We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Special”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Overwater Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Overwater Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ireby
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Always Special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

We have visited Overwater on a number of occasions & always really enjoy our stay. It's a bit of a backwater, away from the main centres & most popular walks but having said that we always find walks to do & often don't see anyone else. The hotel is very comfortable & the staff attentive, without being fussy. The rooms are well appointed & have some lovely extras, such as good quality toiletries, cafetiere coffee, fluffy towels & bathrobes & fresh fruit & flowers in all rooms. Recently we had a back room but we had a lovely view of red squirrels running backwards & forwards from the feeders. The food cannot be faulted - well cooked & plenty of choice. When the plates are presented they look like a work of art! The evening meal isn't cheap but is very special & we wouldn't dream of staying without taking the evening meal option. The public rooms are very comfortable too & Stephen & Angela are always happy to make a pot of tea when returning from a walk or a trip out. The bar is well stocked too if a cold drink is preferable.
The recent visit was even more special as we celebrated a friends 60th birthday & Stephen, Angela & chef Adrian pulled out the stops for us all. We'll be back!

Room Tip: The Garden Room is ideal for guests with limited mobility & the Turret Rooms are huge with four...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    474
    24
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
68
354
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Really like the place and the area and it did feel a bit like staying at someones house. The weekend weather was generally lousy but we managed to get two walks in - it's a quiet but lovely part of the Lakes. Thought the food was great and the hotel was what I hoped it would be when we booked. Also we were offered a free upgrade as we arrived

2 very minor quibbles

would have like the same lovely bread we got for dinner for breakfast as well rather than the standard white we got

Shower never really very warm - but minor gripes and loved it and given we never mentioned the shower no one had the opportunity to put it right

Room Tip: cant remember which room we had but it was fine - bathroom was enormous
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

A pleasant stay but wouldn't rush back - the room was nice (I think we only had a basic room), a bit tired in places but some nice touches - complimentary homemade shortbread and liqueur in the room. For breakfast my boyfriend ordered the full English which arrived huge and apparently very good, I ordered poached eggs and smoked salmon and the smallest plate of food appeared - was just a bit disappointing especially compared to the full English!

Room Tip: Upgrade the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whispertravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

We've been several times to Overwater Hall, quite simply because it's our 'haven of tranquility', our 'bolt hole'. My first review described the Hotel, staff and food as perfect, how do you improve on perfect? I don't know how they do it but each time the service, food and general ambience gets better and better, it must be 'uber-perfect' by now!
We were lucky enough to stay for 6 nights over Christmas, the Hotel is always spotlessly clean, the welcome and service from all members of the team friendly and impeccable and the food, well, sublime! We've dined in Michelin starred restaurants and the food that Adrian and his team produce not only equals but surpasses some of our Michelin dining experiences. It's the little touches that make the difference, like the small, real Christmas trees in each of the bedrooms, as well as the usual home-made shortbread and fruit liqueur, gorgeous!
Unfortunately, the weather wasn't good during our stay, culminating in gale force winds on Boxing Day and a subsequent power failure in the region during the evening. Angela, Stephen, Adrian and the team rallied round and a huge supply of candles appeared from nowhere. Fortunately, they have a generator to power the pump for the heating / hot water and they cook by gas, so apart from the lack of lighting, it was business as usual and what a great job they made of these rare and adverse circumstances! It really demonstrated their huge commitment to customer care. For us, having a pot of tea in front of a roaring log fire, by candlelight, was a wonderful and atmospheric experience that we'll never forget.
We love Overwater Hall and can't wait to return soon. Thanks everyone for your hard work, dedication and commitment.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janpal24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melrose, Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

We have revisited Overwater for the n'th time. I have to admit I find it difficult to add to my previous reviews. This hotel is world class.

The meals are quite incredible - beautifully prepared and presented. Every course is a work of art on a plate but not (like many places) in any way over-the-top or pretentious.

The hotel is dog friendly, but if you don't like dogs (and we really don't) don't be put off. Dogs are allowed in the hallway and the bedrooms but not in the lounge and (obviously) not in the restaurant. But (I hear you say) the bedrooms must smell of dog. They don't!! No I don't know how they do it either but somehow they manage it.

Every single one of the staff from the owners Adrian, Angela and Stephen and their assistant Luke, to the waitresses and the cleaning lady are so caring, helpful and friendly and knowledgeable that you simply cannot help but enjoy your stay.

The wildlife in the garden is a bonus. Red squirrels (now quite rare in the UK), loads of great tits, coal tits and blue tits as well as nuthatches are everywhere. If you are very lucky you will also see the resident deer and badgers.

Please don't go to Overwater - just leave more room for us!!

It is simply fantastic!

Room Tip: We really like the turret rooms 3 & 6 and the Garden Room but there are no inferior rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank georgie0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

What a fantastic place this is, the food is the best we have ever had in this country. Nothing is too much trouble for the owners or staff. Great selection of traditional and seasonal cocktails. We love this place and travel over 3 hours to get there but it's worth it. Its such a relaxing break it's really worth a visit.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrsbean123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Our first visit to Overwater Hall and one to remember! From the minute we arrived to the minute we left we were pampered (not just my wife and I but also our Flatcoat Retriever Sweep!). Fantastic hotel with very caring staff, lovely rooms, excellent food and beautiful surroundings. We will certainly be back, thanks to Stephen, Angela, Adrian and Luke and all the staff who made our weekend so wonderful. See you soon.
Dave and Liz

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wkdtroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ireby
24.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
24.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
5.2 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
2.7 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
18.3 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overwater Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overwater Hall

Property: Overwater Hall
Address: Overwater, Ireby CA7 1HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ireby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ireby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Overwater Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Genuine Georgian English country house hotel, family owned and cared for. Set in 18 acres of formal gardens and woodland, and within a short drive of Keswick and the central lakes. Recently refurbished throughout, with modern en-suite bathrooms, free high speed wireless internet and sumptuous three star, two-rosette AA restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Overwater Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overwater Hall Hotel Bassenthwaite
Overwater Hall Ireby, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing