We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hasnt lost any of its charm”
Review of Overwater Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Overwater Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ireby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I stayed here again with my husband and dog and was yet again bowled over by the service, location and charm of this place. We were in room 1 this time (beautiful red room with the biggest bathroom i think i have been in!) which was well decorated, clean and very comfortable

The food was also of a very good standard and the service is always discrete and attentative

This is the best place to stay in the lakes if you are looking for peace, beauty and somewhere to stay with your dogs as it has th ebest grounds for those early morning walks

This is still one of my favourite places to go; it isnt modern or have 101 facilities and we were the youngest in there by a good chunk but i always arrive and feel like (or wish!!) i am home and always ready to go back when we leave (which we are with our teenage kids this half term)

Thanks again and see you soon!
Kathryn x

Room Tip: Eight is lovely and large but one has a great bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatWarner81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (559)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 559 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2012

Another wonderful long weekend break at Overwater Hall, its addictive, the terrible weather could do nothing to spoil our time spent there. We stayed in Rm 6 for the first time & it certainly lived up to our expectations, the four poster bed was so comfortable & the complimentary home made shortbread in the room was lovely with a coffee in the afternoon when returning from a tiring day out in Carlisle; after the cocktails in the bar of course!
The ensuite was palacial, with a bath & large shower & lovely good quality toiletries & spotlessly clean.
All the rooms are beautifully decorated & their website is very informative & easy to follow with pictures of the individual rooms, which we are working our way through one by one!
The food as usual was excellent with a good selection of fish & meat dishes, & tantalising tastes, the Lobster Thermidor was just as good as I remembered & the breakfasts really set you up for the day & the service is excellent, you will definately want to go back. Overwater Hall has everything; from the drawing room we watched 3 baby woodpeckers on the nuts being fed by dad, 2 red squirrels fighting for pocession of the peanut box, deer coming up to the windows just being nosey! a lovely 'board' walk through the woods over the streams leading to the ultimate destination by the pool which is just magical, with wild orchids, wildlife & birds I have never seen before. Bassenthwaite Lake is far prettier than the others & I like the remoteness of the hall, no mobile signal but who cares in a location like this, handy for Dodds Wood & Osprey watching also.
If your off to the Lakes, give this a try, excellent value & you will not be dissapointed.

Room Tip: Room 6 - four poster bed & lovely views to the woods for deer spotting,. Over the restaurant but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue10F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

During a very wet and miserable day our welcome at Overwater by Steve made up for what the weather was throwing at us . As soon as we walked in the door we were made to feel as if we were at home except we do not have a bar serving an excellent bitter. Our cases were taken to our room which had great views despite the mist and rain. Relaxing in the bar Steve told us all about their appraoch to entertainig their guests which is to provide all that country and food loving people like my wife and I want . The cocktails served by Luke and the evening meal served by a very smilie and efficient Maria were all superb and very well presented. Why Adrian Anglela and Steve do not yet have a Michelin star is beyond me. The food that we ate was superb especially the full vegatarian main course for my wife which is very rare even in some of the very fancy places we have eaten before. I recommend this hotel and restaurant to anyone who appreciates the finer element of hospitality and food. To ensure you get the best in food tell them when you book if you are a vegatarian or non meat eater. We will be back to enjoy the wallking straight from the hotel which we could not do this time due to the thick mist on the hills and the constant rain. (We are getting soft in our old age! )

Room Tip: Go on the web site and have a look
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benno448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We just returned from 5 days in the magical Lake District. Of all the hotels we stayed at, the Overwater Hall is our over-all favorite. The house is lovely -- an authentic country home on a beautiful setting against the stunning mountains. The management is superb -- professional, attentive, and genuinely warm and welcoming. The cuisine is outstanding-- the best we had in the District, in terms of quality, service and value. Located in the northern part of the Lake District, it's set apart from the hustle and bustle of tourism. The atmosphere is peaceful and inviting -- and by the way, the dining room was full on the Sunday night we visited, which is always a good sign. It's a absolute gem, and we look forward to returning with great pleasure and anticipation.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

My husband and I enjoyed yet another lovely stay at this hotel at the end of May. My advice when reading trip advisor is to go with the general opinion. Therefore, if there are almost 200 reviews that say it's great and one or two that disagree, take the majority view! I'm not sure how the local pub being full can be the hotels fault... especialy when you've already been told the hotel restaurant is full and it's only 15 minutes to Keswick where there are dozens of places to eat!
The food here is fabulous, the staff and owners are lovely and will go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need. They genuinely welcome, and love, dogs; but non-dog owners will appreciate the quiet and calm and elegant dog-free lounge. Dog owners will like the smaller sitting room and bar, if they with to sit with their dogs, and the spacious grounds where their dogs can run around and play in the stream! It's in the most peaceful location you can imagine, away from the tourist traps but close enough to visit anywhere in the Lake District you might like to go.
All the rooms have everything you need, the turret rooms are particularly lovely, and if there's something you want that they haven't supplied; ask for it! I've never met with a 'no' response yet! Despite it being a 6 hour drive to get there, it's always our first choice when a relaxing break is needed and I just wish it wasn't so far away!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsAngelaRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

My wife and I stayed at overwater hall last summer, mainly based on the reviews we read on trip advisor. Although it was a nice enough place to stay I have to say it did not meet our high expectations after what we had read posted by previous guests The hotel is set in nice grounds and the surrounding area is beautiful, but in our opinion the room we stayed in was certainly nothing special and the service was nothing out of the ordinary. At the time of booking the man we spoke to told us that there would be no availability in the hotel restaurant that evening, which was fair enough, he advised that we ate in the nearby village. On arriving at the only local pub we found it to be absolutely packed and no tables available and we were unable to make a reservation.... We called the hotel to see if they could squeeze us in for a bite to eat but to no avail. We ended up driving for miles to find somewhere.

In conclusion the hotel was o.k, the service was o.k, the area was lovely. But we were certainly not blown away by the place....

Hope this helps.

Room Tip: Avoid the bright blue and yellow room or take some sun glasses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank john321Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We have just got married at Overwater Hall and we had a fabulous experience - the setting and hotel are superb and we had the most perfect day, exactly what we dreamed of. This place is perfect if you want an intimate, luxurious wedding for 30 ish guests. It's a stylish location with country elegance - which we found hard to achieve when we looked elsewhere in the lakes. Angela and her team were brilliant and made the organising process both smooth and enjoyable. On the day - the team at Overwater were discreet, organised and delivered to the highest standard, making the day easy to enjoy for all concerned and very hard to forget. The meal was absolutely delicious and all our guests raved about how outstanding it was - and they were right - it was simply perfect. The rooms were really comfortable and our four poster was amazing!

Overall... Overwater is truly a hidden gem that you must consider for a stress free wedding, of the highest standard - we were so pleased with our choice and our photos tell a fantastic story at a fantastic venue. Thanks to all concerned.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JenH750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ireby
24.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
24.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
23 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,721 reviews
14.1 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overwater Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overwater Hall

Address: Overwater, Ireby CA7 1HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ireby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ireby
Price Range: £137 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Overwater Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Genuine Georgian English country house hotel, family owned and cared for. Set in 18 acres of formal gardens and woodland, and within a short drive of Keswick and the central lakes. Recently refurbished throughout, with modern en-suite bathrooms, free high speed wireless internet and sumptuous three star, two-rosette AA restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Overwater Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overwater Hall Hotel Bassenthwaite
Overwater Hall Ireby, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing