We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Overwater Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Overwater Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ireby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Our favourite hotel, anywhere! Lovely rooms, wonderful food, it is impossible to fault!
Go for a stroll in the extensive grounds, woodpeckers, nuthatch, and red squirrel are all to be seen.
There are also excellent walks in this quiet corner of the Lake District. And your dog will be warmly welcomed. It really is a perfect spot!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (557)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 557 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

We have been going to this hotel for a number of years now. It is just lovely, tranquil, peaceful ambience, fantastic service: the food is to die for; it deserves all the accolades going. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank ToniDaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Just back from two nights at Overwater with my wife. Just cannot fault this hotel.The staff are fantastic,friendly without being overbearing and the food is outstanding. We stayed in the garden room with our dog so had the advantage of a separate door to a private patio area and the gardens. We saw a red squirrel outside the window but it was too fast for a photograph. If it's a tranquil hotel break that you require with plenty of places to walk,great food and an interesting and traditional building then this is the place. Don't expect a signal on your mobile phone though but that was a bonus to me. Will definitely return and thanks ever-so much for being dog friendly. Special thank you to Stephen for making us feel so welcome.

Room Tip: Garden room for dog friendly and a separate door to gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bearakev57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This was our second visit to Overwater Hall and we were not disappointed. Superb rooms - garden room and room 2. Fantastic attention to detail and excellent service. Super menu - a foodies paradise. Lovely countryside with no noise or light pollution. For wildlife lovers - red squirrels, deer and the odd buzzard! Just booked our next visit!

Room Tip: Garden room on ground floor with access to gardens in summer - lovely room with easy access and good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gutman10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

A short weekend away which was very relaxing.
We stayed in room 7 and it was completely spotless. Nice touch with the bed being turned down and a nightcap waiting for us.
Bathrobes and full size shampoo, bath/shower gel which was also a nice suprise.
Staff were very attentive, not over-powering atall. Food was very high quality and if you wanted something different making then the chef was not put out. When ever asking for a cup of tea or coffee it came with delicious sweets or home-made biscuits.

If I had a gripe atall it would be that the hair-dryer was like a travel one so if you have thick hair you would be there for ages trying to dry it and it was a tad chilly in the dining area so ladies if you are like me take a cardigan and don't sit by the windows.

Otherwise this was just quality at its best.

Room Tip: We had room 7 which was just lovely - clean and spotless but from all accounts all the rooms were.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy-Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Me and my wife have just been to Overwater Hall for the second time. We returned mainly because of the excellent food and we were not disappointed it is truly amazing. Overwater is certainly out of the way but the hosts, and staff, go out of their way to make you feel welcome. It is a very relaxing, comfortable hotel in lovely grounds. I am not one for social media sites but this place deserves a couple of minutes to rate it for the benefit of others.

Dave and Les Johnson, Warrington, Cheshire.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We've dined and eaten at the Overwater for many years and now we've moved from Cumbria return each year for our "fix" . The hotel has been refurbished over the years and offers a high standard retreat. The situation is difficult to find and gives it a special "away from it all" experience. The food is excellent and I left a note in the comments book that the fish dish was possibly the best fish dish I had ever eaten- very high praise . Keep it up , we'll be back next year

Room Tip: The garden room, on the ground floor h=gives access through a French window direct to the extensive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peanutts9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ireby
24.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
24.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
18.3 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
2.7 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,703 reviews
17 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overwater Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overwater Hall

Address: Overwater, Ireby CA7 1HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ireby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ireby
Price Range: £133 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Overwater Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Genuine Georgian English country house hotel, family owned and cared for. Set in 18 acres of formal gardens and woodland, and within a short drive of Keswick and the central lakes. Recently refurbished throughout, with modern en-suite bathrooms, free high speed wireless internet and sumptuous three star, two-rosette AA restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Overwater Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overwater Hall Hotel Bassenthwaite
Overwater Hall Ireby, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing