We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Overwater Hall
Nearby Hotels
Hipping Hall(Kirkby Lonsdale)
US$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$119
US$115
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Whoop Hall(Kirkby Lonsdale)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Snooty Fox(Kirkby Lonsdale)
US$182
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
New Inn Hotel(Clapham)
US$210
US$168
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Redwell Inn(Arkholme)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$64
Travelodge
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (577)
Filter reviews
577 results
Traveller rating
535
29
9
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
535
29
9
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred squirrelsturret roomhomemade shortbreadlake districtextensive groundsoutstanding foodcourse dinnerthis wonderful hoteldog friendly hotelafternoon teahome madepetit foursnothing is too much troublelarge bathroomregular visitorsfresh milklittle extras
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
420 - 425 of 577 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2011

My husband and I have been visiting this hotel for around 20 years. We are very lucky as we only live about 25 minutes drive away. Sometimes we stay but on other occasions we just go for the excellent food.

Over the years the owners have updated the whole place to a very high standard. When we used to visit the guests were mostly from Cumbria but we have noticed that now more and more of the visitors have travelled a fair distance to get there - this is probably helped by the excellent ratings on Tripadvisor.

We have just visited again for dinner for my birthday. Once again the food was fabulous and the atmosphere is so relaxed and friendly.

As a Cumbrian I particularly like the fact that the owners source their food locally and display their suppliers names on the menu.

We will definitely be back.

Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank CumbrianGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

We had another great stay for the weekend along with our dog. Great food, service, location and the dog loves it as well. Will always go back.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drbex999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Yet another lovely stay at Overwater Hall. A warm welcome as always, a comfortable room and excellent food. It's such a peaceful, relaxing place to stay and my only hesitation about recommending it would be that it might be full next time I try to book! However, the owners and staff try so hard to ensure everything is perfect that they deserve to be successful.

Room Tip: If you're taking your dog, particularly a dog that is not good with others, the Garden Room is perfect as it has direct, private access from the garden.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fmck49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Just spent a lovely weekend at Overwater Hall. I'd chosen it because of the reviews I'd read on Trip Advisor and also by taking a look at their own website. We weren't disappointed at all. The food was absolutely excellent and the service was superb. We were extremely lucky with the weather too, lovely and sunny so we were able to explore the local area and see some spectacular views.
We stayed in room three which is the turret room and it was extremely comfortable, the bed was really comfy.
Interestingly all the people we got chatting to at the hotel were guests who had been going to Overwater Hall for many years which just reinforced our opinion that this is an excellent hotel and we look forward to returning again very soon.
If we ever get around to organising our wedding next year it's also top of the list for that too!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perfectionistali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Just returned from a two night break and our first stay at this wonderful hotel. The lovely surroundings, friendly family atmosphere, attention to detail and the best food - ever! make this hotel a fabulous place to visit. We also had Room 6 which was a beautiful room with large windows overlooking the gorgeous Lakeland countryside. My husband and I chatted to other couples who were returning to Overwater and who had visited numerous times before, they also felt it was such a lovely hotel and we also plan to visit again in the New Year.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holidayfun330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews