We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£230
Breakfast included
Expedia.com
£230
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
£230
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (681)
Filter reviews
681 results
Traveller rating
638
30
9
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
638
30
9
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake district this wonderful hotel afternoon tea wine list fresh fruit open fire little touches feel very welcome stephen overwater dogs shortbread walks buzzards break keswick
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 681 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2023 via mobile

How do they keep improving time after time from the friendly welcome to the amazing hospitality and lavish dinners. Overwater Hall is truly the pinnacle of Small Hotel’s in the Lake District. After cancelling a trip abroad due to unforeseen circumstances Overwater Hall was out number one choice when deciding on a new location - and even the pending storm couldn’t ruin what was another fantastic few days - Thank-you Team Overwater.

Room tip: Loose some weight before you arrive, the stunning local produced food by Adriana and his team are worthy of a few Michelin Stars!
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank RobinHoodHinckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 21 October 2023

A big thank you for your 5 Star review, and for choosing us over so many hotels in the Lake District. Who wants to go to Venice, anyway?!
Look forward to seeing you again in February.
With best wishes
Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2023 via mobile

It was purely by chance that we found this gem of a hotel surrounded by glorious countryside lovely gardens and dog walks. A great welcome from all tha hotel team as we were shown a very spacious well furnished bedroom. A nice coctail in the bar while choosing from an interesting and varied menu. This is a great stop off on the way to Scotland and dogs are also made very welcome.

We look forward to returning.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 12 September 2023

Many thanks for stopping off with us on your way to Scotland, and for your lovely review. We are delighted that you - and your dog! - enjoyed your brief stay with us, and perhaps we will see you again on your way south!
With best wishes
Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2023

This was our third stay in this lovely traditional country house hotel.
Lovely friendly people.
Comfortable old style traditional room.
Amazing dinner.
Superb breakfast.
So sorry that this will soon come to an end when the owners retire.

Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Tahiti_Green
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 8 September 2023

Thank you for bringing smiles to our faces with your lovely review!
Don't forget: we haven't gone yet! Hope to see you again soon.
With best wishes
Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2023 via mobile

Our fourth visit to this wonderful hotel. We decided to treat ourselves to celebrate our wedding anniversary and what a treat it was! Service is consistently excellent and all the staff are both friendly and approachable creating a lovely relaxed atmosphere.
The food has always been first class but this time it was on another level. The presentation and flavour combinations on my starter and main were exceptional and unforgettable. I only hope we can return again before the end of the year!

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank dellredmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 8 September 2023

We hope so, too!
Many thanks for all of your visits, and for your 5 Star review!
With best wishes
Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2023 via mobile

I found this Hotel by browsing the Internet, everything about this place was excellent from the staff , food the bedrooms very clean , nothing was too much trouble for the Staff. From Kat to Steve & Angela.
I would highly recommend this Hotel surrounded in its own gardens excellent place to stay if its peace and quiet you need to take away your negatively.
We will be back.

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank richardbP2494OS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 8 September 2023

And we look forward to seeing you again!
Many thanks for taking the trouble to write this lovely review: we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit.
With kind regards
Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews