We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hospitality and food but dated room”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Overwater Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Overwater Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ireby
Certificate of Excellence
Chester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic hospitality and food but dated room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

The welcome and continued hospitality by the Overwater team was first class and the food was truly delicous; although the attention to detail at breakfast is not as good as at dinner.

We felt for the price of the hotel the room itself could benefit from an update. The bed still had a sheet and blanket rather than a duvet and the pillows were old and thin.

The dinner, bed and breakfast are sold as a package and we felt that we would rather have had an option of a choice at dinner rather than a fixed 4 course event.

Overall we enjoyed our stay but at the price of the hotel I'm afraid we won't be returning.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SnuzMon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overwater, Owner at Overwater Hall, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed at least some elements of your stay, but of course disappointed that we won't see you again.
For the benefit of future guests reading this, we do offer the option of a duvet rather than sheets and blankets - please just ask!
Kind regards,
Angela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    474
    24
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
68
354
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
UK North West
Level Contributor
142 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

This small hotel is tucked away but still only 10 minutes from Cockermouth or Keswick by car.
A north-facing mansion, its high ceilings are intricate in detail and the whole place is very welcoming and tastefully decorated.
The staff were very friendly and couldn't be more obliging, going out of their way to provide the little extras that made all the difference to our stay.
Our turret room was excellent, the bathroom modern and the main room keeping with tradition.
The food was stunning, superbly presented and bursting with flavour.
All in all we had a fantastic stay and would highly recommend to others.

Room Tip: Turret rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank horrgakx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

Wonderful welcome staff could not do enough for you 1st impression of the place is the decor is a bit overwhelming however, the hospitality and the friendliness and the worderful wonderful food makes up for it

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gina3737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melrose, Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

Overwater Hall is, without doubt, the very best hotel in the Lake District. The service is just superb and the food is to die for. We have stayed there 6 or 7 times and have never failed to be impressed. Stephen, Angela and Adrian (and Luke) are simply the perfect hosts. If you know of a better hotel please let me know!!

Room Tip: All rooms are really good - turret rooms and Garden Room exceptional
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgie0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

I've been to Overwater a few times and find it difficult to believe that they can get better every time but they do. There are so many little touches that make this place my favourite hotel. The staff, the food, the personal attention to detail in everything just cannot be matched anywhere else. Can't wait to go back again.

Room Tip: The turret rooms are quite superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cleverclogscomputers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

I have thought long and hard about writing this review. We went to Overwater solely as a result of it's excellent TA reviews and came away somewhat disappointed. I had originally decided not to write a review as the staff and managers did seem to try very hard indeed and I did not want to put a dampener on their efforts. However, having just read the latest review from Tonyuke and re read the other headlines 'Hidden Treasure' and 'Heaven on Earth' I felt I should say that there is another point of view. To be fair to Overwater this is not our first slightly disappointing experience at a so called 'country house hotel' so maybe we should just avoid the category in the future.

Overwater is pleasant, the people seemed lovely but personally there is also a slightly depressing and heavy feel to the place. Others may disagree. It was mid winter and very cold outside after all. We have used the expression 'Heaven on Earth' ourselves in a previous review and Overwater for us is simply not in the Heaven on Earth league. We stayed for one night only rather than the four nights originally intended due to a change of plan.

On arrival we were greeted by the splendid Luke who really is a wonderfully attentive host, as good as it gets in fact. We were shown to a room at the rear of the hotel which was disappointingly small and somewhat drab more boarding house than hotel. I enquired about a change of room and we were offered room 4 at the front of the hotel which was a slight improvement but still rather disappointingly dull and on the small side. The bathroom though was excellent.

Dinner and breakfast were both excellent meals and the service was impeccable.

When I explained to Angela that we would be leaving early due to a change of plan she was genuinely most concerned that our decision was not in any way the fault of the hotel and to be fair it wasn't. A generously sized bedroom with a touch of opulence when on holiday is important to us and I should have made that clear when I made the reservation rather than relying on assumptions as a result of the splendid reviews.

When it came to paying the bill Angela explained that she would have to charge us for the weekend we had booked as the hotel was full but would provide a refund if she resold the room. It is now Saturday afternoon and I await further news on this.

Our score of 'average' is too low but I could not quite get myself to say 'very good.' Overwater Hall is a good hotel but for us not quite as good as the other reviews suggest.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank HarryIzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overwater, Owner at Overwater Hall, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Thank you for your comments. Naturally we are disappointed that our accommodation did not meet your expectations. In truth, we cannot expect to be all things to all people, but happily we continue to delight more people than we disappoint.
Kind regards
Angela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

A visit to Overwater Hall is quite an adventure. First you have to find it, then explore the delights of your room, then scale the heights of the menu.
The Grade II listed building is well tucked away but our SatNav found it okay. Luke, the ever-attendant manager opened the front door and remained a model of courtesy throughout our stay. (He was a finalist for the Cumbria Tourism Outstanding Customer Service Award.)
It was winter outside but our Turret Room was warm. The bathroom had tub and shower and a cabinet of toiletries. A separate lounge housed the smart TV, kettle and choice of teas. Pat spotted a mini decanter of fruit liquor with note saying ‘Nightcap’. We couldn’t wait and had a sip... lovely!
Our pre-dinner drink in the bar included canapés brought by hostess Angela. Then it was menu time. Surprise! There was a fish course (with fish knives!). Then choices too hard to make. Chef Adrian cooks with passion and a magic wand – his sauces beguile. The culinary artistry has to be tasted to be believed. The team were 2011 finalists for the Taste of Cumbria Award. The four-course dinners are legendary matched by the sumptuous dining room. We were glad we dressed for dinner.
Dog owners are invited to treat their canine companions to a well-deserved mini-break at this dog’s paradise. Guests can bring their dog at no extra cost and the lounge and bar areas are dog-friendly. There is even a dog sitting service available, along with the Dog of the Day website of fame.
Stephen Bore, and Angela and Adrian Hyde, bought this magnificent Georgian mansion in 1992 and spent 18 years refurbishing it, preserving the historic ambience with a clever mix of traditional and contemporary style (Wi-Fi throughout). The end result is tasteful, colourful and refined.
The hotel was voted Small Hotel of the Year twice – winners of the Northwest of England Award and the Cumbria Tourism Award 2010.
Overwater Hall is set in 18 acres of gardens and woodland with the dramatic backdrop of Skiddaw and the Uldale Fells. It’s a short hop to Keswick and Bassenthwaite Lake, the ideal base for a relaxing stay in peaceful surroundings. It dates back to 1814 and still has that gentry feel about it. It’s at the end of a lonely road yet it’s a treasure worth finding. The food is to live for – and the rooms are to vie for.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonyuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ireby
24.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
24.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
5.2 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
2.7 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
18.3 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overwater Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overwater Hall

Property: Overwater Hall
Address: Overwater, Ireby CA7 1HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ireby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ireby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Overwater Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Genuine Georgian English country house hotel, family owned and cared for. Set in 18 acres of formal gardens and woodland, and within a short drive of Keswick and the central lakes. Recently refurbished throughout, with modern en-suite bathrooms, free high speed wireless internet and sumptuous three star, two-rosette AA restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Overwater Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overwater Hall Hotel Bassenthwaite
Overwater Hall Ireby, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing