We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful location, beautiful house, a really...”
other travellers have booked this property
Eller How House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Eller How House
Sitting room A selection of books and games available in the sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
83 reviews
Eller How House
Sitting room
A selection of books and games available in the sitting room
the sitting room
the dining area from the kitchen
The spacious entrance hall
a corner of the first floor bedroom with a view to the balcony
first floor bedroom
first floor bedroom
ensuite with roll top bath
ground floor twin bedroom ( zip-link beds)
ground floor double bedroom
The view from the first floor balcony
the driveway past the lake
courtyard seating area
one of the woodland walks
the balcony to the master bedroom
courtyard parking to the side of the house
Eller How House across the ice during a recent snowy Christmas
Eller How House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Newby Bridge, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 83 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Oliver W
Douglas, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful location, beautiful house, a really relaxing vacation had by all”
Reviewed 15 November 2011 for a stay in October 2011

Booking arrangements were handled in a very professional manner by Helen and both Helen and John made us very welcome when we arrived at Eller How. Ahead of arrival we were provided with comprehensive information on what would be provided at the House and also on the various amenities in the area.

The whole family loved the House, the accommodation provided is very expansive, is of a very high standard and provided everyone with the space and comfort to relax and enjoy themselves. Sitting in front of the log fire after a day out sight seeing in the Lakes was a particularly pleasurable experience and one we intent to repeat again next year.

The House is ideally placed for access to Grange-over-Sands, Arnside, Kendal and the Southern Lakes. We enjoyed a lovely walk along the Kent estuary followed by a pub lunch in Arnside.

The kids thoroughly enjoyed exploring the beautiful gardens, the lake and the fell above the house leading to the ruined folly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing in the drawing room in the evening
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2011
Thank-you for this review. This is one of the first bookings that we took through Holiday Lettings, so it is good to know that we have got it right. Eller How House is a great place for families with children as the grounds and woods are totally private and there is lots to explore.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 October 2011 for a stay in October 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: First floor lounge with open fire
Liked least: Turning right onto the A590
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
25 Oct 2011
Thank-you for this review.
We have a number of guests who have returned more than once to Eller How House. It is a super holiday destination whatever the weather and the season.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2011 for a stay in October 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The open log fire.
Liked least: The rain!
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Oct 2011
Thank-you for this review.
I'm sorry that we can't control the weather,although it does give a great excuse to sit in front of the fire.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Blipitcom
croydon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming 19th century conversion, with lovely garden”
Reviewed 9 October 2011 for a stay in September 2011

The service was very good in that the property was clean, well presented, and the hosts were a helpful, quiet and pleasant couple who left a welcome gift on arrival. Milk and tea etc were there for the first night which was nice, although I have stayed at properties with this kind of star rating that provide foodstuffs, e.g. bread and cereal (allowances are made on the basis this property would comfortable sleep at least 6 so that might be impractical).

In terms of service, a webpage describing the property in greater detail, with photos, location and local ammenities would have been helpful, as third party websites often contain little real detail. The hosts did offer to locate information that might be of interest though, before and during the booking.

The property is an attractive 19th century house, sympathetically converted.I was unable to get a mobile phone signal on O2 without walking to the end of the long drive though. No internet access, although I understand the hosts are looking to provide this (Internet is helpful for getting the latest offers and information on local attractions). Information leaflets are provided on most local attractions.

Some minor niggles are an electric hob - personally I hate the lack of control and resultant cleaning, prefer an induction hob much easier to cook with and clean (safer as well), and the clockwork microwave oven - hard to judge warming baby food exactly with those. Tap tended to splash a bit off the island.

Kitchen was of modern design and had lots of utensils etc though. No problem with hot water as a substantial boiler fitted. There is a nice relaxation area upstairs, a combination of study and large lounge.

I liked the extensive gardens very much as I am not a fan of overformality. Although it was a little sad that some features were overgrown/ in disrepair, it did make it a little more of a discovery experience, especially for children. You need to be a responsible parent as some water areas are not that fenced off.

Location was good enough to explore the lake area by car. We didn't use public transport although locals said there was some nearby. You could cycle if you don't mind hills. It is an ideal, quiet, location for those who want a bit of exercise in a scenic location - it is a national park area after all, so no theme parks!

In essence the house was a little overbudget for a couple with kids so out of season, it would make more sense for two or more couples sharing the cost. We were lucky with the weather though, so enjoyed our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of accomodation, location
Liked least: Lack of comms (Needed medical care and had to walk).
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2011
Thank-you for sending a review of Eller How House, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We take any comments seriously and always act promptly to try and solve any problems.
We have now bought a PAYG Virgin network mobile phone for guest's use, most networks appear to have a signal, but if yours doesn't just let us know. We hope to have internet up and running soon, any problems, we are next door so come and use ours.
When we selected kitchen appliances we took advice and chose those which were easiest to use and durable, we will take on board your comments when it comes to replacing them. We have variable water pressure which can cause some taps to splash when pressure is high, we can turn it down if it causes you a problem.
Eller How House is set in twelve acres of woodland with some ruined features. Since moving here we have begun a program of renovation, the paths to the walks are now all passable, we have renovated one of the 'viewpoint' buildings which can now be used for drinks or barbequing and this year has seen the construction of a new rustic bridge on one of the walks. We are trying to keep the atmosphere of romance to the estate.
Pricewise the cost is comparable with similar properties in the area which are let for holidays.
We will collect feedback about leaving 'breakfast'food for guests as this is not something which has been brought to our attention before. We will keep you posted!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing