We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolute bliss”
other travellers have booked this property
Eller How House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Eller How House
Sitting room A selection of books and games available in the sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
85 reviews
Eller How House
Sitting room
A selection of books and games available in the sitting room
the sitting room
the dining area from the kitchen
The spacious entrance hall
a corner of the first floor bedroom with a view to the balcony
first floor bedroom
first floor bedroom
ensuite with roll top bath
ground floor twin bedroom ( zip-link beds)
ground floor double bedroom
The view from the first floor balcony
the driveway past the lake
courtyard seating area
one of the woodland walks
the balcony to the master bedroom
courtyard parking to the side of the house
Eller How House across the ice during a recent snowy Christmas
Eller How House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Newby Bridge, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 85 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tillyrein...
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Absolute bliss”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Just come back from our second stay.It was exactly as we remembered it.The house speaks for itself.Comfortable,clean and a joy to look at.Loads to do locally ,walks( Elterwater & Castlerigg), restos (Rogan & Co Cartmel and Brown Horse at Winster) and a mention to Hazlemere Cafe in Grange.Holker Hall worth a visit.We all adore this place and hope to return for a thurd visit.John and Helen have created a little piece of magic and an oasis of calm away from the hurly burly of life.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2015
Thank-you for taking the time to write a review and for the recommendations of walks, visits and restaurants. I hope that we will see you again for another family holiday. John and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruby1051
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Still perfect”
Reviewed 24 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We have just returned from another excellent week spent at this beautiful house. It was the first time with our 8 month old grandson and we were pleased to find the house has everything you need when traveling with a baby. It is such a relaxing location with stunning grounds and lovely views when you get up to the fell above the property. The owners John and Helen are very friendly and helpful. We would thoroughly recommend and will definitely be returning again for another stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura F
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic weekend”
Reviewed 22 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

I booked to stay at Eller house to celebrate the retirement of my father. The property was beautiful and Helen very helpful on our arrival will definitely stay here again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2015
Thank-you for taking the time to write a review. It was lovely to meet you all. I think that this year we have had a record number of Birthdays celebrated at Eller How House which is wonderful!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONWestYo...
West Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mini break in a most beautiful place”
Reviewed 7 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

A big thank you to Helen and John for sharing your beautiful home with us. what a comfortable and stylish home set in wonderful grounds just wish we could have stayed longer.
We will definitely be back.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The log fire, the roll top bath, but most of all the welcome!
Liked least: There was nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Carol B
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing property”
Reviewed 1 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful short stay in this incredible property. Unlike anything we'd stayed in before (and far grander!) with the most amazing private grounds for walking our dog, this was a real treat. A great location for touring the south Lakes and the owners were so friendly. We particularly appreciated the welcome cake and tea tray on our arrival. We'd definately return again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The architecture and original and interesting features of the property.
Liked least: We were happy with everything.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CeCeJacks...
Jacksonville, FL
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wow, Wow and Wow!!”
Reviewed 14 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Eller How is fantastic! It is so much more than the pictures and everything is first class. Helen and John couldn't be better hosts. Helen had a sponge cake, dinner and breakfast supplies waiting on us when we arrived. It was heavenly. We were traveling with our two youngest children, both grown, and we all loved it. My daughter claimed what we called "The Queen Room" which is the bedroom and huge bathroom upstairs. She spent hours at night in the tub! We had a huge fire every night and really enjoyed the cozy living room. The kitchen was huge and had everything we needed to prepare anything. We visited Grasmere and Kendale and loved them both. We found a great antique shop in Kendale, Thomond Antiques. The owners were wonderful and they have the best collection of antique paintings. My children went crazy and bought lots of paintings and we ended up going two days in a row because it was so wonderful. We would highly recommend Eller How and really thank Helen and John for all t heir help and hospitality. It was a very special place to stay and we will all remember it forever. Magical!!!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jan 2015
Thank-you for taking the time to write a review of your pre-Christmas stay at Eller How House. We are so glad that you all enjoyed your holiday and found plenty to do despite the poor weather. Next time we will send you a list of antique shops and auction houses as you could fill a week browsing!
I hope you all had a very happy family Christmas in the UK and that we see you next time you are over here. John and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing