We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply fantastic”
Review of Overwater Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Overwater Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ireby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2010

An awesome getaway for the city-dwellers. Lake district is a beautiful place and staying at Overwater Hall makes the trip a perfect one.
The staffs were already expecting us at the door when we arrived. We were showed immediately to our rooms, no administrative check-in procedures or waiting. We were also brought to see a few rooms and given the choice to decide which room we like! All rooms are furnished in their unique ways and splendid. Food served at the restaurant was excellent - very delicious and satisfying.
Service was also personalised and great. On our second night, we went back to the hotel late after watching a play at the Theatre by the Lake and the restaurant was already closed. We were planning to settle for some biscuits in our room and to our surprise, the phone rang and we were asked if we would like some omelettes from the kitchen. Thanks for filling our stomach with warm yummy omelettes on a cold hungry and late night!
We were totally embraced in serenity here. It was quiet, peaceful and every morning we wake up to the sounds of nature. The hotel also has a trail to explore the forest/ garden where we caught a glimpse of the red squirrels.
Overall, the hotel gave us an unforgettable and lovely experience - will strongly recommend anyone to stay here. You won't regret it! :)

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sleepwalker12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (557)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

485 - 491 of 557 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2010

We stopped at Overwater Hall for the first time for a weekend break as a belated celebration of our 25th wedding anniversary. The phrase "hidden gem" somes this place up, and unlike many hotels we have stopped at in the Lakes, it exceeded expectations on all counts. The owners have obviously invested a lot of TLC in this place and the food is of the very highest quality. This is definitely one place we will be planning to return to.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank warringtonclaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2010

I chose this hotel as a surprise birthday present as it appeared to fit the bill, and it did so in every way. To arrive back after a full days walking in the mountains to this hotel with its deep baths, thick towels and robes and then wander down to sit in soft sofas with our dogs welcome to join us made us think we had stepped back in time. However it also comes with all modern conveniences as well. The food is modern, generous and really well cooked and presented. It hits the spot every time. A superb chef using great local ingredients.
If you are looking for an hotel away from the crowds then this hits the spot. For some this may be too far away from the action of the central lakes, but for us this was all part of the attraction.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oaklandvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

If you want to have some time as a couple to relax in lovely surroundings both inside and out yet feel at home with excellant food at very civil meal times, friendly staff who never intrude on your time but are always on hand to help, this is the place for you. It is was worth every penny.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redheadwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2010

My Husband & I visited the hotel for our Wedding Anniversary. The hotel, rooms, staff and food was wonderful. We will certainley return next year. The food was the best I've tasted in a long time.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tockholeswedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2010

We live only a few miles away and had never heard of the place until recently. We had dinner there and were very impressed. The food, as many have said, is first rate and the staff are helpful and charming. We could not fault it and will return soon.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidgriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2010

Stayed on 9th 10th April, we were met on the door step by the owners and from that moment nothing was to much trouble.The Hotel throughout is very 'oldie worldie' if you know what i mean, room 8 was our room,it' s very large and very clean and very comfortable, large bathroom (with a bath for two).
Dinner was excellent the 'smart / casual dress code in my opinion was well justified it makes the whole eating experience alot more enjoyable, breakfast not your usual Hilton or Marriot self service and it was lovely.
Set in it's own grounds it is a perfect getaway not noise or hussle and bussle very relaxed and peaceful, it is exactly as described only better......
To the guests who were really over the top trying to make an impression (and there was a few) take the plum out and relax and you will find life a lot easier.!!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m1jsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ireby
24.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
24.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
18.3 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
2.7 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,702 reviews
17 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overwater Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overwater Hall

Address: Overwater, Ireby CA7 1HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ireby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ireby
Price Range: £133 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Overwater Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Genuine Georgian English country house hotel, family owned and cared for. Set in 18 acres of formal gardens and woodland, and within a short drive of Keswick and the central lakes. Recently refurbished throughout, with modern en-suite bathrooms, free high speed wireless internet and sumptuous three star, two-rosette AA restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Overwater Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overwater Hall Hotel Bassenthwaite
Overwater Hall Ireby, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing