We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Missing bathroom”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of Low Mill Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of Low Mill Cottage
Enjoy relaxing in the lovely patio garden Lounge with slate flooring, wood-burner and french doors opening onto patio
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
31 reviews
Front of Low Mill Cottage
Enjoy relaxing in the lovely patio garden
Lounge with slate flooring, wood-burner and french doors opening onto patio
Woodburner makes it a very warm cosy cottage
Dining area in the comfortable lounge
Well equipped kitchen
Front of Low Mill Cottage
Low Mill Cottage
Spacious bedroom with King size bed
Lovely sunny double bedroom
Single bedroom
Luxury bathroom
Luxury Bathroom
Enjoy meals al-fresco
Delightful sunny patio garden
High Dam in Autumn
High Dam a delightful walk from the cottage door
View of Grasmere from Helm Crag
High Dam beautiful walk from the cottage door
View from Gummers Howe Lake Windermere towards Lakeside
Delightful double bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Newby Bridge, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sueadowne...
Reigate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“bathroom 2 ???”
Reviewed 14 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We recently stayed with friends at Low Mill and overall found the cottage to be reasonably clean, cozy and well equipped. However one issue did spoil our stay. The cottage is advertised as having two bathrooms. This statement is at best misleading because the cottage has one bathroom and a small windowless understairs cloakroom. My husband has side effects following cancer treatment and our friends booked the cottage taking into account our request for our own bathroom. This was so that he could have private facilities. He needed a relaxing break and this issue did effect his enjoyment of the holiday. I do think the cottage details should be reviewed to show one bathroom and a downstairs cloakroom. after a search on your site I have found that other similar cottages do not classify a cloakroom (toilet and small wash basin) as a bathroom.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location of the cottage
Liked least: lack of advertised second bathroom
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie r
1 review
“Missing bathroom”
Reviewed 13 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I agree with toilet humour as it was written by my husband
If we had booked for one bathroom would of been fine but we had booked expecting two
We did have fun looking for the missing one !!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeithandD...
Charlwood, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Toilet Humour”
Reviewed 9 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed at the cottage for four nights early June.We booked this with friends and were happy to see it was advertised as two bathrooms.When we arrived we could only find one bathroom on the first floor and a small loo under the stairs.
Knowing our friends pretty well we weren't too worried,only to find the downstairs wc with no window also had a fan that did not work.
There was the odd joke or comment throughout our stay,but all taken in good heart.
Apart from that the cottage was really nice ,plenty of heat and hot water,kitchen well fitted out and a great position to explore the Lakes without bumping in to too many tourists.The cottage itself is in a block of three or four with no real garden to speak of,although seating outside was ample and not overlooked.
Warning signs on gates were not too welcoming,Dont walk your dog,this is not a childrens playground,keep out.etc,but apart from that all very nice.bit of a pain having to open and shut the gate,especially when it's raining,not sure why because there was a gap that you could walk through right next to it,so it wouldn't have kept children or animals in.Knitpicking I know,as we didn't have kids or dogs!
Unfortunately The Swan at Newby Bridge had drainage problems also with overflowing waste running into the car park from Cess pit/Tank,hence the title of this piece!
Would we stay here again,yes definitely ,but will take an air freshner or two

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: location
Liked least: bad advertising
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2016
The cottage amenities show that Low Mill Cottage has one family bathroom and one downstairs W.C. It also mentions this in the description.
If you had wanted to keep young children or pets safe in the rear garden, then we had a gate in the upstairs cupboard to use.
The signage to the field is due to the fact that the farmer keeps sheep in the field, and does not want them to get out onto the road. If extra parking had been needed then the farmer is more than happy for guests to park their cars in the field.

We have had Low Mill Cottage as a holiday let for 9 years now.
We take great care looking after the cottage and maintaining it. It's a shame that the first thing we knew about the extractor fan, was in a review that automatically goes on-line.
Kathryn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebekah S
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
1 review
“Idyllic.. A really charming cottage you won't be disappointed!”
Reviewed 4 February 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We booked the cottage last minute and spent Christmas there..we arrived Christmas Eve and the owners had lit up the tree outside and there were tasteful decorations in the cottage..we were really touched. It just felt like home..cosy warm.
The owners had left a fantastic folder on how to use the amnesties in the cottage... Heating boiler etc..tons of information on local walks and tourist attractions..
Beds were comfy,great shower.. I even cooked a turkey in the oven so the kitchen is really established and easy to use.. Huge fridge and freezer.. Easy to use TV and DVD player. We had great fun with the log burner! Lovely big couches too.
We really can't fault the cottage.. Only downside which isn't anyone's fault that phone signal is horrendous but maybe that's not a bad thing..?! I got to play monopoly with our teenage son and have conversations! We walked up the lane when we got there to get some fresh air and our seven year old said when can we go home.. I think that sums the cottage up it felt like home. It's a gem! We had a slight problem with the boiler and spoke to the owners on the phone, even though they were flooded themselves.. They were incredibly helpful and kind. We are looking forward to going back in the summer.. If we can get booked in!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No internet
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2016
Thanks for your wonderful review and sounds like you had a fabulous Christmas!
Hope you will be back soon!
Kathryn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
expeditio...
Berkshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Peaceful, restful, idyllic, well equipped, this cottage has it all.”
Reviewed 10 September 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Peaceful, restful, idyllic, well equipped, this cottage has it all. We stayed here for a week long break in May. The cottage is beautifully appointed and exceptionally well decorated. You can tell the owners take real pride and care in this place, it really shows. A glance through the comments book makes interesting reading and any minor quibble anyone has experienced in the past has been ironed out totally. As a result your stay will be comfortable and trouble free. There are 3 x well sized bedrooms, plenty of storage and beautiful solid wood furniture. The kitchen is home to all the appliances you could need and the lounge has a wood burner ready for warm fireside evenings. You can park right outside and the paved area outside can be used for alfresco dining or a relaxing sit down after a lakeland walk. Lakeside and all its many facilities (the boat ride, steam railway and aquarium) are just a short walk away. You can do this with the kids but just be careful on the roads. The beautiful high dam walk is so close it's not true. A very quiet, exceptionally beautiful walk that can be done while your Sunday lunch cooks or after dinner to burn off the calories. All of the lakes amenities are nearby. You are really in the heart of where it all goes on. Take a scenic drive to Kendall or Grasmere and you won't be disappointed with the stunning views. There is so much to do here and the owners provide a baskeful of leaflets and brochures for you to plan your activities as well as a notice board of useful numbers. If you're after a lakeland break in a cottage environment then this place is not to be missed.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2015
Thank you for your wonderful write up! We really appreciate all your positive feedback.
So pleased that you enjoyed your stay! Hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilikechee...
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely peaceful break”
Reviewed 7 September 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We went in March 2014 for my dads birthday and absolutely loved it. Perfect surroundings away from the hustle and bustle with everything you need within the property. Even had loads of logs ready for the fire. Fantastic!

The owners were very helpful and the price was very good value.
We will be returning.
My advice to anyone going is to stock up on food/wine before you arrive as you won't want to leave.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review the cottage.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your relaxing break.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey P
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy Cottage in Lakeside”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

A homely cottage with all the mod cons you could wish for in a very convenient location close to the main attractions of Lake Windermere.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and position of the cottage.
Liked least: I was unable to get Wifi or a mobile telephone service. There is no landline except through owners
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Low Mill Cottage.
Yes it is close to many of the Lake Windermere attractions, and yet very rural and peaceful.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing