We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tranquility!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Eller How House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Eller How House
Sitting room A selection of books and games available in the sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
80 reviews
Eller How House
Sitting room
A selection of books and games available in the sitting room
the sitting room
the dining area from the kitchen
The spacious entrance hall
a corner of the first floor bedroom with a view to the balcony
first floor bedroom
first floor bedroom
ensuite with roll top bath
ground floor twin bedroom ( zip-link beds)
ground floor double bedroom
The view from the first floor balcony
the driveway past the lake
courtyard seating area
one of the woodland walks
the balcony to the master bedroom
courtyard parking to the side of the house
Eller How House across the ice during a recent snowy Christmas
Eller How House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Newby Bridge, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 80 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ian R
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tranquility!!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

A week's stay in this quaint house set in some beautiful surroundings. Great walks close by and our two spaniels loved walking in the woods behind the house. House is well equiped to a high standard and comfortable, a home from home in many respects. It is in a great position to explore the lakes to the north either on steam trains, boats (Ulls water very good) or by car. There is so much to do you are spoilt for choice.
We will be returning here again to enjoy the peace and tranquility of this great holiday cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Position of house / equipment provided with the house - home from home.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2014
Thank-you for taking time to write a review.
We would love to see you again and will be in touch.
Do try a trip on the Stream Boat Gondola on Coniston for a different experience next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennis, Ireland
Reviewed 20 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
25 Aug 2014
Thank-you for taking time to write a review and for the lovely comments. We would love to see you all again, but do bear in mind that the Lake District weather is not always so good.I am glad that you found so much for your family to do in the area and left feeling that there was still more to explore.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jeaniemcr...
Montgomery, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ultimate Charm in the Lake District”
Reviewed 21 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Once in a while you come across the perfect holiday rental, and this is it! The home is beautiful, the hosts are absolutely lovely, and our stay was glorious. There was a delicious Victoria sponge cake and tea waiting for us when we arrived. We were giddy exploring the house - the accommodation is better than the pictures and the pictures are outstanding! The home is perfect for 3 couples, with 3 ensuite bedroooms, 2 down and the master upstairs. The kitchen is completely outfitted. Helen and John prepared a meal for us the first night, and it was delicious. The gardens were in full bloom - bluebells, clematis, wild garlic. A walk around the property is a delight. I can't say enough superlatives about our Eller How House stay - I wish it could have been longer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!!!
Liked least: Honestly, there is nothing I can offer in this category
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2014
Thank-you for finding time to write a review. we are so glad that you all enjoyed your special stay at Eller How and hope that you have lots of good memories from your UK stay.
We do hope that we meet you all again.
John and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chippynor...
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Absolute perfection”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

What else can be said about this property and hosts that hasn't already been said by every other review on this site,everything is true and more,I suppose you have to try this place out for yourself to really find out but if there were more than a five star review possible for Eller How House then we would give it,the sympathetic rendering and refurbishment of this astonishing house,down to every beautiful detail including the gorgeous herbaceous garden and grounds is first class.
John and Helen are both attentive and friendly but in no way intrusive on your stay,the perfect hosts.
The cleanliness of the house is beyond what you may expect for a home as popular and as well used as this (limited availability for the rest of the summer) in fact everything looks like it's replaced as new for every guest.
All three of the en suite bedrooms are deceivingly large and the home is more than spacious to accommodate up to six adults,with very comfy beds and all spotlessly clean.
The whole house took our breath away,in every room,from the very well stocked kitchen to the beautiful ceiling in the living room with it's sconces and central rose features along with an open log fire powering cast iron roll top radiators.
The glorious bathroom with the roll top bath will have you relaxing to another level.
We both feel so lucky to have found this place and are looking to revisit as soon as they can accommodate us.
Thanks again John and Helen and thank you for the lovely homely touch of a tasty homemade Victoria sponge cake on arrival.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2014
What fabulous photos you sent us-thank-you. We will certainly be using them in our Newsletter.
I am sure that we will see you both (and the family?) again.
John and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geoff0811
Troon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Magical House in an Idyllic setting”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We were very impressed by the standard of this house and considered the rental to be well worth the cost. It was well equipped, beautifully clean and all the rooms were spacious and characterful. My teenage daughter even enjoyed (?) studying for her exams looking out over the balcony in the upstairs bedroom. The grounds were lovely and we were impressed that we were allowed to use them fully-our dog enjoyed several walks through the woods. It had a dreamy setting and we felt privileged that we got to stay in such a gorgeous house and were blessed with great weather as well!
There is plenty to do within a short drive and plenty of good pubs and restaurants. We would definitely love to return sometime soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely house and peaceful setting
Liked least: Access to property from dual carriageway-a bit hairy at times!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2014
We are glad that you made it to Eller How this year. It was lovely to meet you all.
I hope the exams go well (maybe some inspiration from the Lake District?).
We would love to see you all again.
John and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mandleber...
Cornwall, UK
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Elegance and comfort in a stunning location with the most accommodating hosts”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We've just returned from a 3 night stay at Eller How House. I can only agree with previous reviewers about the warmth of the welcome, the beauty of the house, the quality fixtures and fittings and the wonderful food supplied by Helen.
Helen and John responded promptly and efficiently to all correspondence prior to our visit, and were extremely helpful while we were there, dealing with our queries helpfully and with good humour.
I can't recommend this highly enough. I just wish our stay had been longer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything!
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2014
Thank-you for taking time to write a review. It was lovely to meet you all and we will keep in touch.
John and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tillyrein...
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“C'etait tres sympa”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We have reluctantly just returned home after a fabulous stay.Helen and John have presented the most wonderful place to stay.The house was comfortable,spotless and very well equipped .We availed ourselves of Helen's culinary skills and had a lovely meal waiting for us after a walk.Helen provides everything you could want or need and met every request we made , thank you Helen.The house is well placed for visits, we only scratched the surface..Do try Rogan and Co. in Cartmel.Such a treasure of a place to stay .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Having to come home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2014
Thank-you for the review. You had some great weather for your stay and certainly enjoyed a gourmet tour of our foodie area. We do hope to see you again-maybe in the autumn for the 'Autumn Tints'-John and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$175
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing