We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Friendly Bear”

The Bear On The Square
Ranked #4 of 16 Restaurants in Millom
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Small pub serving breakfasts, Panini's, tea, coffee and cakes, Bar Meals, Real Ales, Real Ciders, a good selection of bottled craft beer and speciality spirits. We are also child friendly and have regular live music.
Millom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Friendly Bear”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Guest beers are always available, along with excellent food and efficient restaurant staff, this is a great little Gastro Pub, the bar staff are brilliant, knowledgeable and ultra friendly.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank malantone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam C, Guest Relations Manager at The Bear On The Square, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
We're really pleased you enjoyed our service, thank you very much and hopefully see you again soon.

Thanks,

Adam C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    38
    8
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Always a great welcome with lovely people, the burgers are awesome, best burger I've had and it's not just beef, a choice of lamb or pork too. And great prices, will defiantly eat here again and again..

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam C, Guest Relations Manager at The Bear On The Square, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
It's lovely to read another positive review, it makes all the hard work worthwhile. Hopefully we will see you again sometime.

Thanks,

Adam C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best Ale around”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We always get a very warm welcome here. The first time we went for lunch I was pleasantly suprised at the quality of the food, we didn't have too long to wait either. The real ale is second to none and the staff are amazingly helpful, I was offered a taste of a couple to help me decide.
We will definitely be going back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AuntieAnnie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam C, Guest Relations Manager at The Bear On The Square, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
We very much appreciate the fabulous review and were really pleased you enjoyed your visit.

Thanks,

Adam C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“An Absolute Gem!”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Superb quality food with generous helpings at very reasonable prices. A true 'Real Ale' pub too. A great range of ales to suit all tastes. Good session beers along with stronger ales. Bar staff are knowledgeable and helpful, offering you the opportunity to 'try before you buy'.
This is a 'gem' of a place!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam C, Guest Relations Manager at The Bear On The Square, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you so much for the kind words, they're very much appreciated by all involved. Glad you liked the Real Ales too.

Thanks,

Adam C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice food, one mistake!”
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of our food. The burgers were really good. We had booked a table for thirteen people and the service was going well until our youngest got told her meal had been missed. A slight mistake but the general opinion was a thumbs up.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank dap73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam C, Public Relations Manager at The Bear On The Square, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Hi,

Many thanks for your kind comments about your experience at The Bear. We are really sorry that your child's meal was missed from the original order and whilst we strive to get it right 100% of the time, occasionally mistakes do happen. Other than that it seems that you enjoyed your meals so hopefully we will see you again sometime in the future.

Many thanks,

Adam C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bear On The Square also viewed

 
Millom, Lake District
Millom, Lake District
 

Been to The Bear On The Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing