We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning Property - Amazing Views”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
4 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Newby Bridge, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
longychop...
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning Property - Amazing Views”
Reviewed 22 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Have just completed a 3 night mini-break in Oak Cottage, and we are already planning our next trip!

The quality of all finishes and attention to detail are second to none!

The kitchen is beautiful, all bedrooms are a generous size, and nothing in this cottage disappoints.

Although a Private Hot Tub is available, we unfortunately never got round to trying this out. (Next Time!)

The views around the estate are truly a joy. I could go on and on.....

An unexpected welcoming basket containing eggs,fresh bread,jam and biscuits, underlines the management here were prepared to go the extra mile to ensure we enjoyed our stay. (Oh, and not forgetting the Prosecco!)

The onsite Manager, Lynsey, was most helpful and very welcoming.

Can not wait to return, and would highly recommend!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulieG19...
Chorley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful place but terrible experience”
Reviewed 8 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Following our arrival on Friday 02 March 2018 we realised that the hot tub had only just been turned on and so was not warm enough until the following day. This ended up being the least of our problems. Later on the Friday evening we experienced 4 power cuts resulting in us being sat in darkness on and off for over 2 hours. Following the power cut we were then without heating for our entire stay with only a wood burner and one electric heater to keep the whole place warm. The on site management only proved wood for the fire and offered no further help or assistance. Resulting families slept on air beds in the living room as this was the only place warm enough to sleep as the wood burner gave out Good heat. We complained to Sykes Cottages on a number of occasions but didn’t receive contact back until Monday 05th March. Terrible on both parts. Following our arrival Home, we then received further contact from Sykes saying the owners of Bigland Hall Cottage denied that we were without heating! This was completely shocking and we are now in a position where it’s our word against theirs.
Oak Cottage is beautiful but absolutey ruined by its on site management. Would never return and feel very disappointed as the weekend was dampened by this and the way it was managed. Not a good experience. Would avoid Bigland Hall and also Sykes cottages for that matter.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2018
Thank you for your comments. I can see you have already been in contact with management regarding your experience.

We are aware there was a power cut across the site, which was rectified within 40 minutes of it occurring. Due to the adverse weather conditions, the owner provided extra logs and heaters, on top of the underfloor heating and radiators to combat the freezing cold temperatures outside.
The site were not informed of any issues with heating in the property, once the power cut had been resolved, despite being in contact with the site managers on multiple occasions.
As previously discussed, the hot tub took a little longer to heat up than usual due to frozen pipes.
We are sorry to hear you feel disappointed in the service received, however we do feel we tried to assist you in relocating the 10 party members that over-occupied the property by providing alternative properties.
Due to the delay in contacting you regarding your complaint, a gesture was offered and accepted by yourself.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing