We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class accommodation and service”
Review of New House Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lorton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
New House Farm
Ranked #1 of 4 Lorton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“First Class accommodation and service”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Visited as part of a Wowcher deal. The attraction was the five star rating and we were not disappointed. We stayed in the Dairy Farm, the beds were made up whilst we were having breakfast! Lovely ambience and setting with great views. The hot tub was a nice treat, my husband and I braved the darkening skies and enjoyed this unexpected pleasure.

Room Tip: The Dairy Farm was lovely, didn't see any of the other rooms though am sure they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    556
    28
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
81
393
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

The owner Hazel is probably the most welcoming person ever! We turned up after 1030 in the evening after a very long day on the fells, and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was just perfect and the jacuzzi bath made my day. We'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laxeygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

A delightful location in a sheltered valley close to all the lakes has to offer. Personable, friendly service with a tasty breakfast.
We stayed in The Stables - a room separate to the main house, between the stables cafe and the house. The room was very nicely decorated including a lovely carved wooden four poster bed (not overly comfortable though!). Unfortunately the two windows look out onto the cafe patio area so if you want privacy you have to close the curtains, other guests and staff walk right past both windows on a regular basis - so if you want seclusion this room is not for you. The ensuite had a generous bath but no separate shower - sorry but washing your hair with the bath tap shower head is a real pain! I am not sure what facilities the other rooms have but a quick shower in the morning before we left was not an option.
And lastly - during breakfast ; our room was cleaned, and the bed changed ready for the next guests BEFORE we had checked out! We returned to our room to find our personal things had been moved to allow the room to be prepared for the next guests. This was disappointing and a first for us!
In summary I would recommend this hotel as the host was lovely, food great, decor very nice but please bear in mind my comments regarding the room above. This is a lovely B&B but not a boutique hotel.

Room Tip: please see my comments regarding the 'Stables' room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ladyinthelakes, Owner at New House Farm, responded to this review, 20 April 2015
Thank you for your Trip Advisor report and I am delighted that in the main you enjoyed your stay. We do have a room with a double power shower and body jets and I think this would have been more suited to you if you had mentioned your preferences on booking. All of our beds are renewed every 2 years and therefore I am surprised that you did not find yours comfortable as I have never had that comment before. Indeed everyone comments about the wonderful nights sleep they get here ( see other reports). I apologise for the cleaning staff going into your room as this seems to have upset you. We usually go and make all the beds during breakfast so that our guests have a tidy room to return to . We get a HUGE amount of compliments about this service, but on this occasion it seems to have offended you. I will look into getting a "do not disturb "set of signs to hang on the door so that no one else is offended in the future.
I am not sure what a "boutique hotel" is but we do not strive to advertise ourselves as one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at New House Farm for 2 nights, and very much enjoyed our visit.

The welcome was polite, and we enjoyed our cream tea that was included with the room price. Tasty scones & a decent cuppa were much appreciated!

The room was lovely, with a huge bed & spacious en-suite. Breakfast was very enjoyable, and the location is beautiful.

The staff were all friendly, cheerful, and attentive.

I would highly recommend New House Farm, and we will certainly be staying here again if we're holidaying in this area.

Room Tip: 'The Stables' room was lovely & is recommended, though we didn't see the other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidMc0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We visited New House Farm on an amazing Groupon deal which included one night's stay and breakfast next morning.

We have quite busy lives and a young family and have been looking forward to this visit very much and it didn't let us down.

The location is beautiful and the rooms are something else. We stayed in The Old Dairy and it was like sleeping in an 18th Century Scottish castle - I loved it! It had a massive 4 poster bed, exposed brickwork and beams. The bed was really comfortable and the room was very large. The bathroom was stunning with a standalone slipper bath and wood flooring. It felt like 5 star luxury. There are no TVs which was fine with us but we found the radio in the room a little tempremental so did miss having a little background noise. Not much of an issue at all really as it was only in the evening that we were in our room. The room is not as private as some of the others in the main house and looks out onto the courtyard so we kept the chiffon curtains closed but again - this place is so fantastic it makes no difference.

It was my first experience in a hot tub here and I loved it! The hot tub is available 24 hours a day so if you fancy a romantic moonlit dip you can go for it. The views were just stunning and sitting, sipping a drink whilst looking out across the fells was just magical.

Hazel herself is everything a guest house owner should be, pleasant, attentive but unobtrusive. Nothing was too much trouble and you could see that she really loved her business and what she did.

Breakfast next day was hearty, tasty and filling and really set us up for the journey home.

In all we absolutely adored our stay. It was exactly what we needed and we came home feeling totally relaxed - thank you so much Hazel!

**We recently stayed at a larger 'luxury' hotel in the Lakes which was double the price of this and that was with a 50% off deal. It was horrendous. Save your money and come to New House Farm it has all you could possibly need in house and the surrounding area is simply stunning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We had a wonderful stay here. Our family booked 3 rooms and Hazel put us all together on the same floor. The rooms are beautiful and each one had something special about it, whether it be a power shower, a Jacuzzi bath or a roll top bath, all were amazing.
The hot tub was good fun, especially on a warm summers evening, and the surrounding views incredible.
Hazel couldn't do enough for us and on our last evening cooked us all a fantastic meal.

The location was perfect for the area we were walking and The Kirkstile Inn is well worth a visit. Great staff and lovely food.

All in all, a great place to stay.

Room Tip: The Swinside room is the only one with a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shauna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Neots, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I fully recommend this bed and breakfast. I stayed recently with my girlfriend, there was an initial issue with the booking (totally my fault) and it meant we could only stay for the one night rather than two...the owner, Hazel, really made up for it and made sure that we had the best time during our stay. All the staff are so friendly and accommodating and we had an amazing lunch and cream tea later on in the afternoon. Really well located with beautiful surroundings and there are some nice pubs nearby too. Couldn't rate this high enough...a real gem in the lake district.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lorton
6.1 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,638 reviews
8.6 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
536 reviews
7.4 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
469 reviews
20.0 mi away
Briery Wood Country House Hotel
5.9 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New House Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New House Farm

Property: New House Farm
Address: | Lake District National Park, Lorton CA13 9UU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Lorton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Lorton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the Lorton Valley this 17th-century former Farmhouse offers deluxe accommodation, hearty food and stunning views from every window. Polished antique furniture in every room together with the original exposed beams and flagged floors transport you back in time. Each bedroom is spacious and en-suite with luxurious beds, including two with hand carved oak Four Posters, roll top baths or double jacuzzi baths. The hot tub in the garden beckons at the end of a long days walk. Why not end the day with a bottle of champagne gazing at the stars - many do! We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
New House Farm Lorton, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing