We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top quality food in beautiful surroundings”
Review of Overwater Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Overwater Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ireby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2011

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights for our wedding anniversary. Overwater Hall is a very comfortable hotel, nicely furnished to a high standard, with modern amenities. The food was top quality and very good value as well (one can pay a lot more for worse in my experience). Service was both charming and efficient, with the hosts and the rest of the staff being very approachable but not over-bearing. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulT1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

442 - 448 of 546 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2011

Due to family commitment we only went for food but...fantastic. Enjoyed every moment of the evening - from the warm welcome with pre dinner drinks in the lounge, exciting and interesting menu choices, attentive staff, lovely food and coffee in the bar - left wondering when we would visit again! Thanks to all at Overwater!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank horners77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

We first discovered this hotel by chance in 2008 and, after our first stay, we made a promise to return every year. We have just been again and our stay was truly wonderful - yet again.
We can't recommend this hotel highly enough. The owners, Angela, Aidrian and Stephen, look after you so well and the other staff follow their lead. The rooms are beautiful and you are provided with fresh flowers, fruit, home made shortbread and 'proper' milk for your tea and coffee. But best of all is the food. Do not miss it!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank northants09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

Reurned home yesterday after spending Valentines at Overwater. I booked it as a surprise for my husband and I think his txt sent to me this morning after returnig to work sums it up " Thanks again for a great weekend, hotel, food, location, walks and the company wasn't too bad either ! - top quality. ( I'm hopeing he meant me because we also took our two dogs ).

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PickeringsLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2011

We have been staying for a 'good food' weekend break with friends, in the Lakes, for nearly 20 years.

Without doubt Overwater Hall is the best place that we havbe stayed. Comfortable rooms with excellent food and an absolutely first class service from all of the staff.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2011

My husband & I enjoyed a weekend break in this wonderful hotel. The staff were attentive and made us feel very welcome, everything was faultless. The food was divine. We stayed in one of the turret bedrooms (room 6) with glorious views and a fab four poster bed. Lovely selection of teas and coffees, along with homemade shortcake, in the bedroom & just what we needed after a lovely afternoon out. We saw a deer in the wood at the side of the house. All in all we had a superb weekend, and have taken home some lovely memories.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CathyBWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2011

We only went for lunch just to check out for ourselves whether we would like to stay there for my birthday treat. From the lovely Luke, greeting us at the front door and ending with him showing us some of the bedrooms, it was a resounding YES.
The food was superb with great attention to presentation. The tables were beautifully laid and the drawing room a wonderful place to relax. I can't wait for my birthday!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fran22ww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ireby
24.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
24.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
2.7 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
9.9 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,150 reviews
23.0 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overwater Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overwater Hall

Address: Overwater, Ireby CA7 1HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ireby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ireby
Price Range: £139 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Overwater Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Genuine Georgian English country house hotel, family owned and cared for. Set in 18 acres of formal gardens and woodland, and within a short drive of Keswick and the central lakes. Recently refurbished throughout, with modern en-suite bathrooms, free high speed wireless internet and sumptuous three star, two-rosette AA restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Overwater Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overwater Hall Hotel Bassenthwaite
Overwater Hall Ireby, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing