We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three nights of a little piece of heaven”
Review of Overwater Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Overwater Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ireby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We always stay in the Garden Room, this is on the ground floor, which means we don't have any stairs to climb up after over indulging in the restaurant! It also means our Basset Hound (aged 13 years and four months) doesn't have to watch us struggle up the stairs (or is it the other way around?) The room is spacious with it's own private balcony over looking the gardens and fells. We watched squirrels and roe dear and listened to the birds singing. We enjoyed sipping Pimms, eating wonderful food. Stephen, Angela and Luke looked after us very well. Not forgetting Adrian and all the other staff. We only live 18 miles away - but it is like stepping out of our busy lives and slipping into heaven. Thank you and see you soon.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandyKM545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (563)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

373 - 379 of 563 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2012

If you are looking for a relaxed , quiet, laid back break with excellent food and wonderful views in the Lake District look no farther than Overwater Hall. All of the previous reviews are spot on and we cannot wait to go back albeit longer than the two days we stayed at the end of April. Thanks to Stephen, Luke, Angela and all the staff we met during our stay, please don't change a thing as everything is already perfect.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank stuartr123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Our 14th wedding anniversary and we decided to have afternoon tea as a little treat at Overwater Hall.
As you drive into the 18 acre site its like you leave the hustle and bustle of everyday life behind, you walk through the door and you slip into 'relax' mode.
Afternoon tea was served in the lounge on comfy seats with unbeatable views. Whilst sat there eating our array of finger sandwhiches, we were entertained with an abundance of wildlife in the garden, woodpeckers, finches, sparrows and loads more.
We had the lightest scones we've ever had, absolutley gorgeous, followed by an assortment of delicate home baked cakes and tray bakes, we just couldn't finish them, but we did take them home :-) No diets here!
To sum up well worth the money, great service in a fantastic place. Well worth a trip. We'll go for lunch next time. Try it yourself?

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lallokkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed two nights. Great central location and staff were very accommodating, excellent service. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SJ_L_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We have just returned from a visit to Overwater Hall. This is our 23rd year going there so that says it all. It is a perfect place to stay whatever your requirements. I took photos of red squirrels and deer in the garden as well as watching a woodpecker through a window. The 'board' walk through the 18 acres of natural garden is delightful, with the backdrop of the fells all around you, even a bench to sit on, the scenery is magical. The rooms are beautiful with all those little extra luxuries - (including Adrians complementary liquer for a night cap) the care and attention given by everyone cannot be bettered, nothing is too much trouble and as for the food - the presentation itself is like a picture, even before you taste it. Do try it for yourselves.

Room Tip: Our favourite is the Garden Room which is on the ground floor, it has a door to your own little pati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janet o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

If an alien from outer space was to ask for a definition of what an English country house hotel is about, show them Overwater Hall. This is a truly traditional country house hotel in a superb Lake District location, but the food is contemporary and the service exceptional. Well done Overwater.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tuchenclut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed here for 4 days with our 7 month old daughter and our dog over Easter. We arrived in the middle of the night and greeted in the car park, they helped carry our luggage in and showed us our room. Room Five was a great size, allowing for a huge bed, big cot (a variety of bedding supplied) and a big dog bed too! All the staff were incredibly friendly to us and our daughter and were attentive to our needs as parents, with high chairs, holding supper when we were dealing with our daughter, etc. We can't recommend this hotel highly enough. The house is beautiful, the gardens amazing, service excellent and the food was out of this world. A real treat!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ireby
24.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
24.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
23 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,771 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
511 reviews
18.3 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overwater Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overwater Hall

Address: Overwater, Ireby CA7 1HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ireby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ireby
Price Range: £150 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Overwater Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Genuine Georgian English country house hotel, family owned and cared for. Set in 18 acres of formal gardens and woodland, and within a short drive of Keswick and the central lakes. Recently refurbished throughout, with modern en-suite bathrooms, free high speed wireless internet and sumptuous three star, two-rosette AA restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Overwater Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overwater Hall Hotel Bassenthwaite
Overwater Hall Ireby, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing