We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sublime food and idyllic surroundings”
Review of Overwater Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Overwater Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ireby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Just spent a lovely weekend at Overwater Hall. I'd chosen it because of the reviews I'd read on Trip Advisor and also by taking a look at their own website. We weren't disappointed at all. The food was absolutely excellent and the service was superb. We were extremely lucky with the weather too, lovely and sunny so we were able to explore the local area and see some spectacular views.
We stayed in room three which is the turret room and it was extremely comfortable, the bed was really comfy.
Interestingly all the people we got chatting to at the hotel were guests who had been going to Overwater Hall for many years which just reinforced our opinion that this is an excellent hotel and we look forward to returning again very soon.
If we ever get around to organising our wedding next year it's also top of the list for that too!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perfectionistali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (557)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

404 - 410 of 557 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2011

Just returned from a two night break and our first stay at this wonderful hotel. The lovely surroundings, friendly family atmosphere, attention to detail and the best food - ever! make this hotel a fabulous place to visit. We also had Room 6 which was a beautiful room with large windows overlooking the gorgeous Lakeland countryside. My husband and I chatted to other couples who were returning to Overwater and who had visited numerous times before, they also felt it was such a lovely hotel and we also plan to visit again in the New Year.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holidayfun330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Much has been written on this site about the “Overwater” experience. The beautiful surroundings, the lovely rooms, the excellent service, and the fabulous food. But one thing that has never been mentioned is the consistency. We’ve been going to Overwater for many years now, and we’ve always been impressed by the constant high standards and superb customer service every time we visit. The food is fantastic every time, and the menu constantly evolving. On our last visit, Adrian had made a very unusual Spanish trifle with mint custard and a taste to die for! All the ingredients are sourced locally from the beautiful lake district and turned into the most creative and imaginative meals by this extremely talented chef. The thing about Overwater is that whatever time of the year you go, whether it is in the spring with the daffodils, the autumn, with the golden leaves, or the winter with the snow and roaring log fires, you are always guaranteed an unforgettable experience and magical few days of peace and calm.

Room Tip: The 4 poster room is fantastic, and room 3 has it's own resident ghost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cumberland-lad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We were looking for a dog friendly hotel in the Lake District. Top the pile came Overwater Hall. We were not disappointed. I shall be sorry if we can't make time to visit again.
The 2 of us and the dog were made very welcome, The food was unbelievable. Service impeccable. Location - a hidden gem as previous reviews say.
Lovely, lovely, lovely. Nothing more to add apart from our thanks to the owners and team, (not staff!!), who made the short stay wonderful.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheOrganiser2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Having read numerous reviews of Overwater Hall before making our booking - they sounded almost to good to be true. However, two nights later, I can confirm that all you read is correct.
The place is an oasis of tranquility, with service to match , attentive, but not in your face, just how it should be.
The room we had ( turret room 3) was excellent, great view, super bathroom, but the real highlight at Overwater is the food. Truly outstanding dinner , and unbelievable value, to get anything approaching this good would usually be at least twice the price. Breakfast too was superb, and set in a fabulous location, with red squirrels at play . I am normally laothe to recommend places - but I would definately say Overwater Hall worth a visit ( or two!)

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank View_from_QF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

I have been going to this hotel for almost 18 years and every time I go there is something new. This time we spent the evening in the luxurious four poster superior room which was fantastic in every way. Adrian and Angela were great company in the bar for Coffee whilst we
tried to solve the problems of the world. Anything goes here, it is the most relaxing and accommodating place I have ever stayed in. During the autumn in particular the grounds are just a world of colour and wildlife and we had four windows to view it from. If you need a break from it all and love amazing food this is the place for you.

Room Tip: We have stay in lots of the rooms here and they are all unique and of an extremly high standard in e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Just back from celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary at our favourite hotel in UK (poss the world). Spacious rooms with large comfy beds, to die for bathrooms and food that leaves you wondering (thankfully) whether the michelin inspectors just haven't found there way yet. The staff are friendly and efficient - and we can take our dogs!

Room Tip: Room 6 is my favourite - large turret room with king size antique 4-poster. What more could you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ireby
24.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
24.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
18.3 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
2.7 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,702 reviews
17 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overwater Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overwater Hall

Address: Overwater, Ireby CA7 1HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ireby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ireby
Price Range: £133 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Overwater Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Genuine Georgian English country house hotel, family owned and cared for. Set in 18 acres of formal gardens and woodland, and within a short drive of Keswick and the central lakes. Recently refurbished throughout, with modern en-suite bathrooms, free high speed wireless internet and sumptuous three star, two-rosette AA restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Hotels.com so you can book your Overwater Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overwater Hall Hotel Bassenthwaite
Overwater Hall Ireby, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing