We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Boutique, romantic,fabulous location near Lake Windermere
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Boutique, romantic,fabulous location near Lake Windermere
Fabulous period lounge Fabulous period lounge, steeped in history. Dogs welcome
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Boutique, romantic,fabulous location near Lake Windermere
Fabulous period lounge
Fabulous period lounge, steeped in history. Dogs welcome
Beautiful oak door
Squidgy sofas especially made for us, for you to unwind on
If you like to cook, you will enjoy this kitchen. Really well equipped and spacious.
Beautiful spacious  room with a view of the cottage garden and the valley.
Fabulous spacious twin bedded room and to keep the youngsters happy, a toy box of games and books.
A delightful bedroom for two
Why not sit awhile and drink in the peace and view?
Woodside welcomes dogs
Lounge window seat in our period room
Window seat on landing
lounge window with view towards the cottage garden
View from Woodside
Woodside's cottage garden
Welcome to Woodside
Fabulous peaceful walk from Woodside
A magical place to stay even in Winter
lakeside Village..tearoom, restaurant, bar, shop etc.
High Dam in Summer...you can walk from Woodside
15 minute drive to Bowness from Woodside
Walk to Windermere Lake Cruisers at Lakeside
Walk to Haverthwaite Steam Railway at Lakeside
Why not walk to Stott Park Heights from Woodside? stunning scenery no car necessary!!!!
View towards Woodside
our local beauty spot, High Dam. You can walk from Woodside.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Newby Bridge, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mel O
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 21 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Lovely cottage, clean and tidy.
We really enjoyed walking at 'High Dam' which is a short walk from the cottage.
Would highly recommend this cottage.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2014
Many thanks for your review. We are very fortunate to have such a wonderful walk to High Dam on our door step. It is one of the most peaceful lakes in the Lake District. A lake much favoured by Wainwright.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor281
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A lovely cottage in a great location”
Reviewed 7 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

I stay at woodside with my wife, daughter and two elderly parents. All found the cottage lovely and welcoming. The place was clean and once we had worked out how to work everything, warm, especially the wood stove.

The owners provided lots of information on local sites and activites, games, sky tv and even a BBQ to keep us all amused, as well as a good internet connection.

The location was quiet and beautiful with some great local walks. While we were extremely lucky with the weather, I do not think it would have mattered, we would have has a great time nonetheless.

A perfect place to stay when exploring the Lake District

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness
Liked least: Storage heaters
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2014
Many thanks for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Woodside and that you found it to be welcoming
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect spring break.”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Beautifully restored cottage, perfect for a break with family or friends of all ages.
The owners were extremely polite,helpful & prompt in replying to enquiries and provided excellent information prior to our trip.
The cottage has been lovingly restored to a high standard and is warm, friendly, homely, well equipped and extremely tidy and clean. We were greeted with a warm welcome of tea, biscuits and wine left in the cottage.
The cottage is in an excellent location for exploring the lakes, for either walking or by car, again excellent information in the cottage on the local area.
We took our little dog and the cottage was pooch friendly, he was right at home by the fire!
I would definately recommend this cottage if you were looking for a break in the lake district. A very relaxing weekend in a beautiful setting.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2014
Many thanks for your review. We are pleased you found the information we sent helpful and that you had a great holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra...
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect”
Reviewed 27 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Stayed at Woodside Cottage for only 2 nights in January for my Birthday weekend - but 2 nights was not enough - we could have stayed for a week!
We came with my Partner, Mum, Dad, Sister and dogs and all were perfectly catered for!
The photos do not do the Cottage justice - it is so much more beautiful in reality.
All Bedding is fluffy and pillows plump, decor beautiful and bathrooms modern.
WIll be coming to stay again in the summer months.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Log Fire and kitchen.
Liked least: nothing it was all beautiful
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire...
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A beautiful traditional Lakeland cottage with all exclusive facilities”
Reviewed 24 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We have returned from this beautiful cottage having enjoyed a lovely family holiday. The cottage is beautiful - very comfortable, extremely warm with a super wood burning stove. Electric storage heaters in all of the rooms are extremely efficient with instant warmth when you need it. Lovely and spacious traditional lounge with everything you need from the flat screen television with sky, DVD and playstation (which we didn't use) to a wonderful array of board games. All the bedrooms are a good size and are beautifully presented with good quality bedlinen, cushions and throws. Large dining kitchen with everything you need. The house is immaculately clean and when you arrive there is a very 'welcoming' welcome pack with a lovely bottle of wine included. Fabulous walks especially High Dam which is just behind the cottage - very quiet and unspoilt - our dog (Golden Retriever) loved it. The weather was extremely wet (rain each day except one unfortunately) but this was November! Because Waterside was so warm and comfortable it didn't really matter!! Many thanks to Brian and Alison on their very high standards!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Dec 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are very pleased you found the facilities good and enjoyed your stay at Woodside.
We hope you come back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy B
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Woodside was the perfect base for a family celebration and Lake District holiday.”
Reviewed 23 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We visited last week for four nights (for the price of three!) to celebrate the 70th birthday of my mum, who lived in The Lakes for a decade and left her heart there when she moved back south. She adores this landscape and the people, so we wanted to give her the perfect visit. We couldn't have asked for a more perfect venue either! Woodside is centrally located in the South Lakes, near to Cartmel where my mum lived, and slap bang in the middle of the one of the most picturesque areas in the Lakes. Easy to get to (M6 then a mile and a half from the A590 at Newby Bridge) and right beside Windermere, it was in easy reach of Coniston Water and Wrynose pass (where I went on early morning/pre-dawn photography expeditions).

The cottage itself exceeded my expectations... and my expectations were high! I'm always a bit obsessive about finding a really great property to stay in and pride myself on sniffing out really beautiful places. This time I really wanted it to be extra special for my mum so I actually made a shortlist on a spreadsheet! :-D I made the right choice; we felt so at home and cosy here with the wood burner and the gorgeous decor. It was warm, cosy and very well equipped, and the kitchen was brilliant for all our cooking and food prep (lots of celebration meals!). It was immaculately clean yet soft and welcoming too. We considered squatting ;-) and would love to visit again. Thank you Alison and Brian!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Dec 2013
Many thanks for your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your celebration stay at Woodside. Woodside is an ideal venue for a celebration, due to its facilities, location and champagne flutes!
We hope to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6plus2dog...
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect family holiday for those with children of mixed ages and dogs”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

What a perfect retreat. Everything was as described and more. We had two teenagers, a 10 year old and a 4 year old plus 2 dogs and it was a perfect family holiday. We arrived slightly early, and arrived to a tray of biscuits and tea, plus a bottle of wine which we drank waiting for our Tesco order to arrive. The detailed list and instructions given by the owners in advance was accurate. The location was on the door step to one of the most beautiful walks EVER - High Dam, and in the other direction was the fantastic Lakeside Boat where you can get to other parts of this beautiful area without needing a car. The facilities within the cottage were as described, and you don't need to take much with you as there is a useful washer and dryer. The property was very clean and well maintained. The owners provided an excellent before, during and after customer service. We will be booking again, and recommending this cottage to friends. Thank you for a memorable holiday, which will remain in our hearts forever. The Swan at Newby Bridge served excellent food, (only draw back was we had to keep the dogs in the car as they are not allowed in) There were numerous dog friendly pubs in Bowness, and the dogs were made very welcome on the boat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2013
Thanks for your review. We are very pleased you had such a good holiday staying at Woodside and look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing