We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth its rating” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Overwater Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Overwater Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ireby
Certificate of Excellence
cheshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth its rating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2010

Have just returned from 1 night stay at this hotel. It is worth its 1st place rating on trip advisor. Stephen, one of the owners greeted us on arrival and as my wife said, it was liking coming to stay with a friend. Hotel in excellent condition, room lovely, food superb, service as good as you wil get anywhere. Just a perfect place to stay for quiet break. Will certainly be going back again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abr08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    467
    24
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
68
350
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2010

From the moment you walk through the door you feel very much at home. Bedroom was beautiful and very large as was the bathroom, only slight downside was our room (8) was above the kitchen and you could hear some noise at certain times of the day. We looked in at some of the other rooms but felt ours was by far the best, pity about the sound though. The food was excellent at both breakfast and dinner as was the service. The Lounge was very comfortable with a coal fire. We have found a hotel that we will certainly want to visit again and again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank evelynKilmarnock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

Amazing experience. Amazing.

The staff and FOOD were on a different planet.

Seriously, even if you don't stay here - you must eat here. Arrive as early as possible to make the most of it. Sadly, short of returning, I don't think we will ever experience anything like this.

Once again, amazing.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aragorn101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2010

Myself and my husband visited Overwater Hall in June for our 5th Wedding Anniversary. We wanted to get away from the city and were very pleased with our choice.

From the moment we arrived, we were greeted by one of the owners in the carpark who showed us to our room, which was spacious and comfortable. The staff were very attentive, without experiencing any feeling of intrusion. This was something which both myself and my husband commented on quite alot during our weekend stay, since it can be rare to find a place where such a personal service is received without sacrificing guests' privacy and wish for peace.

The unique selling point for this hotel has to be the food. We had booked only a bed and breakfast deal, however ended up dining in the hotel both nights. For £40 per person per night, dinner (which, including canapés and coffee, equates to a 6 course meal) is an absolute treat! The food is gorgeous, all made with top end ingredients. We were however a little disappointed that some of the menu choices that were available on the Friday night appeared again on Saturday - This however did not stop us finding dishes that we thoroughly enjoyed both nights.

The setting of this hotel is beautiful. It is off the beaten track but this was part of the appeal for us. We spent our two days enjoying drinks in the hotel gardens (we were lucky to get two very sunny days in June) and walking in the nearby hills. Both evenings were spent indulging in the restaurant followed by some relaxation in the hotel drawing room with a set of dominos.

This hotel was not cheap but in our minds worth every penny. I would recommend a stay at Overwater Hall if you want nothing more than peace and tranquillity with a touch of sheer indulgence. A great place to spend a quiet weekend with a loved one for a special occasion.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reidzer80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

From the second we stepped foot in the hotel we were treated like royalty... the most beautiful surroundings and amazing decor within the hotel! we stayed in the garden room which also had a jacuzzi bath! we were greated with lovely treats on entering the room. The meal and canaped were out of this world.. i have never tasted food like it! and the fact your dog could stay with you in the hotel was an added bonus. A rare gem of a hotel!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hannah_622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2010

We stayed here with our children and my parents-in-law. The location is beautiful, and so peaceful - as you would imagine, lakes, hills, streams and additionally red squirrels. The rooms we were given at the front were very spacious and comfortable, with huge bathrooms, and although the back rooms are a little smaller, they are still generous. Equally generous was the food, although the size of the portions did defeat us from time to time. The owners and staff could not have been more friendly and accommodating, especially as regards provding milk and preparing meals for our baby daughter.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rog2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
108 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2010

Visited for dinner for a special occasion with family, we all had a wonderful meal, service was attentive without being fussy, food was varied and of good quality, portion sizes were good. Enjoyed every minute of the meal. Have been once before and the food has improved, it was good the previous time, better this time.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cumbrialife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ireby
24.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
24.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
5.2 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
2.7 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,551 reviews
18.2 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overwater Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overwater Hall

Property: Overwater Hall
Address: Overwater, Ireby CA7 1HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ireby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ireby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Overwater Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Genuine Georgian English country house hotel, family owned and cared for. Set in 18 acres of formal gardens and woodland, and within a short drive of Keswick and the central lakes. Recently refurbished throughout, with modern en-suite bathrooms, free high speed wireless internet and sumptuous three star, two-rosette AA restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, SpeedyBooker.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Overwater Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overwater Hall Hotel Bassenthwaite
Overwater Hall Ireby, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing