We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“afternoon delight”
Review of Overwater Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Overwater Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ireby
Certificate of Excellence
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“afternoon delight”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

my dear old school pal and,i have started a new pastime - afternoon tea. todays venue was overwater. it was amazing, the sandwiches were delightful, i never knew a cucumber sandwich could be so delicious. then the cakes arrived - wow! 2 hours later we strolled out - or rolled out, stuffed, relaxed and happy! sitting looking over the fells watching 2 red squirrels only a couple of feet away was an added bonus.
a truely wonderful place, peace and tranquility at its best

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    478
    25
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
68
358
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Beckermet,Cumbria.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Firstly, congratulations to the evidently hard working team at the Overwater. It is apparent how much effort goes into the running of this establishment, to keep it at its high level of service. It's hard to argue with many of the previous reviews. Location is stunning with abundant wildlife. Room 3 had nice functional bathroom, comfy bed & lovely views of mountains and wildlife. Food was generally excellent, served efficiently. If you want to avoid the Lake District hordes and stay in a glorious location, give Overwater a try.

Room Tip: Try room 3, excellent views of GS Woodpecker, Nuthatch and Red Squirrel as well as the fells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cumbrianlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
163 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

ARRIVED AND LEFT IN BRILLIANT SUNSHINE. WELCOMED BY ANGELA. SAT OUTSIDE BEAUTIFUL VIEW.The room was as always excellent. The evening meal, wonderful fish for all the courses, delightful service from Angela, Stephen and Luke. Breakfast as always a delight.

Room Tip: I have stayed in 1,2,3,5,6,7,10 and the Garden Room Each room is different and personal. They are al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FoodAndArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I went with 3 girlfriends for dinner on Saturday 5 th April. The whole experience was amazing...from the service to the food. This has got to be one of the best places to eat . Just fantastic. I loved every single minute.... Well done !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

the hotel is in beautiful surroundings we arrived to be shown to the lounge where our afternoon tea would be served, service was perfect and the crisp white linen, wonderful.

There were more than enough beautifully made sandwiches and so tasty, the cream scones were so light and to die for.

There were lots of cakes, fruit bread and shortbread biscuits, so many we couldn't eat them all, any amount of fruit teas, coffee etc and offers of more hot water and more drinks.

A lovely afternoon, thank you for making our time with you so special

Room Tip: don't have any lunch, if you are having afternoon tea!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pollyFromUpNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holywell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Our favourite hotel, anywhere! Lovely rooms, wonderful food, it is impossible to fault!
Go for a stroll in the extensive grounds, woodpeckers, nuthatch, and red squirrel are all to be seen.
There are also excellent walks in this quiet corner of the Lake District. And your dog will be warmly welcomed. It really is a perfect spot!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We have been going to this hotel for a number of years now. It is just lovely, tranquil, peaceful ambience, fantastic service: the food is to die for; it deserves all the accolades going. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ToniDaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ireby
24.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
24.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
5.2 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
5.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
2.7 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,588 reviews
18.1 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overwater Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overwater Hall

Property: Overwater Hall
Address: Overwater, Ireby CA7 1HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ireby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ireby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Overwater Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Genuine Georgian English country house hotel, family owned and cared for. Set in 18 acres of formal gardens and woodland, and within a short drive of Keswick and the central lakes. Recently refurbished throughout, with modern en-suite bathrooms, free high speed wireless internet and sumptuous three star, two-rosette AA restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Overwater Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overwater Hall Hotel Bassenthwaite
Overwater Hall Ireby, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing