We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Overwater Hall
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel(Bassenthwaite)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Pheasant Inn(Bassenthwaite)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lyzzick Hall Hotel(Under Skiddaw)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (577)
Filter reviews
577 results
Traveller rating
535
29
9
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
535
29
9
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred squirrelsturret roomhomemade shortbreadlake districtextensive groundsoutstanding foodcourse dinnerthis wonderful hoteldog friendly hotelafternoon teahome madepetit foursnothing is too much troublelarge bathroomregular visitorsfresh milklittle extras
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
532 - 537 of 577 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2009

My Wife and I are very lucky to live only a short drive from this very special place. We first discovered Overwater 15 years ago, and stayed for a night just before our daughter was born. We fell in love with Overwater then, and we have returned regularly ever since. The hotel is, nestled in an unspoilt valley surrounded by the magnificent Lakeland fells.
Once there, you are welcomed into a tranquil world without traffic noise, street lights and mobile phones (no signal, blissful). The bedrooms are beautifully furnished, without being ostentatious, the refurbished bathrooms are fantastic. For the very brave, one room even has a resident ghost. (Book "room three" if you dare! )
Dinning at Overwater is a true experience, after being coxed away from the roaring log fire in the lounge; you sit down in the dinning room to a feast of local produce lovingly prepared by Head Chef and co- owner, Adrian. The food is to die for! The service is exemplary! The wine is superb. Forget all those self- important celebrity chefs and their fantastically expensive restaurants; this is how really good food should taste. Then it’s back to the lounge for coffee and handmade chocolates, to relax in front of the dying embers of the fire, before heading up the wide sweeping staircase for a wonderful nights sleep.
After waking to only the sound of the birds and the sheep in the fields (no traffic, remember!) It down the stairs again for breakfast with local bacon, sausage and real black pudding. Another treat!
Staying Overwater really is a magical and wonderful experience. Nothing is too much trouble for Adrian, Angela, Stephen and their dedicated staff. We go and stay every opportunity we get, and it never disappoints.
Overwater is everything a Lakeland Country House Hotel should be, and it really is as close to perfection as you'll ever find.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cumberland-lad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2009

Excellent service from dedicated owner managers. The rooms are comfortable and well equpped, the public rooms are equally comfortable and the dining is quite exceptional. This is not for travellers who feel that a gym, jacuzzi, health spa or beauty treatment is essential.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2009

As always a great place to go to unwind. Our favourite hotel, nicely off the beaten track in great countryside, the food is always first class & the rooms comfortable & roomy. Bathroooms always clean & dog friendly as well.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheOESs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2009

We stayed for Valentines weekend and it was the very best weekend away we have ever had . The whole experience can only be described as magical . After a long drive we were greeted by a lovely gentleman who carried our luggage to our room .The room was beautiful with fresh flowers and fruit and a bathroom so big that you could get lost in it !! - and that was a standard room ! .All the staff are very helpful ,professional and polite and you get the feeling that you are a welcome guest not a customer or a tourist .
Breakfast was just perfect and the muesli was the best I ever tasted .
We had dinner on the Saturday night and it was certainly not the sort of dinner you could ever hope to cook at home !! - It was a work of art and a joy to eat .
The highlight was the after dinner coffee and chocolates served in the drawing room - I could easily get used to living like that !!
Overwater Hall is not just a hotel , its is time travel to an age of elegance and sophistication one usulally only sees in the movies
Staying there is a truely wonderful experience and I cannot recommend it highly enough

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ElizaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2009

This is a charming hotel set somewhat remotely in the beautiful northern reaches of the Lake District. We enjoyed a wonderful one night break whilst travelling home from a holiday in Scotland. The rooms were very well appointed and the evening meals and breakfasts were superb. We booked two rooms for our family and our two robust rough collies were welcomed also. This is a privately run hotel and so we had no idea of what to expect when we booked. In the event, the experience exceeded every expectation. We have stayed in many hotels throughout the Lake District and the U.K. generally and this one ranks very highly indeed for us.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BuddyRedditch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews