We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly wonderful stay from start to finish.”
Review of Overwater Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Overwater Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ireby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2010

As soon as we arrived at the hotel we felt relaxed. As a joint birthday celebration we were looking for something that was special and allowed us to indulge our love of walking with our dogs in the Lake District. The dogs settled in the hotel immediately. There was the added bonus of a boardwalk around the hotel and it's grounds so providing you had a torch there was somewhere to walk them last thing at night and first thing in the morning.
Our room was spotless and comfortable with a lovely view across the garden. We had a spacious bathroom with a separate shower and bath.
We stayed at the hotel for two nights and as food lovers we very much appreciated the change in menu each night. Both the dinners and breakfasts were both very good as was the service. Be aware that there is a dress code for the restaurant which is something my husband hadn't made me aware of when he booked (they have a no jeans policy), luckily I had packed some smart clothes.
The hotel gave you a feeling that you were staying somewhere that was special and being an independent hotel just made it feel a little more personal than some of the larger chains.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rigsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (563)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

499 - 505 of 563 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2009

Good food, great location, but above all, a hotel staff that knows what excellent customer service is. My partner and our two children were made very welcome and nothing was too difficult (including sending on all the things we managed to leave behind in the room!). This is a hotel to restore your faith in customer service in the UK.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Servicenut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

My wife and I spent a two-day break here and from beginning to end all aspects of our stay can only be described as excellent. The food was probably the best we have ever enjoyed even though we have travelled on several continents. We will definitely be returning.
Treaclemines

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank treaclemines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2009

All the good reviews have been written before, which I can only endorse.
but....

why is this Hotel classified in the B&B section of Trip Advisor?
This is unfairly categorising this Hotel alongside establishments that do not offer Lunch, Dinner, Bar etc...
If this was sitting in the 'Hotel' section, it would certainly be the Nos 1 in Keswick????

Highly Recommended if you like A quiet isolated hotel in beautiful countryside, Excellent Fine-Dining, Top-notch rooms, and attentive friendly service.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2009

A girl friend and I had a fabulous stay at Overwater Hall last weekend, so perfect in every way that I was moved to comment here. The beauty of the surroundings cannot be overemphasised; a stroll around the grounds leads one past sheep and horses to a small, silent lake. The absence of other tourists really distinguishes this enclave from Keswick (the closest substantial village, about 10 miles away) and transforms the weekend from a packaged getaway to a restorative retreat.

The owners of Overwater Hall have poured themselves into the property, and their effort shows in everything they do! The rooms are stunning (we asked to see some of the others, since we liked our so much), and the service is sincere and understated. We enjoyed hearing the history of the property, and the number of repeat visitors (as evidenced by the guest book) speaks to the quality of every aspect of the experience.

I hope to return soon-- it would be lovely to visit in the all of the seasons, just to see how the areas changes throughout the year!!!

And I wholeheartedly recommend Overwater Hall, without a single reservation! Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emily.rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2009

Arrived at Overwater Hall on the first day of seven in the Lake District.
We had our dog with us.
Overwater is an amazing hotel and the staff are extremely nice and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The hotel grounds are stunning. There is a board walk around the hotel which you can go on and acres of land to explore.
The food was of a very high quality and we were made to feel completely welcome at all times.
This hotel is properly dog friendly. Will definately visit again.
Raj

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raj052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2009

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights. We had a marvellous time. The staff were so friendly and helpful, the hotel is so quiet and peaceful and the food was to die for! The hotel is set in beautiful countryside only 8 miles from Keswick, it has 18 acres of woodland and fields around it and there are many good walks in the vicinity. The chef, Adrian, is brilliant and our only complaint was that we would have liked to have tried all the dishes on offer since they all sounded so tasty. We eat like kings and all the meals were excellent, with subtle combinations of tastes and textures. The room was very comfortable with a large divan and a luxury bathroom. The lounge was also very comfortable and it was good to escape from mobile phones, computers etc since there isn't any reception for mobiles and we didn't notice anybody using laptops etc. The staff were great and the owners, Angela, Adrian and Stephen were all extremely attentive to out needs. We had out little dog with us and the hotel allows dogs inside, apart from in the lounge so that was another bonus for her and us. There were plenty of other dogs around and they didn't appear to cause any problems. I wouldn't say that this hotel would be suitable for those people wanting a night life or for families but for those wanting a good rest with convivial company. It has the feel of a country estate from the 20's, which is exactly what it was. The catering is a cut above the usual country house, however. We will go back, without doubt.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pommiepreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ireby
24.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
24.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
23 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,770 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
510 reviews
18.3 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overwater Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overwater Hall

Address: Overwater, Ireby CA7 1HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ireby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ireby
Price Range: £149 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Overwater Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Genuine Georgian English country house hotel, family owned and cared for. Set in 18 acres of formal gardens and woodland, and within a short drive of Keswick and the central lakes. Recently refurbished throughout, with modern en-suite bathrooms, free high speed wireless internet and sumptuous three star, two-rosette AA restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Overwater Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overwater Hall Hotel Bassenthwaite
Overwater Hall Ireby, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing