We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, but repetitive.”
Review of Overwater Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Overwater Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ireby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I would have given Overwater Hall five stars but for there being very little change in the menu on a daily basis. We travelled quite a long way so stayed for three nights. The food was wonderful on the first evening, but we had to opt for second choices on the following day. On the third evening we had to repeat some previous choices, which I found very disappointing. I am a fish eater while my husband is a carnivore. Surely there is more than one way to cook a piece of fish or meat? The hotel is an expensive one, yet the main courses never changed at all during our stay with only minor changes to the starters and desserts. Our room was fine but chilly, so we had to ask for the heating to be put on. The lounge area could be a bit more welcoming too. However, the owners and staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JRG555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overwater, Owner at Overwater Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Thank you for your review, and for the 5 stars that we almost got! We are sorry to hear that you found our menu lacking in choice and I would like to go out on a limb and suggest that had we been alerted to the fact that you do not eat meat Adrian would almost certainly have changed at least one of the fish dishes on at least one evening during your stay.
For the benefit of others reading this review, we always have three main course fish dishes on our menu every evening, together with a vegetarian option and three meat dishes so hopefully there is something for everyone!
I hope you won't be deterred from visiting us again, and you have my word that we will ensure greater variety of choice for you next time.
With kind regards
Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 546 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

A good stopping off point on the way North especially if you have a dog with you.
Beautiful rooms and ambitious cuisine. Nicely situated away from the hustle of the main tourist areas of the lake district. A little on the expensive side.

Room Tip: All rooms of a high standard. Some have small sitting rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glenken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This hotel nestles in the Lakes with the nearest town being Keswick. It is set in 18 acres of grounds and if you want a quiet setting with a high standard of service, this hotel is for you.
As we arrived one of the staff came out to greet us, take our luggage and show us to our room. Impeccable service, which carried on throughout our stay.
We chose our room when we booked, all the rooms are individual, all with high class furnishings and our room had a lovely view out to the grounds.
The public rooms are beautifully furnished but also comfortable and welcoming.
Nothing is too much trouble, the food is excellent, not only in the range of choice on the menu, but also in the actual dishes. We stayed for 3 days and each meal was superb.
If you want a great hotel, in a beautiful part of the country, you should try this hotel.
Thank you very much for a lovely time.

Room Tip: Go on the hotel website and you can see each room and therefore choose which you want, Go direct to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SRFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Arrival and oh dear shabby exterior were greeted by a young chap and ushered to a lounge although dated was ok bit freezing cold after pre dinner drinks time to dine staff fairly attentive but stood in corridor chatting throughout the whole meal good food spoiled and dessert possible a buy in anyway £ 180 for 3 in party with drinks expensive we are local and would not return in a hurry shame a few logs and a bit training would much improve the offer

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank burrowmale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overwater, Owner at Overwater Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

A building like ours is a work in progress: the front porch was decorated earlier this year and work is scheduled to begin on the front of the house in early June, weather permitting! In the meantime, we can only apologise if you find us shabby. Dated? Certainly not contemporary, but then we market ourselves as a country house hotel so why would we be? Desserts bought in? I would have liked to have invited you to spend a day with our pastry chef, but I fear you have offended her. Drinks expensive? At £3.50 for a pint of local real ale, £5.50 for a Langton's Gin and tonic and any number of bottles of wine to choose from at less than £25 each we are confident that both our bar and wine prices are competitive.
We are genuinely sorry that you found our staff to be noisy and I can assure you that we have taken heed of this criticism, and if only you had let us know that you were cold, we could have rectified this for you immediately.
Yours respectfully,
Angela Hyde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This is the most recent (of several) visit to this superb hotel. It is off the beaten track north of Keswick in beautiful grounds and surrounding countryside. This dog friendly hotel boasts some of the best food i've had anywhere with very well appointed and comfortable rooms. The staff are attentive and could not be more helpful. Even if you don't stay here I would recommend an evening out for dinner. We have already booked our return visits for next year.

Room Tip: If you have a dog, the garden room is a good idea, it is ground floor with it's own external doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnpage54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

My mother has just had a week in what she describes as "the most marvellous hotel" in the Lake District. It is the best run hotel she has ever stayed in and could not be faulted in any way: excellent food, lovely spacious bedrooms (only 11 altogether), superb well-equipped bathrooms and many little extras. It is owned and run by a husband and wife team (he is the main chef) and a friend. They are very friendly people and have a lovely staff backing them up . Dogs are welcomed as much as their owners. There are 13 acres of grounds and the hotel is well off the beaten track so it is blissfully quiet. There are some good fell walks from the hotel. My mother found it very relaxing and is already talking about returning.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonRob1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Just returned from two days at Overwater Hall. Bedrooms lovely as always, excellent bathrooms. Adrian still produces the best food in the Lake District (not counting Simon Rogan). Only one duff dish quickly substituted. Angela works so hard and such long hours. Dog given usual 5 star welcome. Its just a pity it is 5 hours from home!!

Room Tip: All are excellent but would suggest if you want peace and quiet give Room 8 a miss. It is over the k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank millbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ireby
24.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
24.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
2.7 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
9.9 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,152 reviews
23.0 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overwater Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overwater Hall

Address: Overwater, Ireby CA7 1HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ireby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ireby
Price Range: £140 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Overwater Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Genuine Georgian English country house hotel, family owned and cared for. Set in 18 acres of formal gardens and woodland, and within a short drive of Keswick and the central lakes. Recently refurbished throughout, with modern en-suite bathrooms, free high speed wireless internet and sumptuous three star, two-rosette AA restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Overwater Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overwater Hall Hotel Bassenthwaite
Overwater Hall Ireby, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing