We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Evening meal”
Review of Wheatsheaf Inn

Wheatsheaf Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Lorton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Evening meal”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Warm relaxed welcome, excellent choice of local real ales, busy homely pub, massive portions, meat combo almost stalled me, well worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank Mottylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    79
    22
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
508 reviews
325 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“Tasty & hearty food!”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

A very traditional village pub, with friendly staff. Great tasty & hearty food is served, along with a number of Jennings real ales. Something you don't see very often is the small shop inside the front door of the pub, staffed by the landlord in-between pulling pints!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JerseyBoy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An oasis”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Called in after a brisk walk on the Lorton Fells, arriving about 20 mins from end of lunch service. Friendly, patient and attentive landlord who didn't rush us and kept asking if we were OK. Food very good and cask ale in good fettle. Enjoyable overall experience, which we will repeat soon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarleton
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fast efficient traditional pub”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We had an evening meal here on the 4th of May .It was busy but we were well looked after.All the food was above average pub fayre neatly presented with lots of fresh seasonal vegetables.A decent cloice of wines and local Ales. Good friendly atmosphere and seems to get return customers.Glad we booked

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris4julia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Want a nice dinner?”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Dropped in to the place on recommendation and wasn't disappointed. Managed to get a table in the midst of lots of reservations. Food was really good with a nice selection of ales. Staff were very friendly and the pub was very clean with interesting local photo's on the walls. Very convenient, central, for ramblers. Car park at rear. We would have no hesitation in going back there.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wheatsheaf Inn also viewed

Loweswater, Cumbria
Embleton, Cockermouth
 
Keswick, Lake District
Buttermere, Lake District
 

Been to Wheatsheaf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing