We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful food, beautiful room, beautiful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Overwater Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Overwater Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ireby
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Beautiful food, beautiful room, beautiful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2009

We spent our Easter break at Overwater Hall. We booked one of the turret rooms (Room 6) which has an impressive four-poster bed. The room was very spacious and extremely comfortable. The hotel is situated in glorious countryside which we explored from the hotel (we didnt use the car at all during our stay) using the hotel,s book of suggested walks and the ordnance survey maps. The hotel gardens feature a board walk through the nearby woods where there is wildlife aplenty. We photographed red squirells and a roe deer during our stay. The food is excellent - beautifully cooked and presented and served with style. The menu is complemented by a good selection of wines with many available as half bottles and champagne served by the glass. Most of the other guests had been to the hotel before and I can understand why. We went to celebrate our Ruby wedding anniversary - this hotel is perfect for a romantic getaway.

Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank seamoon24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    474
    24
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
68
354
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bacchus Marsh
Level Contributor
81 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2009

Absolutely delightful place. Huge rooms with everything provided. So comfortable and delightful gardens to walk through. Food was top quality and more than plentiful. Only criticism is it is a dog friendly hotel and my partner is allergic to dog & cat hair, but otherwise faultless. highly recommend for a romantic weekend away or with kids - lots to do around here.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Readybluedragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2009

My Wife and I are very lucky to live only a short drive from this very special place. We first discovered Overwater 15 years ago, and stayed for a night just before our daughter was born. We fell in love with Overwater then, and we have returned regularly ever since. The hotel is, nestled in an unspoilt valley surrounded by the magnificent Lakeland fells.
Once there, you are welcomed into a tranquil world without traffic noise, street lights and mobile phones (no signal, blissful). The bedrooms are beautifully furnished, without being ostentatious, the refurbished bathrooms are fantastic. For the very brave, one room even has a resident ghost. (Book "room three" if you dare! )
Dinning at Overwater is a true experience, after being coxed away from the roaring log fire in the lounge; you sit down in the dinning room to a feast of local produce lovingly prepared by Head Chef and co- owner, Adrian. The food is to die for! The service is exemplary! The wine is superb. Forget all those self- important celebrity chefs and their fantastically expensive restaurants; this is how really good food should taste. Then it’s back to the lounge for coffee and handmade chocolates, to relax in front of the dying embers of the fire, before heading up the wide sweeping staircase for a wonderful nights sleep.
After waking to only the sound of the birds and the sheep in the fields (no traffic, remember!) It down the stairs again for breakfast with local bacon, sausage and real black pudding. Another treat!
Staying Overwater really is a magical and wonderful experience. Nothing is too much trouble for Adrian, Angela, Stephen and their dedicated staff. We go and stay every opportunity we get, and it never disappoints.
Overwater is everything a Lakeland Country House Hotel should be, and it really is as close to perfection as you'll ever find.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cumberland-lad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2009

Excellent service from dedicated owner managers. The rooms are comfortable and well equpped, the public rooms are equally comfortable and the dining is quite exceptional. This is not for travellers who feel that a gym, jacuzzi, health spa or beauty treatment is essential.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairn, Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2009

As always a great place to go to unwind. Our favourite hotel, nicely off the beaten track in great countryside, the food is always first class & the rooms comfortable & roomy. Bathroooms always clean & dog friendly as well.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheOESs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2009

We stayed for Valentines weekend and it was the very best weekend away we have ever had . The whole experience can only be described as magical . After a long drive we were greeted by a lovely gentleman who carried our luggage to our room .The room was beautiful with fresh flowers and fruit and a bathroom so big that you could get lost in it !! - and that was a standard room ! .All the staff are very helpful ,professional and polite and you get the feeling that you are a welcome guest not a customer or a tourist .
Breakfast was just perfect and the muesli was the best I ever tasted .
We had dinner on the Saturday night and it was certainly not the sort of dinner you could ever hope to cook at home !! - It was a work of art and a joy to eat .
The highlight was the after dinner coffee and chocolates served in the drawing room - I could easily get used to living like that !!
Overwater Hall is not just a hotel , its is time travel to an age of elegance and sophistication one usulally only sees in the movies
Staying there is a truely wonderful experience and I cannot recommend it highly enough

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElizaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2009

This is a charming hotel set somewhat remotely in the beautiful northern reaches of the Lake District. We enjoyed a wonderful one night break whilst travelling home from a holiday in Scotland. The rooms were very well appointed and the evening meals and breakfasts were superb. We booked two rooms for our family and our two robust rough collies were welcomed also. This is a privately run hotel and so we had no idea of what to expect when we booked. In the event, the experience exceeded every expectation. We have stayed in many hotels throughout the Lake District and the U.K. generally and this one ranks very highly indeed for us.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuddyRedditch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ireby
24.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
24.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
5.2 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
2.7 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
18.3 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overwater Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overwater Hall

Property: Overwater Hall
Address: Overwater, Ireby CA7 1HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ireby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ireby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Overwater Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Genuine Georgian English country house hotel, family owned and cared for. Set in 18 acres of formal gardens and woodland, and within a short drive of Keswick and the central lakes. Recently refurbished throughout, with modern en-suite bathrooms, free high speed wireless internet and sumptuous three star, two-rosette AA restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Overwater Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overwater Hall Hotel Bassenthwaite
Overwater Hall Ireby, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing