounds are just a world of colour and wildlife and we had four windows to view it from. If you need a break from it all and love amazing food this is the place for you.

Room Tip: We have stay in lots of the rooms here and they are all unique and of an extremly high standard in e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bootle, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

Just back from celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary at our favourite hotel in UK (poss the world). Spacious rooms with large comfy beds, to die for bathrooms and food that leaves you wondering (thankfully) whether the michelin inspectors just haven't found there way yet. The staff are friendly and efficient - and we can take our dogs!

Room Tip: Room 6 is my favourite - large turret room with king size antique 4-poster. What more could you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

My husband and I received a warm welcome which was an immediate indicator of what was to follow. Overwater Hall has a wonderful ambience which makes you feel very comfortable from arrival onwards. We had a lovely room with a great view of the fells and the food and service over our two night stay was consistently excellent. We are looking forward to another, hopefully longer stay in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julipil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ireby
24.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
24.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
5.2 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
2.7 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
18.3 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overwater Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overwater Hall

Property: Overwater Hall
Address: Overwater, Ireby CA7 1HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ireby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ireby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Overwater Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Genuine Georgian English country house hotel, family owned and cared for. Set in 18 acres of formal gardens and woodland, and within a short drive of Keswick and the central lakes. Recently refurbished throughout, with modern en-suite bathrooms, free high speed wireless internet and sumptuous three star, two-rosette AA restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Overwater Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overwater Hall Hotel Bassenthwaite
Overwater Hall Ireby, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing