We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than ever”
Review of Overwater Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Overwater Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ireby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We've dined and eaten at the Overwater for many years and now we've moved from Cumbria return each year for our "fix" . The hotel has been refurbished over the years and offers a high standard retreat. The situation is difficult to find and gives it a special "away from it all" experience. The food is excellent and I left a note in the comments book that the fish dish was possibly the best fish dish I had ever eaten- very high praise . Keep it up , we'll be back next year

Room Tip: The garden room, on the ground floor h=gives access through a French window direct to the extensive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peanutts9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (559)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 559 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2014

Stayed here just for the one night unfortunately - would have loved to have stayed longer. The Hotel is traditionally furnished and decorated, vey much keeping within the Building's character.
Angela was attentive and welcoming, Adrian preparing the food expertly. The dining experience really was very good.
We stayed in room 1, a nice, warm feeling room with window shutters and large bathroom. It faced the rear, with a view over woodland. Unfortunately, the weather was too poor to explore the gardens and woodland, but we made do with watching the birds on the feeders from the warmth of the drawing room.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank am36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Arrived Friday last for a two night break. Met by owners and settled in with no fuss. As it was late afternoon we decided to relax and take time getting ready for dinner. Fortunately this fitted with the atmosphere of the hotel - real good chance to just chill. Bar not too big but one can keep oneself to oneself or share conversation which we did. Seemed a few birthdays being celebrated as evidenced by cakes and candles at some tables at dinner which was, as previous reviews have stated, superb. Nice touch in menu explaining where Adrian sources his produce. Indeed, after a second equally relaxing day and gastronomic treat for dinner I realised the kitchens were at the heart of the business. Yes the grounds are well kept, rooms very comfortable and staff more than welcoming (nothing too much trouble) but make no mistake the food is first class. Do not visit on b&b basis!! Will definitely return

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 but sneaked a view in many others and all looked lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niceandhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We spent 2 nights in late January at Overwater for a short R&R. It achieved what we needed with a wonderfully relaxed atmosphere, very nice room, DVD television, and super food. We evn saw a red squirrel and the cat, but not at the same time or place. Relaxed in the sitting room with a good fire for a large part of the day. Unobtrusive service on hand whenever it was required.

Room Tip: .worth paying a little more for a superior room at least in winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CNRMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We have visited Overwater on a number of occasions & always really enjoy our stay. It's a bit of a backwater, away from the main centres & most popular walks but having said that we always find walks to do & often don't see anyone else. The hotel is very comfortable & the staff attentive, without being fussy. The rooms are well appointed & have some lovely extras, such as good quality toiletries, cafetiere coffee, fluffy towels & bathrobes & fresh fruit & flowers in all rooms. Recently we had a back room but we had a lovely view of red squirrels running backwards & forwards from the feeders. The food cannot be faulted - well cooked & plenty of choice. When the plates are presented they look like a work of art! The evening meal isn't cheap but is very special & we wouldn't dream of staying without taking the evening meal option. The public rooms are very comfortable too & Stephen & Angela are always happy to make a pot of tea when returning from a walk or a trip out. The bar is well stocked too if a cold drink is preferable.
The recent visit was even more special as we celebrated a friends 60th birthday & Stephen, Angela & chef Adrian pulled out the stops for us all. We'll be back!

Room Tip: The Garden Room is ideal for guests with limited mobility & the Turret Rooms are huge with four...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Really like the place and the area and it did feel a bit like staying at someones house. The weekend weather was generally lousy but we managed to get two walks in - it's a quiet but lovely part of the Lakes. Thought the food was great and the hotel was what I hoped it would be when we booked. Also we were offered a free upgrade as we arrived

2 very minor quibbles

would have like the same lovely bread we got for dinner for breakfast as well rather than the standard white we got

Shower never really very warm - but minor gripes and loved it and given we never mentioned the shower no one had the opportunity to put it right

Room Tip: cant remember which room we had but it was fine - bathroom was enormous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

A pleasant stay but wouldn't rush back - the room was nice (I think we only had a basic room), a bit tired in places but some nice touches - complimentary homemade shortbread and liqueur in the room. For breakfast my boyfriend ordered the full English which arrived huge and apparently very good, I ordered poached eggs and smoked salmon and the smallest plate of food appeared - was just a bit disappointing especially compared to the full English!

Room Tip: Upgrade the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Whispertravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ireby
24.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
24.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
23 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,719 reviews
14.1 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overwater Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overwater Hall

Address: Overwater, Ireby CA7 1HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ireby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ireby
Price Range: £136 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Overwater Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Genuine Georgian English country house hotel, family owned and cared for. Set in 18 acres of formal gardens and woodland, and within a short drive of Keswick and the central lakes. Recently refurbished throughout, with modern en-suite bathrooms, free high speed wireless internet and sumptuous three star, two-rosette AA restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Overwater Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overwater Hall Hotel Bassenthwaite
Overwater Hall Ireby, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing