We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Elegance and comfort in a stunning location with...”
other travellers have booked this property
The view from the first floor balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The view from the first floor balcony
Eller How House Sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
77 reviews
The view from the first floor balcony
Eller How House
Sitting room
A selection of books and games available in the sitting room
the sitting room
the dining area from the kitchen
The spacious entrance hall
a corner of the first floor bedroom with a view to the balcony
first floor bedroom
first floor bedroom
ensuite with roll top bath
ground floor twin bedroom ( zip-link beds)
ground floor double bedroom
the driveway past the lake
courtyard seating area
one of the woodland walks
the balcony to the master bedroom
courtyard parking to the side of the house
Eller How House across the ice during a recent snowy Christmas
Eller How House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Newby Bridge, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mandleber...
Cornwall, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Elegance and comfort in a stunning location with the most accommodating hosts”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We've just returned from a 3 night stay at Eller How House. I can only agree with previous reviewers about the warmth of the welcome, the beauty of the house, the quality fixtures and fittings and the wonderful food supplied by Helen.
Helen and John responded promptly and efficiently to all correspondence prior to our visit, and were extremely helpful while we were there, dealing with our queries helpfully and with good humour.
I can't recommend this highly enough. I just wish our stay had been longer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything!
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2014
Thank-you for taking time to write a review. It was lovely to meet you all and we will keep in touch.
John and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tillyrein...
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“C'etait tres sympa”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We have reluctantly just returned home after a fabulous stay.Helen and John have presented the most wonderful place to stay.The house was comfortable,spotless and very well equipped .We availed ourselves of Helen's culinary skills and had a lovely meal waiting for us after a walk.Helen provides everything you could want or need and met every request we made , thank you Helen.The house is well placed for visits, we only scratched the surface..Do try Rogan and Co. in Cartmel.Such a treasure of a place to stay .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Having to come home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2014
Thank-you for the review. You had some great weather for your stay and certainly enjoyed a gourmet tour of our foodie area. We do hope to see you again-maybe in the autumn for the 'Autumn Tints'-John and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thebulmer...
gateshead
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A truly relaxing and luxurious break”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

If you get a chance, stay at Eller How House, you won't be disappointed.

The property itself is amazing. John and Helen have sympathetically renovated this fabulous property.

Some of the positives;
Amazing property
Beautifully furnished
Luxurious bathroom with roll top bath
Huge rooms
Open fire
Very well equipped kitchen
Helpful owners
Homemade cake on arrival
Left to enjoy our stay without interruption
Spotlessly clean
In beautiful grounds

I cannot think of any negatives.

I hope to find an excuse to pay another visit.

Thanks Helen and John for a wonderful relaxing weekend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2014
Thank-you for taking the time to post such lovely comments. Did you get round to Wray Castle on Saturday as the views across the lake are wonderful and there is plenty there for children to do? Helen and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The grounds around the house are excellent
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 May 2014
Thank-you for writing a review, we do hope to see all (or some of you) again. Try a different time of year, Eller How is beautiful in the Autumn too!
John and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jules611
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Just Perfect”
Reviewed 16 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

I would like to confirm that Eller How House is indeed completely perfect and so so worthy of all the fabulous reviews.
We travelled with our 20 month old daughter and friends who have a 4 year old son. We only meet up twice a year due to distance, we um's & ah'd over where to stay wanting the best for our infrequent get togethers...we are delighted we went to Eller How ( and extremely lucky to get in)
The owners, Helen & John are just lovely, even offering to do some shopping for us so we didn't waste a minute of our two night stay. They provided perfect directions and communication was great.
The place was spotless, the kitchen was home from home with everything you would ever need. We were welcomed with tea and the infamous cake!
The whole place has the WOW factor & I wish I knew the words to emphasise this. Beautifully decorated in a posh stately home/relaxed shabby chic way - go & that sentence will make sense.
Three large bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms -ours was upstairs (two downstairs) and had its own gorgeous terrace, huge windows with fabulous views and roll top bath. Seriously comfortable beds with lovely bedding. Loads of towels & loo rolls.
Child friendly with high chair, stairgate and a beautiful wooden cot with little duvet & blankets provided.
The huge lounge (upstairs) is stunning with long windows overlooking fantastic views, antique book cases filled with hundreds of all sorts of books, the chairs and settees so comfortable it was hard to find the will to move out of them and as for the fireplace - wow. Enough logs provided for the first night with an invitation to help ourselves to any fallen wood in the grounds. Fantastic to sit with a glass of wine with old friends in front of that huge open fire. Good TV/DVD with some dvd's provided. Wifi was fine.
The acres of ground are beautiful and great to scamper round walking off a big breakfast.
We were considering exploring the area and finding restaurants to eat out in but actually we want to Bowness for an hour (about 15 mins drive away) to take the kids to Beatrix Potter museum and the next day to Grange over Sands (5 -10 minute drive) as it was so sunny we had a walk on the prom & took the kids to the park. There is a pub in walking distance but really you do need a car. We had enough food & wine to stay "at home" by the fire and totally relax - I felt like I had been away for ages it was so relaxing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Honestly everything
Liked least: Leaving such a relaxing place was a wrench
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2014
Thank-you for reviewing Eller How.
I am sure that we will catch up with you all again!
Try the autumn or a winter week-end break!
Thank-you for reviewing Eller How.
John and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pricedebb...
Dartford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Christmas!”
Reviewed 29 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We stayed at Eller How House for the Christmas week and had the most perfect Christmas together as a family. I would like to say we explored the lake district but once inside the house we barely moved from the wonderful log fire! The house and surrounding grounds are perfect, we all enjoyed the walks in the woods especially our dogs. Thank you to Helen for the fruit and boozy cake! And to both John and Helen for allowing us to spend a fabulous break in your amazing house!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toki04
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply: Perfect!”
Reviewed 18 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Our stay at Eller How House was absolutely delightful! The house and grounds are so gorgeous that they brightened even the dreary weather of mid-January. We were greeted by a delicious homemade cake on arrival and a visit from the owners, who were so kind and helpful. They seem to have anticipated every question you could possibly have about the house and the surrounding area, and they've included the answers in a VERY helpful info book left in the house for your perusal. The house is a short distance from some amazing walks and Lake District views, including Lake Windermere. We enjoyed exploring nearby towns, pubs and the breathtaking landscape, and we especially loved coming back to Eller How House for an open fire at the end of the day. Honestly one of the best places we've ever stayed. If we had to sum up our visit in three words, they would be "perfect, perfect, perfect"! Will definitely be going back at some point in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jan 2014
we really appreciate you finding time to write a review and are so glad that you enjoyed your Lake District stay. We do hope that you will have time to come up again before your studies finish and you have to return to the USA.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$172
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing