We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well deserved of it's reputation.”
Review of Overwater Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Overwater Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ireby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 February 2011

We only went for lunch just to check out for ourselves whether we would like to stay there for my birthday treat. From the lovely Luke, greeting us at the front door and ending with him showing us some of the bedrooms, it was a resounding YES.
The food was superb with great attention to presentation. The tables were beautifully laid and the drawing room a wonderful place to relax. I can't wait for my birthday!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fran22ww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

448 - 454 of 546 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2011

We had a 2-night mid January stay. Stunning location - off the beaten track (and they're absolutely right about Sat Navs not showing the place!) - and in tranquil surroundings. Accommodation - room 6 - was spotless and comfortable. Food and wine delicious!

What makes this place special are the little extras you just don't see very often, if at all... for example, being met at the front door upon arrival, a real fire in the lounge, fresh milk in a flask and homemade shortbread carefully wrapped in greaseproof paper sitting with the in-room tea and coffee service; complimentary home-produced liqueur in cute decanter, again in the room; a complimentary glass of bucks fizz with breakfast one morning; beautiful little canapes and petits fours before and after the evening meal respectively... I could go on but I think you get the picture! The team are very friendly and professional, nothing is too much trouble.

To help you get through the indulgence there are wonderful walks all around the area and the hotel has a good supply of maps and ideas of where to go - great to burn off some of those calories!

We'll definitely return at some point very soon; I'd love to see the place in mid-summer when the nights don't draw in so soon.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gingerbirdie71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2011

Warm welcome without any fuss so felt at home immediately.
All meals were excellent. Service attentive but unobtrusive.
Hotel was warm and comfortable. Plenty of space giving the feeling of freedom.
Interesting house which has not suffered from being converted into a hotel.
Red squirrels, nuthatch great spotted woodpecker all seen from bedroom window.
Sense of being away from it all and grounds to stroll about in.

Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank rambler070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

We had a wonderful 5 day stay at the hotel. The service was outstanding and without fuss. The meals were delicious and beautifully presented. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DotStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

Having got used to going away for Christmas to another Lake District hotel we decided this year it was time for a change and chose Overwater Hall. Can't express how pleased we were with our choice, it was simply amazing from beginning to end.
Stephen, Adrian and Angela, the owners, are very much hands on, with great effect. Stephen, at front of house, is so welcoming and his calm and efficient manner is reflected by the other members of staff. It only takes minutes for the calming effect to filter through to the guests!
Angela's team of housekeeping staff do an incredible job, everywhere is spotless and you almost need sunglasses for the gleaming bathrooms! I must also mention the size of the bedrooms, we had a superior room which was vast, but even the junior rooms are tardis like and bathrooms are massive, some hotels I've stayed in would fit a bedroom and en-suite into one of Overwater's bathrooms! Thoughtful touches prevail in the bedrooms, fresh milk on the tea-tray, a decanter of Adrian's homemade fruit liqueur, fresh fruit and even a little Christmas tree to put our presents around. Dogs too, are very welcome, Santa visited on Christmas morning and left presents for us all, even a selection of dog treats beautifully wrapped in a bow for our dog.
Adrian is the master in the kitchen and the food that he and his team creates is truly fantastic. We have stayed at a couple of places with Michelin stars and Adrian's food easily matches and even surpasses them, surely it's only a matter of time..... Must just mention that we were treated to a gala dinner as part of our stay, 9 courses and complimentary wines, with a string quartet softly playing in the background. Words can't do the experience justice but suffice to say, it was amazing.
If you need a relaxing, homely break with fabulous rooms and sublime food look no further.
Overwater Hall truly deserves the accolades received during 2010 and we hope 2011 brings them all the success they truly deserve.
Where's my diary.........

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janpal24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2010

Getting to Overwater Hall through the appalling weather was a task but in the end well worth it. We arrived a day late but were warmly welcomed and that welcome lasted the full three days we were at Overwater. We were well looked after and our dogs were too. An excellent pre-Christmas break!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qlane5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2010

We have just come back from staying at the most amazing hotel. Words cannot express just how much we enjoyed our stay. The staff were so friendly, helpful and polite and what was the biggest bonus for us was the fact that we were able to take our two dogs and that they were genuinely welcomed and treated like one of the guests! We have always struggled to find places that really do like dogs and this place was brilliant and we are definitely going again. The hotel was so clean and tidy, the rooms were second to none, the walks were incredible and the food was just something else. It was fine food but unlike other fine dining restaurants, you had the quantity as well as the quality - just totally amazing. I honestly and totally would defy anyone to say a bad word at all about this hotel and why I wanted to write a review as soon as we got home. I am already looking in the diary to plan our next trip.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PollyJordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ireby
24.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
24.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
2.7 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
9.9 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,152 reviews
23.0 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overwater Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overwater Hall

Address: Overwater, Ireby CA7 1HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ireby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ireby
Price Range: £140 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Overwater Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Genuine Georgian English country house hotel, family owned and cared for. Set in 18 acres of formal gardens and woodland, and within a short drive of Keswick and the central lakes. Recently refurbished throughout, with modern en-suite bathrooms, free high speed wireless internet and sumptuous three star, two-rosette AA restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Overwater Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overwater Hall Hotel Bassenthwaite
Overwater Hall Ireby, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing